We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just WOW”
Review of Larrupin Cafe

Larrupin Cafe
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Waynesville NC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Just WOW”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Innkeepers down the road made the suggestion and boy am I glad they did. Wouldn't have even noticed the place (only sign is a sort of fish over the door, really nothing on the road).

Marvelous cuisine - I'm not enough of a foodie to characterize it: fusion? I had the special - a wild-caught salmon on wild rice. Great No. Calif. wine on the recommendation of the server, not bad on the price. Funny little appetizer. All in all, a great surprise.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MovingMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    82
    18
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a treasure!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had read the reviews of this restaurant and were excited to try it. We were not disappointed! There were six of us and we all tried different dishes. The food was fabulous, from the brisket to the fish dishes we tried. The plating was beautiful, the wine list amazing, the atmosphere was fun and eclectic. I loved the entire experience! It was a feast for the palate and the eyes !

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Out of the Park!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The chocolate walls, eclectic decor, lovely picture window overlooking the garden and beautiful rugs were a great start to the evening. The atmosphere was only surpassed by the unbelievable food! We love to eat out and consider ourselves accomplished gourmands, so to find this gem just down the street from where we were staying was an unexpected treat. My ginger cod with risotto and the hubby's brisket were delicious, as was our appetizer of giant coconut crusted shimp. The appetizer plate that comes with dinner was also outstanding. We highly recommend this wonderful restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KP325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Huge dinner”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Enjoyed this restaurant very much. Good food and service and very handy to our B&B down the road. Don't miss the Stage Coach Road behind it that winds down to the tiny town of Trinidad.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BoomerBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LI NY
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“For the area it is a really great and unique place”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

To be real there aren't a ton of places to eat in this area, so choices are somewhat limited unless you want to drive a bit. But this place totally stands out as a really unique place both looks wise and menu wise.

Eating here three nights in a row ( like I said not a ton of choices in the area), there was always something new to try and their seafood was incredibly fresh.

Staff was friendly also...

The restaurant itself could be viewed as sort of a place for a sleepy older crowd, as at times I thought our table was a bit louder than we should have been and probably got a few looks for that..but nothing crazy and it was fine. Its probably a big place for date night lol

Check it out though..you would totally not be disappointed

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Surfingisfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larrupin Cafe also viewed

Trinidad, Humboldt County
 
Trinidad, Humboldt County
Trinidad, Humboldt County
 
Trinidad, Humboldt County
Trinidad, Humboldt County
 

Been to Larrupin Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing