We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A summer vacation to remember”
Review of Coffee Creek Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coffee Creek Ranch
Paradise
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A summer vacation to remember”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I am a Grandmother, raising my 10 yr. old Grandson. Our family looked for a special place to enjoy for our 10 day alotted vacation. Well we found it!! We thoroughly enjoyed everyday at Coffee Creek Ranch. A magical location next to nature at its best! Swimming, resting,hiking, hay rides, along with the glorious meals served either in the dining-room or out on the grounds. A bar-b-que steak dinner and Sunday special of turkey and all the trimmings. You won't go hungry here. I enjoyed reading and relaxing and watching my Grandson enjoy all the kids activities each day. I was designated "Miner 49er" at an evening dinner event. Gold panning was my fun activity by the running clear creek under the bridge at the lodge. The crew was accommodating with any requests. Coffee/tea was always available...Jimmy Jr. keeps asking
"Grandma, when can we go back?!" He especially enjoyed the daily horseback rides with meals on the trail.. We had stayed at a PREVIOUS Ranch afew month prior and disliked the room set-up. Tiny rooms, tub or shower down the hall, and noise from other guests. Our Coffee Creek cabin was like a small house. I had the master bdrm. with a couch, full bath, and actually 3 full rooms and large porch. Couldn't ask for more space and also laundry facilities which meant we did not need to bring to much in the way of clothing.. Ruth and Mark were extremely wonderful host and hostess. The history of their life there was remarkable and we loved getting to know them. Go enjoy... we did!!! Grandma Joyce, Grandpa Ed, Auntie Julie, Jimmy Jr., Rich, and PEBBLES the DOG.....

Room Tip: Look at the map and find a location that suits you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    14
    2
    8
    9
See reviews for
38
7
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Coarsegold, California
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This Ranch has everything to offer and nothing is left undone. Their 40+ head of horses was perfect for the 6 year old's first solo trail ride, the 9 year old's first Rainbow Trout was out of Coffee Creek, the Grandparents were able to walk over most of the activity trails (Archery, Rifle Range, Skeet Shooting & Fishing Hole). Pool was heated the entire time with ability to use it at anytime. Cabins are seperated by quite a bit of space allowing a great sense of Privacy. Food every meal was Excellent and they truely put much effort into meetings everyone's desires, as long as we gave a little notice for the cook.

Goldpanning out of the creek gave more than enough gold to see on the bottom of the vial, as well the outdoor BBQs, hayrides, dancing (with DJ) & bonfires certainly gave the variety for all to have something to enjoy.

Staff is funny and nice, and certainly happy to cater to every request we made. And the dogs and cats were warm and friendly with the kids. Jake (one of dogs), is a great doorbell and always let everyone know when someone was coming so then the staff can come out and meet them, so even the animals are service oriented.

This is a Ranch, so please don't come thinking there is a Conceirge and/or catered room service. Also the real exercise is the beautiful hikes to the local lakes and/or Horseshoes (if you are aggresive), so please don't assume that the exercise room is a focus point.

For the idea of getting away from the city, noise or traffic, this place has it for everyone. I certainly will be planning on coming back.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South side of the Ranch Dining room are a little walk This is powered by a generator s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 356AndrewR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a rustic experience -- the cabins were nice, but definitely not luxurious. No electricity at night. A beautiful, quiet setting with Coffee Creek running through the center. The food was good, simple and made from fresh ingredients. There were three generations in our party, and we all had plenty to do. We all went on the trail rides, and the children took horse-back riding lessons. Great lessons -- they were trotting and cantering after just two lessons. We had a lot of fun.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hofheim am Taunus, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I thought long and hard about writing a review of Coffee Creek Ranch and although I could write a book about our experiences, I decided to “just” offer a good and bad list. We too were there during the infamous week where the generator failed so that would obviously be the main criticism one would think!!

Good.
Food - the quality and variety of food. Prepared very well by the cook Brian, under extraordinary circumstances. The portions were adequate for a big eater like me and looking for seconds here may tend toward over indulgence. I found eating outside on Alcatraz style plates was an unusual and nice touch

Dedication of the staff – all tried very hard to make everyone happy

Setting – by the creek and in the mountains very relaxing

Breakfast ride – not the ride itself but the breakfast on the mountain and the relaxed atmosphere

Being part of the family – one is definitely taken into the fold and if you are prepared to get involved then the activities can be entertaining

Entertainment – though provided mainly by the guests themselves

Bad.
The generator - not that it failed that could happen any time, but that there was no adequate replacement or back-up considering the importance of this piece of equipment

Too few staff – although they tried very hard to cover it up, there were just not enough of them, whether it was: wranglers, maintenance, waiting or support staff

Overall condition – extremely run down, in need of a really major upgrade

Value for money – I’m afraid not. Far from the first class establishment that the website and brochure would have you believe

Pool – looked pretty dismal, we never even dipped in a toe or finger

The horses – in poor shape and too few to give all the guests the two rides a day offered

The trails – dusty and boring, no real scenery visible, repetative (usually the same trail with a small variation)

The walk to the corral - quite a way and mostly uphill

Recreation equipment – badminton, volleyball, air hockey, weightroom and other various things in a sorry state of disrepair

Bed linen - only changed once at the start of visit

WLAN – ok not what one goes on holiday for but when the service is offered and one is relying on it working, then it become a mean point when it doesn’t and the band width was severely reduced once the limit was exceeded

Organisation – poor and not really up to the challenge when things went wrong. Many of the rides were not available due to broken equipment, blocked paths too few horses/wranglers or
what ever. Activities seldom happened punctually, ok on holiday nothing needs to go like clockwork, but do you really need to wait over an hour for the horses to be saddled? These are things that need to be managed with alternatives or proper preparation

The cabins – although well insulated against the heat they were just too run down. The water seemed to flow far too slow and many of the fittings, particularly in the bathrooms were on the verge of breakdown. The cabins were only superficially cleaned so if you like spider webs there are many to find

Introduction to the other guests – there was none, due to the generator breakdown!

Disclaimer – this should have been an indication of bad things, having to sign away the responsibility from the ranch before you get to sit down is overdoing it a little

I guess the thing that annoyed me most is the disappointment. I was expecting a lot more from other reviews and the advertising blurb, but I feel I was let down on a major event as this was a holiday for which we planned and saved a long time

So you pay your money you make your choice, but figure out what is most important for you and see if it appears on the good or the bad list and if it is on the bad list you may want to look elsewhere

Room Tip: Tough, since all that we saw and heard led us to believe they were all in the same state of repair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I don't typically write a review. In fact, I have only written one other review in my life, and it was because that business was incredibly fabulous. Unfortunately, quite the opposite is true for this business. We feel compelled to let other potential customers know about this business and what we experienced because it was such a disappointment, and quite frankly, a terrible experience overall. My boyfriend and I stayed 3 days in mid-July, 2013, at Coffee Creek Ranch near Trinity, California, and honestly, I was thankful it was only three days.

Before booking our stay, I openly discussed with Ruth (the owner), my size, my weight, and the desire of my boyfriend and I to ride the horses each day. She assured me repeatedly that she had plenty of horses available for me to ride. When we arrived, we were told that I was 50# over the riding weight limit and I could not ride. In hindsight this seems like it was completely deliberate deception to get us to book and spend money. We told Ruth that we wanted to check out since our purpose for booking was mainly to go horseback riding daily. She refused to refund our stay but did offer a $70/per day, per person discount ($420 total), based on the fact that we couldn't ride (note: a 3 day stay was $1300 for the two of us!!!). Upon checkout on day three, only a $175 TOTAL refund was given. Ruth explained that the difference between the refund given and the one originally promised was that she didn't realize that we were seniors (over 55) when making the original refund quote. We found this explanation difficult if not impossible to believe.

The head wrangler, Danielle told us all the horses had a fungus on their feet. During game night, one of the wranglers told us the horses had not had a day off from riding in the 6 weeks she had been there.

Safety Concerns:

The battery in the smoke detector in our cabin had been disconnected.
The fire extinguisher in our room hadn't had its annual inspection since 2011.
The wooden stairs leading up to our cabin were old, weatherworn, and they wobbled when we walked up them.
The footpath leading from the cabins to the main house was poorly lit. Three of the eight lights along our path were out and/or broken.
The main footpath has many tree roots which are noticeably above ground and are a serious trip hazard. With the inadequate lighting and the degree of darkness at night, we had to be really careful and carry our own flashlights so as not to trip.

There were no safety instructions or experienced instructors to go with us when we went target shooting with the .22 cal. rifle or the 20 gauge shotgun. Do they just hand out the .22 cal rifle and 20 gauge shot-gun to any guests regardless of experience? We saw no staff oversight of firearm safety, which was scary. The trap shooting area was located in a pasture covered with horse manure. It was also flooded with smelly standing water, and over-run with large, black, aggressive flies and mosquitoes.

The swimming pool water was green and very cloudy, and no staff skimmed the needles and leaves off the surface. Guests were allowed to swim in it.

Guests are not issued any keys to their rented cabin, and so therefore they shouldn't be locked. We locked our door for security before being told there were no keys. When we told the owner, she was surprised and said "You locked the door? Oh No!". She told us that someone would come out to open it, but no one ever did. We finally had to slide a credit card down and push the bolt to get the door open.

A 10 year old child was thrown from her horse and injured when the horse ran out of control down a hill (we questioned whether the horse's temperament was truly matched to the child's abilities); Nearby, the owners of another ranch told us they would not recommend Coffee Creek Ranch due to numerous injuries from horseback riding at the ranch and serious safety concerns. We were told that CCR had no insurance, and that MedEvacs by helicopter were common.

Equipment:

The generator that provided all the power was broken when we arrived. They were using a back-up which didn't supply enough voltage so no motors could be operated. The main generator was not fixed until day 2 of our stay, (most guests are required to stay for a week, so those already there had limited electricity the first 4 days of their stay).

The hot tub was inoperative when we arrived. The owner, Ruth, told us it was working. We assumed it was out due to the generator, but later we found out a coil was broken and had to be replaced. It was the end of day 2 of our 3 day stay before it was fixed (day 4 for other guests).

The mechanical device used for launching the clay pigeons at the trap shooting area was old, rusted, bent, and useless. Staff near the area told us that other guests had been seen throwing the clay pigeons by hand! After we gave up on shooting and walked back several blocks to return the equipment (the final straw was that there had been a male logger and logging equipment too close to the shooting area) the owner told us she had a manual "fling" launcher for the pigeons! That sure did us a lot of good after the fact. But why not buy a nice, new, standard launcher and verify no one is near the range? And move it away from all of that horse poop!

The plastic pedal boat had one pedal that was broken off and the boat was dirty, not at all attractive to use. Attempting to board this thing may have resulted in taking a bath in goopy, scummy, algae-filled pond water. No dock, so board from shore? A bit risky. Lifejackets? Nowhere to be seen or offered. They claimed rainbow trout were in that pond. I don't think that any fish could live in there except maybe a mutant catfish.
The badminton racquets were old and falling apart. They were lying on the ground when we arrived, and remained there our entire stay. Ditto with the ping-pong table which was in disrepair; covered with dust and needles; and on unlevel, uneven ground.
The archery target was completely full of holes, torn up and falling in pieces on the ground. Just how much can a supply of archery targets cost? Each guest should be given a new one when they go out to shoot.

We spent over 45 minutes just trying to FIND the .22 cal rifle shooting range. Signage was non-existent and directions from wrangler staff were ambiguous. When we did find it we discovered a serious lack of attention to cleanliness and maintenance. The area was littered with cans, trash, shell casings, targets, etc. We did plink and shoot at some targets on the range. It was one of the rare fun activities we engaged in during our visit.

The fishing equipment was disappointing. Tackle boxes were completely empty; spin casting rigs had flies attached; and two poles were so tangled up that we needed to cut lines to get them apart. Late in our last afternoon, we "discovered" two fly rods stored above the main door so my boyfriend was able to do a few casts in the river. But there really needs to be a much better selection of flies, lures, bait, tackle and guidance from staff on getting the most out of it. We heard second hand stories of fish being caught in the stream recently, but couldn't verify that this had actually happened.

There were some bright spots, which we should mention. The ranch is truly in the wilderness and situated against the hillside, with the main house and the cabins dotting the hillside. While it was over 100 degrees when we were there, the forest helps protect from the heat and the setting is beautiful and serene. The river runs along the property with white water rushing downstream continually. You can hear the stream from your cabin or just about anywhere you are on the ranch. The food was actually quite good. Brian, the cook is a great guy, and has personality, warmth and a contagious smile. He loves to go gold panning and on our second day, he took anyone who wanted to go to the river and showed us how to pan for gold. We actually found a few flecks that he helped bottle for us as souvenirs! The staff, many of whom are UK citizens or other nationalities, are generally nice but there are a few language barriers. Most come from Poland, Germany or England. Other memorable local staff we met were Bobbi, the Laundry Lady; Jimmy, experienced ranch hand/jack of all trades; Gary, maintenance guy. These were fun folks we seemed to hit it off with. We recommend that gratuities to staff be given directly, and not through the office or your invoice/bill, because according to the staff, the owners will keep the gratuity for themselves.

It looked to us like the ranch, in its heyday, had been “the place to go”, but now it seems neglected and has lost its glory. The owners seem burned out and perhaps have lost the spark needed to run an operation this big. Without attention to detail and the enthusiasm needed to make the ranch worth the price that customers are being asked to pay, we advise you to seek your dude ranch experience elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank aleashka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just back from a week at coffee creek guest ranch. Don't be fooled by the pictures or brochure! We arrived on Saturday before lunch. Luch was cold sandwiches served to you - not buffett style. An hour after our arrival the whole place went dark as they lost power from thier generator. A promise of two hours was made by the owners, however 48 hours later there was still no power! With no power there was no ice or cold drinks, the pool filtration stopped immediatly causing an oil slick on the pool surface. The pool is large but it was green from day one and never changed no matter what they did to the chemicals.
The current chef Brian does a great job even without power. Meals where always tasty if not plentiful. Staff is served the same meal as guests which means no leftovers or seconds.
A list of broken equipment:
Pool, hayride wagon, trap shoot, horses, paddle boat, cabin, plumbing, waterfall, hot tub,generator
Everything is in disrepair and run down. There is a difference between country and not maintained. There were piles of garbage and broken equipment everywhere.
Trail rides are mostly up and down the same dirt road. Wranglers try but seemed overwhelmed. Morning breakfast ride is the most popular and fun.
Injury Tally:
Our daughter was thrown at a full gallop from the horse when it decieded to just stop.
Adult rider run through a tree by her horse causing facial lacerations.
Adult rider thrown from horse during 'rodeo' night when saddle came loose.
Pet dog attacked by owners german shepards resulting in multiple puncture wounds and crush injuries.
During our stay there where 18 guests at the ranch. I don't know how they would be able to handle any more at one time there is not enough staff. The staff are all very young and from Europe, living in horrific run down shacks by the corral. We were told many times they never see the 'gratuities' that are put on your bill.
During our week stay there where no childrens activities offered, which is part of why we went.
There were nightly activities that were fun, bingo, dancing, singing.
At the end of our stay we talked with the owner Ruth about some sort of refund for the many issues that took place over our stay. Our request seemed totally foreign to her as if nothing had gone wrong. Instead she want to make sure we understood how exspensive it had been to fix the generator when it broke and the cost of the line dance instructor! Not really things you should be sharing with guests. After a long battle we got a $100.00 credit off of a $4.000.00 bill! What a joke!!
Research other rances, they may be more exspensive but I guess you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin with a name and not a letter they seem to be the nicer group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Kimberlee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnyvale
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Hi, we just went to Coffee Creek Ranch and had a terrific time. With 18 people in our immediate family with ages ranging from 1 1/2 to 85 years of age this was a terrific place. Nobody has to shop, cook or clean for the week (or play hostess). They provide very yummy food that appeals to all ages. This gave us a chance to visit as a group 3 times a day. Then we all got to do what we wanted. Our family is like herding cats, we all want to do, what we want to do, when we want to do it. So this setting is ideal for us. The kids loved the swimming, archery, horses, badmitten and gold panning. The college kids liked to hang-out and read on the ample porch. Everyone else either hiked or went horseback riding. My husband likes to take naps after going in the river, so that is what he did. My mother-in-law likes to bird watch, she saw hummingbirds, an osprey w/nest and was looking for some unique woodpeckers. We found a patch of "pitcher plants" they eat bugs...yes really. We found the rustic cabins more than adequate to an outdoor vacation. I paint with watercolors and enjoyed doing this on our outdoor table on the deck. The evenings had things like hay rides, karaoke and smores around the fire. The college students from europe that came to work for six months were super-friendly and great with the kids. This is a good place to relax (oh did I mention they have a hot-tub too). My only advice is bring a walking stick.

Room Tip: If you need a C-PAP for sleeping make sure to bring a charged-battery (the type you can purchase at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coffee Creek Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coffee Creek Ranch

Property: Coffee Creek Ranch
Address: 4310 Coffee Creek Road, Trinity Center, CA 96091
Location: United States > California > Trinity Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Trinity Center
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coffee Creek Ranch was founded in 1900 surrounded by National Forest and the Trinity Alps wilderness area in Northern California. Its 367 acres lie along Coffee Creek, an excellent Fly Fishing stream for trout! We are located 72 miles Northwest of Redding, 8 miles above Trinity Lake. All Inclusive vacation for the whole family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Coffee Creek Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coffee Creek Ranch Hotel Trinity Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing