We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommend this property!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Cottage #5, the Eagles View Interior
Cottage #5, the Eagles View Interior
Cottage #5, the Eagles View Interior
Cottage #5, the Eagles View Interior
Cottage #5, the Eagles View Interior
Cottage #5, the Eagles View Interior
Tjhe Waterfall
Water-feature flora/sage
Water-feature flora/sage
Water-feature flora
Trinidad Lighthouse and Harbor
Local Beaches
Redwood State National Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Trinidad, Humboldt County, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pioneer72...
1 review
“Highly recommend this property!”
Reviewed August 28, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This was an amazing property and we will always stay here in future visits! The decor and outdoor setting was perfect.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meurt
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seeing the Big Trees”
Reviewed July 29, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Great location, right across from the State Park. You could walk to the beach. Host Marke was very hospitable even built us a fire on night. Close to Trinidad and the National Redwood Forest. The cabins were perfect and the tub made for a great soak after hiking. Saw deer in the morning.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweetdrea...
Mendocino, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed April 15, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

My husband and I arrived in Trinidad late in the afternoon with no clue of where we would stay. We're owners of a B&B in Mendocino and in need of a much needed getaway! After browsing the internet for the perfect 3 day accommodations, we found the Golden Eagle Cottages. My husband described the Cottages as a "hidden gem" -- it was perfect for our needs! Everything is new and modern with full kitchen amenities. The gas fireplace kept the chill away in the evenings. We enjoyed the fun rocking chairs on the large deck while enjoying the serenity of the tree lined meadow views. And it's just a short drive to Patrick's Point State Park. Thank you Marke and Tony for being so accommodating. We loved our stay and hope to visit again! We definitely recommend the Golden Eagle Cottages if you're looking for a private getaway!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zinfanati...
Kensington
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delightful, serene stay with some limitations”
Reviewed October 20, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We rented cottage 5 for four nights. Marke, the owner- manager showed us all the assets of the cottage and welcomed us with a bottle of wine. The cottage is actually a relatively new studio with a bathroom, full kitchen and queen bed in an alcove. All was very comfortable in a lovely forested setting with a beautiful water feature on the grounds. There was great cable and wifi and the bed was comfortable and the bathroom very nice. My two slight problems was that the kitchen "utensils" were sparse and the studio set up was distracting if you are a light sleeper as the refrigerator went off and on during the night. There were not adequate pans, wine glasses or knives. I would definitely return again with some of my won equipment and better ear plugs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and privacy
Liked least: lack of kitchen utensils
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyLady...
Crescent City, California
2 reviews
“Romantic getaway!”
Reviewed January 12, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We had a great time in our luxurious cabin. Everything was very clean, like new. The atmosphere was serene and wonderfully private. Mark, the owner, was very gracious and welcoming. My husband and I fell in love with the charming ocean side village of Trinidad and look forward to returning in the future.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
forwardth...
Sonoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven in the Woods”
Reviewed November 23, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

After perusing the many listings for accommodations in Trinidad, I decided to take a chance on The Golden Eagle Cabins. After discussing preferences with the owner, Marke, who was away from home himself, he recommended Cabin #5, and effortlessly completed the transaction. What we discovered was a place of privacy and tranquility that exceeded expectations. .For example, I had inquired about a blender, and a brand new one was provided. A complimentary bottle of wine was waiting. The quality, construction and design of the cabins is first rate. The décor and bed were fantastic. (A dishwasher too).! Sitting on the porch, watching the night sky and listening to distant sea lions was magical. Quiet, private and perfect. We sincerely look forward to returning soon Thank you Marke!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having expectations exceeded
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amafiJ
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway Retreat - A Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

"I searched far and wide for the perfect getaway retreat and found a secluded hidden gem, the Golden Eagle Vacation Rentals in Trinidad, CA. The five luxury cabins near a state park and tucked away in a wooded area have very reasonable rates! Marke Matthews, our gracious host, enhanced the already beautiful wooded surroundings on his property with a man made pond, complete with a waterfalls mingling with the subtle sounds of nature. We enjoyed our complementary bottle of wine sitting by the waterfalls. A quick walk across the road took us through Patrick’s Point State Park. A short drive North revealed Prairie Grove Redwoods State Park, where we viewed Elk at Elk Meadows, hiked the coastal trail at Klamath Outlook to Hidden Beach, and visited the local surrounding beaches and beautiful harbor in Trinidad, CA. We look forward to staying at Golden Eagle Cabins in the near future. Golden Eagle is a place you will want to visit again, especially after meeting Marke, a very kind and courteous host."

Juliet & Jerehmy

Los Angeles, CA

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Property, cabin and owner was kind and gracious
Liked least: Not a thing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing