We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and hospitality”
Review of The Lost Whale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lost Whale Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had a nice stay at the lost wale inn. We had the Grey Whale room, which affords a terrific view of the ocean. Sleeping with the window ajaris a must to capture the mesmerizing sound of the ocean. Our hosts were very accommodating wih out early departure (and wonderful packed breakfast). Also had a lovely dinner the night we arrived, which was so very thoughtful and tasty and we loved the chocolates and champagne on valentines.

The walk down to the beach is a must if you are looking to spot some seals. Pillows were a little hard, although presenting only a minor inconvenience, and more than made up for by the beautiful location and attentive hosts. A good option close the the Redwoods NP.

The price is on the higher end, although you do have access to your own private beach.

Recommend ask for soft pillows if you need them like I do.

Recommend asking what time quiet time begins as you can hear guests speaking and moving throughout the house. Our solution was to open the windows so were could hear the waves crashing and not the loud party downstairs.

Room Tip: Recommend ask for soft pillows if you need them. Also, recommend asking what time quiet time begins...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sohappyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
There are newer reviews for The Lost Whale Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 295 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

My son and now wife were married there this last Sunday. It was amazing they took care of us all like kings and queens and they helped Kiana and her mother with the most beautiful wedding I have attended. The most beautiful piece of property with the kindest helpful hosts, amazing food made this more then just a wedding but it made a vacation for all the guests. Thank you it was just lovely. Brian also helped me plan and set up the rehearsal dinner that was equally as impressive at a local restaurant, The Finck family will be back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guiamar, Owner at The Lost Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Carmen,

Thank you so much for your kind remarks - truly, your families coming together made the whole place feel like "magic." I have never seen more beautiful decorations and it is with a sense of humility that I can honestly say I wish Kiana worked here - I'd put her in charge of all of our decorations. I'm glad Brian was able to help you with the reception dinner. Please do come back - I would love to see you again. Guia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Just returned from two wonderful days and nights at the Lost Whale Inn. The natural beauty of the place, the peace and quiet and the gracious hospitality of Guia and Gary and with Sarah and Brian working behind the , bring us back time and again to refresh our spirits. Every room we have stayed in has its own special charm. The beds so comfy and along with the luxurious towels and bathrobes you feel pampered indeed. ( Not to mention the gourmet breakfasts ) It is always a delight to meet and visit with other travelers from as far away as Australia or even from our own home town. We always look forward to our next visit.
Ken and Bernie Barnes, Redding, CA

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank refreshing10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guiamar, Owner at The Lost Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Bernie,

I honestly don't write much on these trip advisor pages but your kindness, Bernie, is amazing! It is YOU who bring such charm to the Inn- you are definitely one of the nicest people I have ever had the pleasure of meeting and we feel honored that you choose to stay with us. Please know that you and Ken will always be welcomed with open arms here! It just makes all of us happy when you visit. Guia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Nice Inn by the sea. Breakfast and Dinner were provided.Lower carb options and healthier choices should be added. No room service. Very worn bedding in dire need of replacement.The Inn was very noisy as children were lodging at the same time. Loud play times just outside the door. Location is ideal for the Lost Coast. Close to State Beaches and Redwoods National Park. Inn keepers were very friendly. High quality bedding is essential and they really need to update the bedding soon.

Room Tip: Beluga Whale room is upstairs with nice views and an extra sleeping loft. Only one shared wall in th...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wulfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guiamar, Owner at The Lost Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2014

Thank you for your review. It is always helpful to receive feedback. It seems that the bedding in the room was below your standards and bringing it to our attention is appreciated. We have replaced it as a result of your comments. I personally apologize for the noisy children - my nephew had just returned from living in Europe with his family and I invited them to stay over the Christmas holiday. Little Madeleine wears a hearing aid that was broken during her visit and truthfully, she was very noisy. Yes, this is a great location for visiting the redwoods and we will continue to make our Inn the very best it can be. I should comment that we offer many low carb and healthy options, all GMO free and organic whenever possible, but certainly will pay attention to the array of food we offer to assure that we continue to provide many options for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed just one night at this amazing B&B and it was incredible. We arrived in the late afternoon after the drive up from San Fran. We were the only couple registered for the night. We took a hike down a pretty steep path to the coast and watched the sea lions out on the rocks. When we got back up to our room wine, cheese and other snacks were put out for our enjoyment. The staff was so friendly and very accommodating. We stayed in the Sea Lion room which has a great view of the ocean. Everything about this place was magical. Can't wait to visit again.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank rbertke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We only traveled about 45 minutes from home, and escaped a world away. Guia, Gary, Brian and Georgia were all wonderful - both as hosts and as wonderful chefs. We were smart enough to book two nights as we needed that much recharging. Two wonderful dinners, two exceptional breakfasts, great other guests (Gary & Sharon, so enjoyed happy hour with you!) and time in the sauna with whales offshore!!! Add a full high tea and walk on the private beach and life is so grand.
We will be back, I am deliberately courting just enough stress to "earn" two nights around Valentine's Day.

Room Tip: Second floor Blue Whale was a wonderful view, but might go first floor Sea Lion next time, stairs ar...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shineygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stopped here by chance and it was definitely one of the highlights of our month long road trip. The setting is beautiful, the rooms are well maintained, equipped and roomy, the amenities very generous, and the customer service 2nd to none. Brian was available at all times it seemed, and his personality was so welcoming and helpful. Many of the guests interacted with each other during happy hour and breakfast making it an unforgetable experience. It's worth the drive even if it is out of your way to enjoy this great B & B and the beauty of the area.

Room Tip: We did not have the luxury of room selection because we did not make reservations and arrived when o...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
0.1 mi away
View Crest Lodge
View Crest Lodge
#1 of 4 in Trinidad
208 reviews
22.0 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
723 reviews
22.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
15.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
3.5 mi away
Emerald Forest Cabins & RV
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lost Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lost Whale Inn

Address: 3452 Patricks Point Dr, Trinidad, CA 95570-9782
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Trinidad
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price Range: $221 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lost Whale Inn sits on a bluff overlooking Abalone Cove with five rooms, two suites and "the best breakfasts in Humboldt County." Selected as "One of the 10 Most Romantic Inns in America" by Sunset Magazine and listed as one of the top 25 weekend destinations by The Los Angeles Times, the Inn is a place to rejuvenate the human spirit, reconnect with nature and enjoy spectacular scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Lost Whale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lost Whale Hotel Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing