We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Miss Out On This Fun!”

Tributary Whitewater Tours
Ranked #2 of 15 Tours in Truckee
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Yes available in 2017!! Truckee River whitewater rafting trips just east of Truckee, CA. Closest Rafting to Lake Tahoe and Reno! This is a 1/2 day trip with 2 departures daily at 9:15am or 1:30pm. We meet at the Truckee River RV park a few miles east of Truckee off Highway 80 and will shuttle you to and from the river. The rafting trip is 7 miles of exciting Class 2-3+ rapids suitable for ages 7+ and non-swimmers. Personal Floatation Devices, helmets, paddles, rafts, and a professional river guide to help you maneuver safely down the river are all included. Cold drinks are served at the take-out and we shuttle you back to our meeting location. *** This is NOT the self guided float out of Tahoe City. This is an entirely different section of the Truckee River. ***
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't Miss Out On This Fun!”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

As a family, we decided to skip the leisurely "float" down the Truckee River and opted instead for the whitewater adventure that the Truckee offers in June. Minimum age is 7yrs, so little ones have to stick with the float.

We chose the Tributary Whitewater Tour because they offered an afternoon tour which fit into our schedule. I learned from our guide that TWT has the best rafts of all the tour groups. I would definitely choose them again.

The Truckee was lots of fun! We experienced several category 3 rapids and saw some beautiful things. We were blessed with Josh--a terrific river rafting guide who shared his knowledge of the animals, plants, trees, and Tahoe (he double majored in geology and agriculture). Josh has 14 years rafting experience and put all of our safety concerns to rest by demonstrating skill and professionalism while helping us have a blast the entire time.

Don't miss this adventure--you (and your kids) will never forget it!

Helpful?
1 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    7
    1
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Family Fun!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were part of a large group with kids of different ages. Some of us wanted a white water rafting experience that would not be appropriate for little kids, we didn't want a 4-5 experience due to my wife's back issues.

We selected the Truckee river trip and, for us, it was great. We assembled at the rear of a sporting goods shop in town and headed up to the river. Our guide gave us a safety orientation and then it was off to the river.

We experienced some moderate rapids and some areas of more calm waters allowing my teenage boys to take a dip. The guide was personable and gave clear directions to row through the rapids. We then hit "Jaws" a short but exciting piece of of the river. We were soaked but had a great time.

For a medium whitewater experience, fun, but not too rough, this was a perfect choice.

One small gripe, and not with this company, but the photo company they use (Truckee River Photos). It's almost impossible to take pictures and they are a big part of sharing your experience. Truckee River Photos took fantastic pictures you could buy online, but to say they were non-responsive to my order is being generous. Now 2 months after and I don't have the pictures I bought or a response after several tries. NOT a dig on this river company, but they may want to partner with another vendor for photos.

Would I and my family go again with these guys? ABSOLUTELY!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaFunTravele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TributaryLLC, Public Relations Manager at Tributary Whitewater Tours, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
The photo company, Truckee River Photo, is very busy July/August and sometimes has a 6-8 week processing time (mentioned on their website). They are also the only company that takes professional photos on the Truckee River.

Otherwise we are glad to hear they had a fabulous time on the river with their family and look forward to taking them down the river again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun Morning Raft Trip”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My daughter and I had a great time!Jason was our guide and he was friendly and kept us safe. He explained everything, he even knew the names of animals we saw and the way they acted in their natural habitats.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank pamela4real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyable rafting”
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

This was a great day out with the kids. The "rapids" are so tame there really isn't any cause for concern or nerves. There was just about enough excitement for the first time white water rafters - a gentle introduction to white water rafting. Or perhaps it was the expertise of the guides that made it seem that way. They did a great job of guiding us in when to paddle and when to stop, they maneuvered the boat into the best positions for the rapids and gave very clear safety briefings - at the beginning and throughout. Our entire excursion of 4 boats, (aged between 9 and 62), stayed in the boats the whole time with no falling in or tipping over. The only time we were in the water was by choice when there is a chance to jump in and swim during some of the quiet floats down stream. My 9 year old participated in the paddling and loved it. During the quieter floats we saw Beaver hutches and fly fishermen, cars that had slipped off the road above many years ago, and were well informed by the guide on various things along the way. Great day out but I personally think it was more fun on the unguided river rafting experience from Tahoe to River Ranch - but in my family I'm alone in that - my husband and children preferred the white water rafting no question!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TributaryLLC, Guest Relations Manager at Tributary Whitewater Tours, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks for sharing your river experience! We appreciate you mentioning the other aspects of the trip including the beaver dam and other recreation on the river. Thanks for coming white water rafting with Tributary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Never would use again. Terrible customer service by manager.”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Never would use them again. Terrible customer service by Lorraine, the manager. She is rude and does not have the courtesy to respond to multiple emails. If someone in your party is injured prior to your trip and cannot participate, do not expect any refund, even if you notify them ahead of time and you are told that your cancelled spot was filled by someone else.
The rafting trip is calm with minimal rapids, not as exciting as the site proclaims. The few rapids that there were were fun and easy for my 9 year old daughter to stay in the raft.
Before we had given our guide a tip (which we were planning to do anyway)", it was made clear by someone else that tips are "expected".
The guide was friendly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank GinaUys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TributaryLLC, Guest Relations Manager at Tributary Whitewater Tours, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Every cancellation is different and we listen to our clients circumstances and look at how the cancellation affects our trips. We were notified of this particular cancellation around 10:00 am the day of the trip – 30 minutes after we turned away a group of 5. This group was booked on the Truckee River for 4 people then became a group of 3 with the cancellation. The group of 3 would have fitted in a raft with another group of 3 (raft capacity was 6), and would have freed up an entire raft for other clients. We did add a group of 2 that same day, but had space in another raft of 4 for them. The client insisted on the phone afterwards that we must have been full as we had no space for her husband on the bus. We actually had room for 31 clients in our vehicles as usual, but sent the van ahead to launch the rafts when the capacity of our mini-bus was adequate for the remaining 20 clients. We were only scheduling 4 rafts that trip as other guides had been pulled to work on other rivers, so we were 4 under our raft capacity. We had not anticipated that her husband would be expecting to ride in the bus though he was not going on the river. Gina refused to believe that we were not full and would not accept the fact that the cancellation should have been made sooner. The office phones were being manned at 6:00 am and the injury was sustained the day before.
We are glad that she thought the trip was "fun" for the 9 yr old, and thanks to the expertize of our guides, that she was able to stay in the raft. That's the way we like it.

We communicated with the client several times after their trip until we received an email that demanded a refund or “I [Gina] decide what to write in my glowing reviews on Trip Advisor, Yelp, California Visitor reviews etc”. Our cancellation policy is clear and fair and the mention of posting reviews to several review sites out there was a form of blackmail and therefore at that point, we did not respond further, having already stated the facts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tributary Whitewater Tours also viewed

Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
Truckee, Lake Tahoe (California)
 
Tahoe City, Lake Tahoe (California)
 

Been to Tributary Whitewater Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing