We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Lost Whale Inn
Nearby Hotels
View Crest Lodge(Trinidad)(Great Value!)
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arcata/Eureka Holiday Inn Express(McKinleyville)(Great Value!)
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Arcata Inn(Arcata)(Great Value!)
$94
$89
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sea Cliff Motel(Trinidad)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveler rating
255
28
15
10
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
28
15
10
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhale roomhot tubprivate beachblue whalefrittatafire pitsea lionsclam chowderother guestsrocky beachb bcrackerson the rocksgourmet breakfastocean viewafternoon receptionafternoon wine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
178 - 183 of 309 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed just one night at this amazing B&B and it was incredible. We arrived in the late afternoon after the drive up from San Fran. We were the only couple registered for the night. We took a hike down a pretty steep path to the coast and watched the sea lions out on the rocks. When we got back up to our room wine, cheese and other snacks were put out for our enjoyment. The staff was so friendly and very accommodating. We stayed in the Sea Lion room which has a great view of the ocean. Everything about this place was magical. Can't wait to visit again.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank rbertke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We only traveled about 45 minutes from home, and escaped a world away. Guia, Gary, Brian and Georgia were all wonderful - both as hosts and as wonderful chefs. We were smart enough to book two nights as we needed that much recharging. Two wonderful dinners, two exceptional breakfasts, great other guests (Gary & Sharon, so enjoyed happy hour with you!) and time in the sauna with whales offshore!!! Add a full high tea and walk on the private beach and life is so grand.
We will be back, I am deliberately courting just enough stress to "earn" two nights around Valentine's Day.

Room Tip: Second floor Blue Whale was a wonderful view, but might go first floor Sea Lion next time, stairs are a challenge at my age;-)
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shineygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stopped here by chance and it was definitely one of the highlights of our month long road trip. The setting is beautiful, the rooms are well maintained, equipped and roomy, the amenities very generous, and the customer service 2nd to none. Brian was available at all times it seemed, and his personality was so welcoming and helpful. Many of the guests interacted with each other during happy hour and breakfast making it an unforgetable experience. It's worth the drive even if it is out of your way to enjoy this great B & B and the beauty of the area.

Room Tip: We did not have the luxury of room selection because we did not make reservations and arrived when only one room was left. Next time we go I'd make reservations and ask for an ocean side room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

One night will only leave you wanting more! I was driving the 1 from Mexico to the Northwest and stopped here and spent two days. Its not fancy or pretentious and the brother/sister team running the place are very accommodating. Their breakfasts are to die for and the afternoon munchtea left me not needing dinner one night. Make sure you visit the state park next door. One of the best two days I spent in 30 traveling the coast!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayPays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

From our ocean view room we could hear the sea lions that live along the rocky coast a short distance from the Lost Whale. When we arrived we were greeted with a generous selection of hors d'oeuvres and a nice selection of wines. Our host, Brian created a wonderfully welcoming atmosphere that allowed us to meet many of the other guests. Breakfast was outstanding! But our favorite aspect was the outdoor activities: making s'mores by the firepit in the evening and hiking down to the rocky shore to watch the seals & sea lions in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for the Sea Lion room.... the huge picture window overlooking the ocean and the beautiful canopy bed are well worth the extra $
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank di2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews