We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“american express credit card”
Review of Larrupin Cafe

Larrupin Cafe
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Vista, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“american express credit card”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Drove by the restuarant on 12-24-2012 to see what restuarant was all about. Wanted to take our son and his girlfriend for a nice dinner before leaving the area. My wife called on 12-24-2012 to find out what type of payment they took. She was directed to a voice recording since no one was there yet. She received a return call that afternoon. My wife asked if they took American Express credit card as payment and was told they did. when the bill came I was surprised when the waitress came back to advise us that they DO NOT ACCEPT AMERICAN EXPRESS as payment. I informed the waitress that my wife had called in advance and was told they did. We went for dinner the evening of 12-26-2012 and had a delicious meal. The waitress we had was rather bothered by some of our not knowing the normal ritual of their restuarant. If you choose to visit this establishment be forewarned that they DO NOT ACCEPT AMERICAN EXPRESS as payment even though they tell you they do. I think it is a ploy to get you to their place. Fortunately we had back up to pay. Hate to think what would of happened if we couldn't. Word of advice. Try to get the younger waitress. The OLDER waitress is somewhat snotty if you get my drift. Food is good but the help could use a tune up..

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank manuel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    82
    18
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, Ca
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food, Eclectic Atmosphere”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is my favorite local restaurant. The food board is a wonderful start...local cheeses, pate and the famous Larrupin sauce. I have tried everything on the menu except the vegetarian options. All excellent. Many of our guests LOVE the brisket. Great selection of wines, beautiful gardens....personable service. Thumbs up!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank finewine35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ambience and very good food!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

When I say good, I not only mean taste but good as in organic, home grown or locally supplied. The fish is fresh and fabulously prepared by chef/owner who greets his guests individually in the beautifully decorated dining room. Very elegantly homey atmosphere! I will be going back! You must sample the goat cheese mousse with raspberry sauce, sounds a little different but you will think you are in heaven with one bite, and almost no guilt.
If you go in the summer the patio, with live music, is really sweet!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Had an excellent dinner on Halloween”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Larrupin Cafe was decorated with lots of Halloween regalia, one of the few restaurants open. We had tasty meals including their special cheese and fruit board appetizer. One of us had the duck, the other the salmon special (one of the tastiest salmon dishes ever).

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank mrmikeSantaCruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Love it here! Been coming here for years and still so good.”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The atmosphere is eclectic, relaxing and homey. The food here is really good. I wouldn't say it is totally amazing but it is very good. I have been here alot. Celebrated my ex boyfriend's graduation here and have lots of fond memories of this place. For me there is something soulful about the place and considering I spent most of my 20's in this area I guess I can see why. The restaurant has beautiful views and is really not to be missed!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mudsummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larrupin Cafe also viewed

Trinidad, Humboldt County
 
Trinidad, Humboldt County
Trinidad, Humboldt County
 
Trinidad, Humboldt County
Trinidad, Humboldt County
 

Been to Larrupin Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing