We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not great”
Review of Inn at Truckee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at Truckee
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We needed an inexpensive room for just one night and didn't need any costly extras like a pool and such. The Inn provided just that, a clean room that was in good shape where we could get some rest for an early fishing expedition in the morning. The breakfast was minamal but the wife was OK with it, I was not. The help was courteous, location good and all in all it was perfect for our needs especially the price which can be a problem in Truckee. Other reviews here seem negative about cleanliness but that was not our case, though it might be a room to room thing since our room, 108, was not that bad. I don't know if it means anything but we noticed a lot of highway workers (lots of highway maintenance going on on I-80 during the summer) stay here and the place fills up most nights.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dizzycatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
There are newer reviews for Inn at Truckee
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 83 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2012

This is a dirty place. Hair in the bathtub, carpets are wet, floor in bathroom is really slick and there is dirt everywhere. When you look at the tile in the bathroom and the tops are covered with about an inch of dirt it is time to steer clear of this place. We stayed here because they are pet friendly but this is not worth the money. If it were a 20.00 room it still would be to expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: keep going
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rex m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The hotel is very old and dirty. We had hair all over our two beds and the towels were yellow. We left the same night.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank ella00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We stayed there May 24th. The staff was nice and efficient. The room was clean but the hallway carpets were not. Breakfast is very basic. 20 or 30 years ago it may have been a destination but today it is at best a waystation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RotaryDick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

The rooms are large but very basic, almost motel 6 like. The indoor spa and sana is a nice amenitie. The continental breakfast is ok, just bagels and muffins with coffee and juice. The thing that makes this hotel stand out is the super friendly staff. Willing to help you in any way! The price is reasonable for what you get.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visitin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

My Family has been staying at the Inn at Truckee for the past 10 years. It is always clean and the staff is great! The hot tube is clean and it is nice to have the simple continental breakfast. Great value.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Very average hotel, nothing special and kind of old. Room was clean and hotel was very quiet. Right off of Highway 80 and just a few miles from both of these ski resorts and Donner Lake. The continental breakfast was very basic, small muffins, juices, coffee, instant oatmeal, bagels. Plenty of TV stations to choose from. The hot tub was indoors, clean and the perfect temperature. Beds were comfortable. Historic down town Truckee is just about a mile away. Safeway and Starbucks are very close driving distance also.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReddingNorCalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
5.8 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
8.5 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
625 reviews
0.9 mi away
Truckee Donner Lodge
Truckee Donner Lodge
#7 of 13 in Truckee
233 reviews
4.1 mi away
Donner Lake Village
Donner Lake Village
#8 of 13 in Truckee
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Truckee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Truckee

Address: 11506 Deerfield Dr, Truckee, CA 96161-0502
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Price Range: $133 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at Truckee 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Inn at Truckee! We are a conveniently located hotel in Truckee, CA situated within minutes of Donner Lake, Lake Tahoe, Downtown Truckee and numerous world class ski resorts. We offer a very competitive rate, nice & clean rooms, free continental breakfast, friendly staff and numerous dining options within walking distance. In addition, we are one of the only pet friendly hotels in Truckee! The magnificent Sierra Mountains is a fantastic getaway! The serenity of the snow covered mountains in the winter and the sweet smells of the sun drenched forest in the summer, there is no place like our mountain oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at Truckee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Truckee Hotel Truckee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing