We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of View Crest Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
View Crest Lodge
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

In 4 weeks of travel and many, many motels, View Crest Lodge was absolutely the most disappointing place we stayed. The room (cabin 1) smelled musty and the bathroom shower was moldy. The deck had not been cleaned in a very, very long time - a bird nest in the eaves resulted in a pile of guano right by the door so it was impossible to miss; based on how large the pile was, it had been there for quite some time. Also on the deck was a filthy table which we had to wipe off 3 times before we could use it; there were also many cigarette butts in the planter in the center of the table.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank CHWeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    52
    20
    3
    6
See reviews for
48
107
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Well maintained cabins are located on a gentle hill across the street from the bluff overlooking the Pacific. Our cabin had a limited but nice view of the ocean from the deck, but most of the cabins had only partial or no views due to trees or structures blocking the view. We could, however, hear the faint barking of the sea lions every morning from our deck.
Our cabin was perfect for a couple, with a microwave and small fridge and sink and limited but sufficient utensils, etc. The cabin had a couch and desk with flat screen TV and had good Wi-Fi reception. We enjoyed cocktail hour while watching the sunset over the Pacific from our deck.
The grounds are well landscaped and well maintained with several large fir trees shading the area. View Crest cabins are further from the highway than most of the other cabin resorts in the Trinidad area, so there is absolutely no highway noise. The property continues to a camp and trailer area further away from the ocean.
Cell phone reception is spotty, so Skype or something similar is a good idea. If you have poor reception and need to use your cell, drive into Trinidad and park by the lighthouse where you can get good reception from cell towers nearby.
The cabins are in an excellent location, near parks overlooking the Pacific and a short drive to the Redwoods. We hiked all three redwood parks from this location, although Jedediah Smith is a little over a one hour drive away.
View Crest Lodge is a good value and good choice when visiting this area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommytag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice place to stay in a cabin or camp. Nicely furnished cabins , very comfortable, great location.. Enjoyed the stay. Nice hike around the property. Has nice camping places too. No restaurant on property but they are closeby. Nice place to enjoy nature with all the comforts..

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our first time in the redwoods for our first anniversary. This was a great value for its location compared to other inns around the area. The cabins are wonderful, full kitchen, patio, living room. We chose a room with a jacuzzi tub. You can't really have a good view of the ocean in any of the cabins. Family owned business, the front desk is the property owner's home, some kids running around. Didn't bother us. It would've been nice if they offered breakfast though. Anyways, Trinidad is the area to stay in for a trip to the redwoods. Eureka is a different story...however. I would highly second think staying in Eureka for anything over 1 night. Lots of bums. Nice drive-through town.

We had a wonderful time, was able to walk over to the other property across the street to get to the beach. About 1-2 hours from the Ave of the Giants, an hour from Trees of Mystery. Larupin is a restaurant just a short 1mile drive away, wonderful dining experience...we are both vegetarians and we had a great dinner made from local organic farms with a bottle of local wine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here in August 2013 . This was a family vacation and we opted for a place that had enough space for all of us and the ability to cook and have have a place big enough for down time. It is located in a very nice setting close to the redwood park and many awesome state beaches. We enjoyed the location and the view. The down side of the cottage is that the bedrooms smell of mold. This is a very humid area so mold is not uncommon however this problem could be quickly remedied by removing the carpet which was the culprit for holding the mold.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West LA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Trinidad is a good location to stay if you plan to visit the Redwood State parks. There's reasonable options for lodging, dinning and many of the sights are within striking distance. However, budget options for places to stay are somewhat limited so book in advance if possible. I ended up finding a small room in View Crest Lodge that worked out well for a solo traveler.Fairly priced at $75 a night. The room, which was above a garage, was clean, comfortable and had a small but serviceable kitchenette with fridge, microwave etc. The staff were friendly, and gave good advice on places to eat and shop etc.
There were two minor drawbacks, one was the noisy fridge, which may effect a light sleeper, and the 2nd was the location of the bathroom which was downstairs, the bedroom was upstairs. Given the very reasonable tariff, I can't complain. I would consider staying at the View Crest Lodge again, but I would probably seek out a different room with a more convenient layout.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SM_burghound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

First of all, the location is stunning. The price (in my opinion) was fair and well worth it. Our cabin had a full kitchen and lots of space, including a lovely patio that gave us a great view of the sunset. You are very close to Patrick's Point, a gorgeous beach location with breath taking cliffs and even some tide pools if you visit at the right time of day (check the low tide times). The bed was comfortable and every day when we returned the place was clean and sparkling. There were two nesting swallows on the patio, which was a really neat touch, albeit unintentional. At the front desk, they'll help you with anything you need to know - from sunrise/sunset times to local restaurants and markets, to attractions.

What I loved most is the quiet, intimate feel of the cabin. My significant other and I truly wanted to get away and enjoy our time in the beauty of Northern California, and we were absolutely able to do that at View Crest. I definitely recommend staying here! It is a bit far from some Redwood attractions, depending on where you'd like to go. We were about 15-20 minutes away from Lady Bird Johnson Grove and Fern Canyon. But you're practically across the street from Patrick's Point State Park, which is a huge perk.

One small downside: The fire alarm in our cabin was a bit touchy, and when we cooked breakfast in the mornings it would usually go off. We kept the doors open to avoid this. Just beware!

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin 9, and it was excellent for two - roomy, clean, and a good sized kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GennaDac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
22.0 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
704 reviews
24.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
22.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
21.9 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
Red Lion Hotel Eureka
#5 of 21 in Eureka
590 reviews
3.5 mi away
Emerald Forest Cabins & RV
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to View Crest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about View Crest Lodge

Property: View Crest Lodge
Address: 3415 Patricks Point Dr, Trinidad, CA 95570-9782
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Trinidad
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — View Crest Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your View Crest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
View Crest Hotel Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing