We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Lake Donner Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Donner Lake Village
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Reviewed July 25, 2007

This resort is has an amazing lakefront location at the west end of the lake. A big plus is that there is a Marina next door that rents kayaks, speed boats, jetskis, etc. The units are very comfortable, clean and well equipped. The resort area next to tthe lake has picnic tables, barbecues, and chairs. It is a great setup for a family vacation. I recommend requesting a lake view unit.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SierraPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Donner Lake Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 104 of 104 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2007

We didn't know what we were in for, but what a pleasant surprise
The staff was very personable and accomadating. The rooms are all different (we looked at a few.) We stayed in a Lakeside
Studio, the kitchen was equipped well, the bed was very comfortable. In fact the entire room was very comfortable.
What a view of Donner Lake, it's slightly frozen over right now but what a Gem.!!! We Loved it...Will be back again.

Stayed: February 2007
3  Thank donnerlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2007

We stayed at Donner Lake Village for two sunny winter days. I thought that the lake was going to be nice, but it far exceeded our expectations.....like a beautiful picture postcard. We chose a one bedroom condo. It was exceptionally clean with outstanding views of the lake. Highlights of our trip included a walk in the snow on the nature trail at the State Park, and a visit to downtown Truckee. Lynda, the property manager, was extremely helpful. We were very impressed.

Stayed: January 2007
Thank BayAreaMultisport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2006

We stayed a the Donner Lake Village Resort in a Lake View Studio. First thing we noticed was a horrible smell (most likely because the kitchenette area was not cleaned very well.) The Studio was very dirty and most of the furniture was beatup. All walls were dirty and marked up, especially the bathroom where I found splattered toothpaste (not even close to the sink) and other unidentifiable chunks stuck to the walls. The table had crayon and permanent marker all over it. The toilet seat had half the paint worn off of it. The hair dryer had something sticky all over it - I had to wash it before my daughter would use it. The place reminded me of a poorly maintained motel 6 only it cost us $177 per night (unbelievable what they get a night for lodging in these ski resorts areas). The "lake view" was only partial. The cream colored curtains on the glass sliding door had no room darkening effect at all. We couldn't believe how bright it was in that room at 8am. At 8am we were all woken up by the maintenance people pulling huge boxes out of a supply room and literally dropping them on the floor right outside our door. They were also yelling to each other from across the corridor. The walls were paper thin. We could hear everything going on in the room next door. The hallways were all marked up and dirty. The shampoo and soap came out of those funky dispensers on the wall (I swear they were both spewing out the same product.)To sum it all up in a few words: dirty, poorly maintained, way overpriced. I wish I'd a thought to use my camera phone and take some pictures because this place was unbelievable. Stay somewhere else. The only positive was the beautiful Donner Lake. And, we did have a great day of snow riding.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Janet_Saunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 19, 2006

I've been the General Manager here for many years and have never received a complaint like this. I'm very sorry that the guest was so unhappy.
She complained about my staff being very noisy and yelling at each other at approximately 7:30 in the morning. My staff does not start work until approximately 8:30. The day she complained about my maintenance man did not work, he was sick. Maybe she heard another guest packing up. Again I apologize for the problems she experienced, but had she called us during her stay we would have been happy to see if wee could make her happy!
Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Guilherme G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beckymoore, Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
9.4 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#2 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,873 reviews
6.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
9.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
341 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
625 reviews
4.1 mi away
Inn at Truckee
Inn at Truckee
#11 of 13 in Truckee
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donner Lake Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donner Lake Village

Address: 15695 Donner Pass Rd, Truckee, CA 96161-3649
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Truckee
Price Range: $103 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Donner Lake Village 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Donner Lake Village is a year-round condominium resort nestled in the pines on the west shore of Donner Lake, one of the Sierra Nevada's most charming and beautiful alpine lakes. Our friendly staff can help you plan your visit, too. Encounter serenity in a one or two-bedroom suite, studio or spacious room complete with microwaves, refrigerators and FREE high speed wireless internet. Easy access to year round activities. In summer enjoy our private beach and marina with boat rentals. In winter hit the slopes at eight nearby world class ski resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Donner Lake Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donner Lake Village Hotel Truckee
Donner Lake Hotel
Donner Lake Resort
Donner Lake Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing