We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
12
21
10
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
21
10
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hotelthird floorcontinental breakfastclawfoot tubup stairshotel experiencequeen roomopen the windowrestaurants and shopscerealamtrakmidnight
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 57 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2017 via mobile

When my husband booked this hotel for our trip and then said the bathrooms were down the hall, I was a bit skeptical. Once we arrived, we were given a room on the third floor. Be aware that there is no elevator so you need to carry your bags up some steep steps. Our room was clean and cozy. Just enough room for a queen bed, a sink, and for two people to maneuver around. There is no air conditioning but there's a great cross breeze I'd you open the window and leave the room door cracked. There is also a fan in the room which really helps. Now... For the important part.... The bathrooms. Once again, I wasn't too thrilled with the bathroom situation. The American rooms have their own bathroom but the European rooms share bathrooms down the hall. Some are a toilet tub combo, others are a toilet and shower. Most of the toilets have a sink on the back of the toilet so when you flush you can use the clean water going in to the tank to wash your hands. Last time I saw this was in Japan. Very clever and water saving. Anyhow, the bathrooms were clean and well kept. Make sure you ask for a bathrobe from the front desk if you need one. I ended up liking the multiple choice of bathrooms because my husband spends a lot of time going number two and this can create some issues being a woman married to him. So.... I ended up really liking the fact that I had my choice of bathroom anytime of the day or night. Now the shower stalls are quite small so don't drop anything, seriously. And the towels in there are floor mats so make sure you take the towels from your room. The Continental breakfast was okay. Expect cereal, pastries, and fruit. There are no ice or vending but you can ask the front desk for ice and they will literally bring you a bucket of ice. During the overnight hours, no one mans the front desk. There's no phones in the room to call the front desk anyway so it's no big deal. The front door is secured at night though, just use your room key if you are out late. Okay, now for the noise. There is live music on the weekends downstairs and you can hear it
Our window was open but it didn't bother us at all. There were about 2-3 trains that blow through the town during the night and you can definitely hear their horns. Once again, not enough to bother us and personally, I think it adds some small town charm. Now there was a restaurant that decided to pressure wash their driveway at midnight last night but I think that was just because they were prepping for the 4th of July street party. Overall, I liked the hotel experience and would definitely stay there again. You can't go wrong with the location. It's close to shopping and many restaurants. The friendly front desk staff are really great at helping you find whatever you are looking for.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2017

Check-in was at 3 o'clock - there was not anyone at the front desk for an earlier check-in but upon arrival we were able to upgrade to a room with our own bathroom at a small cost. The manager was very helpful and nice! Great location - cute, quaint, and clean. Complimentary wine and continental breakfast .. No complaints, I would definitely stay at The Truckee Hotel again in the future.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank jsambrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2017 via mobile

We loved everything about this place. They have done an outstanding job preserving the atmosphere of this hotel. Such a historic hotel. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are very clean. Hotel is located close to several restaurants and shops. Very convenient

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2017

The Truckee Hotel has the best downtown location in a ski town where you pretty much have to drive to the major mountains anyway. There is very little ski on ski off at Alpine Meadows or Squaw Valley, so you are very likely going to have to drive. If you do find a condo close to the mountain you will very likely not be near any bars or restaurants. If you find a hotel the rate will likely be double the price of the Truckee Hotel. This holds true in the summer hiking season. So when visiting the Truckee area its a decision you need to make, be near the mountain and drive to eat or be near the restaurants and drive to ski or hike. The Truckee Hotel considers themselves to be more an Inn or B & B. The rooms are simple but cozy. We have stayed in several rooms now and the beds are very good. There is no elevator. They serve a free simple buffet breakfast, fruit, cereal, bagels and coffee. Many rooms have their own private baths but several don't and you use a communal bath down the hall. The baths are basic, very clean and the showers are good. Simply put, its a charming old yet quirky property. It has 3 floors of rooms so can handle a group of friends or a few families well. Moody's Bistro & Bar, one of the better restaurants in town is on the first floor! It's a fun old place with quirky heating but the reasonable rates reflect this. If you need a Marriot with its gym and air conditioning this may not be the place for you. But if you want a very good bed and decent shower, love being in the thick of it and not have to worry about driving after dinner this hotel ticks the box!

Room Tip: Top floor (4th) has the views, 2nd floor if you don't like stairs as there is no elevator
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traynorv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2016

We stayed for one night and were pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel was, the communal areas were decorated to a high standard. We booked an en suite room and were perfectly happy. You can hear the trains go past at night but it’s really not an issue. The restaurant and bar downstairs are both very smart with great waiters. I’d happily stay again and would recommend it. I’ve give it a ‘very good’ based mainly on its appearance and our sleep but my only criticism is that the breakfast was a small choice and rather disappointing give how good the restaurant was.

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank EalingTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews