We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Review Highlights
Great wine, great views, great host

Spent a wonderful afternoon at the Alpen Cellars Winery in the hills of the Trinity Lake Region in... read more

Reviewed July 17, 2019
BT J
,
Hamilton, NJ
Beautiful location. Great wine!

We stopped by on a beautiful October afternoon. Visited with Keith, who my husband went to school... read more

Reviewed October 21, 2018
Victoria H
via mobile
Read all 8 reviews
  
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveler rating
8
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
8
0
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 8 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2019

Spent a wonderful afternoon at the Alpen Cellars Winery in the hills of the Trinity Lake Region in Trinity County, CA. Keith Groves, the winemaker was our very congenial host. After tasting some great wines - the Chardonnay and Blaufrankish were particularly good - we had a picnic lunch that we brought on the winery's beautiful patio with our new favorite wine - the White Riesling. If you ever get a chance, Alpen Cellars is well worth the visit.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank BT J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2018 via mobile

We stopped by on a beautiful October afternoon. Visited with Keith, who my husband went to school with, and his lovely wife. He makes great wine from his own vineyards nearby. Good conversation and great wine. What could be better!

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Victoria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2018

Discovered this winery 3 years ago on an annual family reunion trip to the Trinity River area. It's tucked away down a country road in a beautiful valley. The wines are excellent and the winemaker, Keith Groves, is very personable and able to answer all questions about wine and the area in general.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank KarenG5338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2016

We tasted either 7 or 8 different wines. Each one was great! We ended up buying 5 bottles.

The owner was very friendly and made us feel right at home. The property is gorgeous with green mountains everywhere. They have the most friendly stick chasing dog, summer, ever! She will be your forever friend if you pay just a tad bit of attention to her.

Great visit, great location!!

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank RobShan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2016 via mobile

The winemaker is third generation local of you count his grandpa mining in the area and his knowledge of local history is impressive.

He and his crew are friendly, helpful, the wine is great. The best part? Very reasonably priced!!

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank ryanbP3219EV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews