We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Donner Lake Village
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Right on Donner Lake which is a good alternative to Lake Tahoe, while still fairly close for you to go there for the day/half a day.

The lake is way smaller but the view is gorgeous.

Although dated, rooms are clean, comfortable and quite big.

The only complain we had is that the 2nd bed (coming out of a sofa) was very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chandlerdeux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    33
    12
    10
    8
See reviews for
47
20
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Menifee, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

There are very few (if any) other lake front lodging/hotels on Donner Lake and nothing of this quality that I saw. This 'resort' gets a lot of use but happily it is fairly well maintained. It's conveniently next to the boat/personal watercraft rentals and a fishing pier. No morning lobby meals, has BBQ's available, some small but nice lawn areas (with plastic chairs/lounges) next to a small beach. No pool or spa that I saw. Parking was adequate.
Our room had a King bed and a foldout couch, table/chairs and a small kitchenette with all the pots/china/tableware for 4 people, nice. The bed/mattress was kind of hard, bathroom was reasonably clean.
My only real gripe was the carpet, well worn and looked/felt dirty. Yes, it was vacuumed - but needed cleaning. Of course this is common in these high traffic establishments but their room prices made me expect more.
But, we'd stay again if we needed a spot so convenient to the lake, no other choice really.
I'd rate it a 3-1/2 if I could

Room Tip: Call the Resort direct for the latest, best prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gry_sql
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luckysoul777
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Like they always say, "you pay for what you get", and Donner Lake Village Resort is no exception. It is definitely not fancy, but it's a functional budget hotel. It also has a small kitchen so that you don't have to eat out every night. That would save you even more.
I do agree with another review saying the wall is thin. If you are a light sleeper, you should go somewhere else. I definitely DISAGREE with one other review saying you can get a 4-star hotel for the same price. A 4-star hotel around Lake Tahoe/ Truckee costs you $300/night and *OFTEN MORE* in winter. This place cost me $160/night, tax included! One should not compare hotels in different geographical areas or during peak vs. off seasons over price. If you are price conscious and yet expect a fancier hotel but you don't mind driving out of the area, Reno could be a place for such deals.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luckysoul7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OAKLEY CA
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2009

I just recently stayed at Donner Lake Resort..totally disappointed...the rooms are a lot to be desired...the internet pictures are very deceiving...I was totally in for a shock...the room was a flash back of 1970...the carpet probably hadnt been changed since the place was built ,nor the furniture...for the amount paid we could have stayed at a 4 star resort..never again...dont let internet pictures fool you...they took pictures of their best features..the lake and the townhouses I assume since I didnt see them
...I need a refund.....where was their customer service then....room 245

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamjohnson5324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Truckee hotels

Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2009

We recently had a West coast family reunion at Donner Lake Resort... this is our third time at the resort. We keep coming back because of the great location and welcoming feel we receive each time. We especially enjoy using the townhouses on the lake. Lots of room with full kitchen and 2 bathrooms. I want to personally thank Michelene for assisting in the reservations and especially thank Michael who was wonderful. I want to thank Michael for bringing the vase full of fresh lilacs to the town house...my mother still talks about you. They are her favorite flowers.

Truckee is a great town and we will be back in the future to enjoy the best resort in the area!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OTBART1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2009

Supported by a friendly staff, close proximity to Sugarbowl, excellent location by Donner Lake and a clean 1 bedroom unit, one would think that the Donner Lake Village Resort would be the ultimate place to stay. It is. Until your neighbors arrive.

Night 1: To call the walls paper thin would be an insult to paper. Our neighbors next door to us were not that loud, yet we could hear every word spoken. Unfortunately, they were up way past midnight . We rise the next day at 7:00 am for skiing at Sugarbowl. I am irritated but once I hit the slopes, the lack of sleep is forgotten. At least for a short period of time.

Night 2: Having the nerve to actually want sleep, my daughter and I abandon the bedroom and decide to sleep on the pull out couch in the living room. I am so tired that I hardly feel the horizontal bar from the pull out couch poking me in the back. All of a sudden, the walls and ceiling begin to shake. My downhill skiing dreams evaporate and I am now in Nebraska on skis being chased by large Buffalo herds.

Just as I am about to be trampled to death, I wake up. I discover that the Buffalo herd is actually the children of my new upstairs neighbors running around. It sounded and felt like a wrecking ball was hitting the entire unit. The decorative plates that were hanging on our were moving back and forth. By 10:00, the violent shaking stopped.

Night 3: For the most part, same as Night 2 except we decided to part company with the horizontal bar from the pull out couch. With nowhere else to sleep, we made a bed on the floor. At $220 per night plus tax.

I stayed in room 117 from January 16, 2009 to January 19, 2009. If you are deaf or like to stay up late and party, then this is the place for you. I mean that sincerely. During my college days, I was temporarily deaf from listening to loud Led Zepplin, I stayed up late and partied and only skied in the afternoon. In 1977 to 1981, this would have been the perfect place for me to stay.

For me these days, the volume has been turned down a bit so my hearing has returned, the partying stops a little earlier and I hit the slopes as soon as they open.

Sincerely,

Jim Daly
Dalylaw@silcom.com

  • Liked — Everything except the paper thin walls and ceilings
  • Disliked — The paper thin walls and ceilings
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dalylaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2009

We were skiing in Tahoe for few days and chose Donner Lake and I'm really glad we did. The location is fabulous. I personally find smaller lakes more charming and cozy. We had a 1 bedroom suite at the end of the building next to the lake so we faced the lake on both sides of the living room.

The accomodation was spacious. Things were on the more basic side but the view was unbeatable. It was great to come back at the end of the day and cook dinner in the full kitchen.

We thought it was really good value overall (they were running a mid-week special). And the drive to Squaw Valley was convenient and scenic (20 min) though a bit far from Heavenly (about an hour on the Western Shore passing by amazing vista points like Vikingsholm)...

  • Liked — Location location location
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HappySwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Truckee
6.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Truckee-Tahoe Hotel
9.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe
9.4 mi away
Resort at Squaw Creek
Resort at Squaw Creek
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Squaw Valley Lodge
Squaw Valley Lodge
#5 of 5 in Olympic Valley
336 reviews
4.1 mi away
Inn at Truckee
Inn at Truckee
#10 of 13 in Truckee
81 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#1 of 5 in Olympic Valley
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donner Lake Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donner Lake Village

Property: Donner Lake Village
Address: 15695 Donner Pass Rd, Truckee, CA 96161-3649
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Truckee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Truckee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Donner Lake Village 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Donner Lake Village is a year-round condominium resort nestled in the pines on the west shore of Donner Lake, one of the Sierra Nevada's most charming and beautiful alpine lakes. Our friendly staff can help you plan your visit, too. Encounter serenity in a one or two-bedroom suite, studio or spacious room complete with microwaves, refrigerators and FREE high speed wireless internet. Easy access to year round activities. In summer enjoy our private beach and marina with boat rentals. In winter hit the slopes at eight nearby world class ski resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Donner Lake Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donner Lake Village Hotel Truckee
Donner Lake Hotel
Donner Lake Resort
Donner Lake Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing