We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Fantastic first trip to Truckee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Donner Lake Village

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Donner Lake Village
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic first trip to Truckee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

This was our first visit here and it was great. The room had 1double bed and a pull out sofa for our two kids. The rooms are clean, warm with a full kitchen and everything you could need. Staff are very helpful. The resort is right on the Lake and very close to a couple of ski resorts. Great value for money. We will recommend here to all our friends.

Room Tip: The front desk did say we were in an updated room so maybe ask while your booking it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    31
    8
    9
    8
See reviews for
43
16
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morgan Hill, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

its an older hotel almost historical it was very clean well maintained the grounds were beautiful the hotel staff the grounds people to the house-cleaning staff were all so amazing very friendly very helpful we had such a great time it is older but we had everything we needed we are already ready to go back we found our family spot!!!!! if your looking for new bedspreads and cool decore this isnt for you but if you want 5 star staff and a 5 star view of the truckee lake this is it

Room Tip: we stayed in 242 if you go out to the terrace you can sit there and drink your coffee looking at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daneve3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

The views, the lake were amazing but the room was 'tired' which was a shame. The bed was very small and not particularly comfortable, overall the place was clean, had a fridge (really noisy overnight!) and a microwave but no crockery or cutlery or glasses, just 4 coffee mugs.

That said it was still a good place to stay, lovely for families - paradise for children.

If you can- forget the room and just look out of the windows or from the balcony - views are splendid and that's what matters here I think.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizc365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This place doesn't come close to looking like it does in the photos. I am not sure how you can have such a false front of what you are renting out., This place is reasonably priced, especially since I was able to take advantage of a discount, but PLEASE, this place is old and dirty!!. You could not walk around inside with bare feet, the carpet was crusty and your feet would be black. The walls and furniture had something sticky all over them. The beds were SO uncomfortable, it was crazy. The bedspread is dirty and from 1970's. The floor in the bathroom had black mold growing under the flooring. The only thing about this place is it was convieient to the marina. I swear this place has bed bugs as each time I was in the room my skin was itching. GROSS, stay somewhere else

Room Tip: Dirty, outdated and the photos they show are completely false! Doesn't look anything like them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Correen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTFam10558, General Manager at Donner Lake Village, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
I apologize for the late response to your review; I was having your room inspected in order to address your concerns. We regret that we did not have the opportunity hear any of your concerns upon your stay with us. If your experience was as in any way unpleasant we would have been happy move you to another room or otherwise attempt to mitigate the problem.

Upon inspection of your room there is no mold in the bathroom. Most importantly there are no bedbugs in the room as we expected. We have never had this issue at Donner Lake Village and we were surprised to have it brought up.

All the photos and virtual tours on our website are of existing rental units and common areas and are in no way false. A lot of the photos on our website do show our lake view rooms so I have asked our website manager to add additional non-lake view rooms similar to the one you rented.

Again we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Donner Lake Village and wish we had had the opportunity to improve you experience while you were with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Truckee hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Right on Donner Lake which is a good alternative to Lake Tahoe, while still fairly close for you to go there for the day/half a day.

The lake is way smaller but the view is gorgeous.

Although dated, rooms are clean, comfortable and quite big.

The only complain we had is that the 2nd bed (coming out of a sofa) was very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chandlerdeux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

There are very few (if any) other lake front lodging/hotels on Donner Lake and nothing of this quality that I saw. This 'resort' gets a lot of use but happily it is fairly well maintained. It's conveniently next to the boat/personal watercraft rentals and a fishing pier. No morning lobby meals, has BBQ's available, some small but nice lawn areas (with plastic chairs/lounges) next to a small beach. No pool or spa that I saw. Parking was adequate.
Our room had a King bed and a foldout couch, table/chairs and a small kitchenette with all the pots/china/tableware for 4 people, nice. The bed/mattress was kind of hard, bathroom was reasonably clean.
My only real gripe was the carpet, well worn and looked/felt dirty. Yes, it was vacuumed - but needed cleaning. Of course this is common in these high traffic establishments but their room prices made me expect more.
But, we'd stay again if we needed a spot so convenient to the lake, no other choice really.
I'd rate it a 3-1/2 if I could

Room Tip: Call the Resort direct for the latest, best prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gry_sql
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luckysoul777
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

Like they always say, "you pay for what you get", and Donner Lake Village Resort is no exception. It is definitely not fancy, but it's a functional budget hotel. It also has a small kitchen so that you don't have to eat out every night. That would save you even more.
I do agree with another review saying the wall is thin. If you are a light sleeper, you should go somewhere else. I definitely DISAGREE with one other review saying you can get a 4-star hotel for the same price. A 4-star hotel around Lake Tahoe/ Truckee costs you $300/night and *OFTEN MORE* in winter. This place cost me $160/night, tax included! One should not compare hotels in different geographical areas or during peak vs. off seasons over price. If you are price conscious and yet expect a fancier hotel but you don't mind driving out of the area, Reno could be a place for such deals.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckysoul7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
7.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Tahoe-Truckee
6.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
9.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.0 of 5 stars 1,306 reviews
9.2 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
9.4 mi away
Northstar Lodge, Hyatt Residence Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donner Lake Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donner Lake Village

Property: Donner Lake Village
Address: 15695 Donner Pass Rd, Truckee, CA 96161-3649
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Donner Lake Village 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Donner Lake Village is a year-round condominium resort nestled in the pines on the west shore of Donner Lake, one of the Sierra Nevada's most charming and beautiful alpine lakes. Our friendly staff can help you plan your visit, too. Encounter serenity in a one or two-bedroom suite, studio or spacious room complete with microwaves, refrigerators and FREE high speed wireless internet. Easy access to year round activities. In summer enjoy our private beach and marina with boat rentals. In winter hit the slopes at eight nearby world class ski resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Donner Lake Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donner Lake Village Hotel Truckee
Donner Lake Hotel
Donner Lake Resort
Donner Lake Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing