We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet stay in the woods”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Emerald Forest Cabins & RV
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2014

A nice little one room cabin was our base for the weekend. Surrounded by woods off 101, it was very easy to drive to any of the national or state parks. The gentleman at the desk was very helpful with local information. Only complaint was the internal noise. The heater is very loud, so we ended up turning it all the way down so it wouldn't come on. That was very minor compared to the squeaky floor. The vinyl flooring is hilariously loud. No matter the footwear, the flooring was squeaky. Even the already squeaky bed squeaked on the flooring as it shifted. Pretty funny, but could easily see how other guests would not tolerate it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Encajes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 181 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

If you IMAGINE a Emerald Forest, this is it! We stayed in the cabins. I would reccomend cabin G,H,I,J,and ours was L. These cabins have a back patio that sits in a redwood forest, with a fern gully and a small stream in the giant redwoods. There are quite a few camping spots, and some smaller and larger cabins. The front desk has a small store. There is a large playground for kids. A washer and dryer. The inside was a newer basic room. It had a tv. A small kitchenette gave us everything we needed with a microwave and frige. It was a beautiful place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SHONABB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

This hotel is unique in that it is located within a small grove of large sequoia trees. It has a cabin type foremat usually with two seperate units per cabin (one studio and a two bed room) . Our unit was newly remodeled and had a partial kitchen and a large sequoia tree growing through the deck. The dirt driveway and cabin steps might make handicapped access difficult, so check with them before you go if this a concern.
Be advised that the restaurants inTrinidad close early, so if you want to eat after 8pm, you will have to go to the next town. The town has about 5 or 6 reataurants and a small grocery store with a deli serving fried chicken, sandwitches, etc. and a lighthouse and small beach.
Check-in and check-out was good, maid service was good and the units and grounds seemed to be clean and well kept. I would definately return if visiting this area again.

Room Tip: All of the cabin locations are about the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The Emerald Forest was a recommendation from a friend and a great one I must say. Smack in the middle of the beautiful redwood forest and the ocean within minutes from the facility. Cabins are quaint yet very homey and love that they are not sharing walls like a hotel. Original cabins were built decades ago with the same feel including clawfoot tubs and cozy feel of redwoods outside on the deck. Modernized with running water, shower and laundry facilities, barbeque areas and a multitude of options other than the cabins for lodging. LOVE the location and am looking forward to using the Celebration Hall and Gazebo for my wedding in a month and a half!!! It is a breath of fresh air with the quiet, the green and the rustic all in one.

Room Tip: If there are two of you and want the true experience ask for one of the original cabins. A or B. Lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We drove the Oregon/California coast and stayed at this RV Park on the way down...........liked it so much we stayed again on our way home to Oregon. Reasonably priced, beautiful trees and even though it is right off of the highway, it was very quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I love this place. We stayed a couple years ago when the internet was good but the service was just okay. Under new management the service is excellent now--very friendly and helpful. They are working on smoothing out their internet problems and seem very sincere in their efforts to make good on their promise of "high speed wifi." The rooms are very clean.

Room Tip: Only two of the cabins accept pets. Very few of them have tubs. Ask about these amenities as well as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MamaSita65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

While traveling in Northern California we were fortunate enough to get to stay at the Emerald Forest of Trinidad. The coastline at Trinidad is breath-taking and the campground/cabins were in a beautiful setting. As we entered the campground, the green around us was spectacular. As we entered, I was a bit fearful of what the cabins might be like as they were covered in moss. Upon entering, we were greeted with beauty. The modern interior was so welcoming and comfortable. I would love to live in the woods in one of these cabins. It was incredibly peaceful and a great night's rest. I want to go back and stay much longer!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dkb8264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
3.5 mi away
View Crest Lodge
View Crest Lodge
#1 of 4 in Trinidad
220 reviews
20.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
18.6 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15 mi away
Blue Lake Casino Hotel
Blue Lake Casino Hotel
#1 of 1 in Blue Lake
162 reviews
12.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
18.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Forest Cabins & RV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Forest Cabins & RV

Address: 753 Patricks Point Dr, Trinidad, CA 95570-8755
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Trinidad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Trinidad
Price Range: $31 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Emerald Forest Cabins & RV 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We'll help you rediscover your endless youth. OUR STORY - We are people first. We love the great outdoors, having grown up swimming in rivers and hiking among the redwoods. We are parents and children, siblings and friends. We recognize the importance of family. We look forward to bringing the high level of customer service you have come to expect to our newest addition, Emerald Forest Cabins & RV. WHAT WE OFFER - Proximity to Trinidad Harbor, great restaurants nearby, fire rings & picnic tables, clean cabins & courteous hosts with a desire to make your stay a warm, memorable experience. Most of all, we offer you the opportunity to slow down and get in touch with those you love. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Emerald Forest Cabins & RV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Forest Of Trinidad Hotel Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing