We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whale of a time”
Review of The Lost Whale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lost Whale Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Granite Bay, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Whale of a time”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Lost Whale Inn on March 24th. The views were incredible! We must of seen 40-50 whales during our 1 night stay. The dinner, which was inlcuded in our stay was wonderful, especially the ribs and mashed potatoes. The walk down to the beach was cool and we will come back to visit some day. The owners were gracious and very accommodating. Great place for couples to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraniteBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    27
    15
    10
    1
See reviews for
73
178
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Keller, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were in town visiting my sister in Davis, Ca and we planned on the last few days of our visit we would like to see the Redwood Forest. So, we called and booked a room here at The Lost Whale Inn and we are so happy we were able to get a room at the last minute!
Rebecca and Brian greeted us as we arrived. Upon our arrival it was getting late in the day, Rebecca and Brain had yummy foods out so we did not have to leave to go get a bite to eat. We were a bit tired from our 5 hour drive through the mountain roads.

We were stunned with the views of the ocean and the room was super clean and roomy for us! We stayed in the Begula Whale room upstairs overlooking the ocean and we were able to hear the Sea Lions barking and we could see them playing in the surf. AWESOME!
Brian was wonderful in giving us great directions to the Redwoods and all there was to see in our short day we had to look around the area.

We enjoyed our breakfast Brian and Rebecca prepared for us! The food was fit for a Queen and King...with homemade waffles, apple crisp, egg strata, bacon, sausage, crisp potatoes, yogurt, cereal and I am sure I am leaving something out! We were stuffed upon finishing our meal! The coffee is wonderful they serve there too! Super yummy foods!!!! We did not even stop to eat lunch on our drive we were so full!

We toured the upper coast and Redwoods and returned to the Inn.
When we returned, Rebecca and Brian had a spread of food for us when we returned for the afternoon reception. Again, they had wonderful food to share with us! The open bar is awesome, along with the fire in the fireplace. Oh, and they have a kitty named Spooky we loved on while we were there.

We had to leave very early the day we left to drive back to Sacremento to catch our flight...we left at 6:00 a.m. and Brain and Rebecca were very gracious and got up and prepared coffee for us in to-go cups so we did not have to stop for our coffee while we were getting back on the road for our long drive back to the air-port. Wonderful, sweet people they are!
Our stay was WONDERFUL! We will go back and stay with them again!

Stay here, you will be HAPPY you did!

The Cains in Texas...

Room Tip: Any room here is wonderful! Any room you stay in, you will be happy with!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thecainsintexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here one night and could have easily taken more.Room was tastefully furnished.comfortable bed,free internet and absolutely magnificent view. One of the best I have stayed in. The hostess and host were welcoming and the breakfast was wonderful.Tasty and beautifully presented. We had an evening meal up the road further at a fairly upmarket restaurant as we were late arrivals at Lost Whale but this meal was very expensive,not very nice and the service poor.
Eat all meals at the Lost Whale. They also have a lovely lounge area where you can sit and have whatever drink you may desire..all part of the tariff.Not too dear when you get all this and two meals as well.
Go there ..you will love it.

Room Tip: We had Orca Whale room..lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2013

My wife and I were married here. Our family stayed with us and we filled the whole Inn.
This place is as perfect as it gets! The grounds are gorgeous and well kept. The food was phenomenal (Gary is a wonderful chef). Guia did an amazing job helping to plan everything.
Our guests were made to feel welcome. A great time was had by all. It was a heck of a party, and it all ended with a bonfire on the bluffs above the ocean.
The only thing I can complain about is that this place spoiled me rotten! Thank you Guia and Gary for everything!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Perched atop a cliff with a stunning view of the Pacific Ocean, one can hear crashing waves and barking sea lions nearly any time of the day. The rooms are spacious with lots of glass, and the breakfast foods are absolutely incredible. Generous portions and fabulous flavors; the perfect mix to prepare for a day of exploring the Redwoods.

Let's talk for a bit about their access to the "beach." There is a trail that leads down to the water, and although not truly treacherous, it is STEEP. The final 20 feet or so require the use of a well anchored rope, and I recommend leather gloves as well. There is no sand at the immediate bottom, just medium to large rocks. It is very picturesque, and certainly worth the effort, but be advised that it does require effort, especially to get back up to the inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrCindy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Arriving here at the end of a long drive on a chilly, rainy day in late October, we were concerned that we would feel trapped in our room for the night. Instead, we were warmly greeted by Sarah, the cheery and attentive innkeeper on duty for that week, who took us on a full tour of the beautiful grounds, and then urged us to help ourselves to complimentary wine and a lovely buffet of nibbles and appetizers. Although the inn has a cozy common room overlooking the ocean, we were happy to settle into the comfortable chairs in our spacious upstairs room (Beluga Whale) and savor the view until the sun set. After the next day's breakfast -- lavish and delicious -- we took Sarah's suggestions (echoing those that the owner provides in each guest room) and headed for the nearby national/state redwood forest, a magical place. Its bachelor elk herd, just returned from rutting, displayed full racks of antlers as they lounged in the meadow along the entry road. Also close by is Patrick's Point State Park, with stunning ocean views. A delicious dinner at Larrupin and lovely breakfast the following day rounded out a near perfect stay. We hope to return.

Room Tip: Go for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoMo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

People stay here for the ocean views and the food. The rooms are basic so the rate you pay is mostly for the view. We did get a deal since our rate also included dinner. We had a fabulous dinner served buffet style and also a yummy breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful especially in making the reservation. I'm sure in the warmer months this is an even better place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms with the lofts probably have the best views since they also have small balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guiamar, Owner at The Lost Whale Inn, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Hello!

Thank you so much for you your review. We try to stay on top of our guests comments to give us any idea on what we are doing well as well as what we can improve, so apologize about the delayed response. We thank you for an overall great review but wanted to know what we could do better regarding the value? We know that we are in the upper end of the price spectrum for Humboldt county and that is why we offer our complimentary bar and dinners in the winter. We would love if you have the time to let us know what else we might be able to do to increase the value we can offer? Any help would be much appreciated, thank you so much for coming to stay with us and reviewing us on TripAdvisor.

Regards,

Guia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
0.1 mi away
View Crest Lodge
View Crest Lodge
#1 of 4 in Trinidad
202 reviews
22.0 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
716 reviews
24.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
15.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
22.1 mi away
Town House Motel - Historic Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lost Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lost Whale Inn

Property: The Lost Whale Inn
Address: 3452 Patricks Point Dr, Trinidad, CA 95570-9782
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Trinidad
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lost Whale Inn sits on a bluff overlooking Abalone Cove with five rooms, two suites and "the best breakfasts in Humboldt County." Selected as "One of the 10 Most Romantic Inns in America" by Sunset Magazine and listed as one of the top 25 weekend destinations by The Los Angeles Times, the Inn is a place to rejuvenate the human spirit, reconnect with nature and enjoy spectacular scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Lost Whale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lost Whale Hotel Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing