We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation for Redwoods explorers”
Review of Trinidad Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trinidad Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Bad Homburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good accommodation for Redwoods explorers”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The motel-style inn is located in a small redwood forest, so you can expect quiet nights (if your neighbours don’t have a merry party outside near one of the BBQs).
With a car it’s only minutes to the picturesque village of Trinidad itself.
The beautiful garden is well cared for.
The office has very flexible check-in times (9am -8pm).

Room
We stayed in room 9 which unfortunately had no fridge. It is spacious enough, and the mattress is okay. The walls seem to be a bit thin. The table is a bit small but at least there was one. Everything was clean. The additional set of towels was appreciated. The bathroom has a window which can be opened.
It is not possible to get the room completely dark if you prefer to sleep in darkness, because there are small windows in the door.

Breakfast
We didn’t expect to get any breakfast, so it was a pleasant surprise that it was included. There is no breakfast room. You just go to the pavilion and fetch some coffee/ tea, muffins/ cake and fruits. It was nothing special but better than no breakfast.

Summary
We paid 75 USD per night for 2 persons – I call that good value for money! I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    41
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
29
79
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The Trinidad inn was perfectly located for us while we were visiting Redwoods National Park, and we really enjoyed having a full kitchen, since there aren't a whole lot of restaurants in the area. There is a grocery store just down the road in Trinidad if you need to pick something up to cook. There was a communal fire pit outside, which we loved. One of the families staying there had started the fire earlier in the day, but they were leaving when we walked outside at 9pm, so we had a fire to ourselves, on which we roasted marshmallows. It was a lot of fun. Breakfast in the morning was a bit lacking, unfortunately. The muffins appeared to be from CostCo and when I arrived at 7:30am, I got the last cup of coffee. Although I had no service on my cell phone (AT&T), the inn had free wireless internet that worked well from my room (room 5).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twoandtwomakes5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed 3 nights this month and every night they were filled. What makes this a strong recommendation is the setting in a redwood grove, a kitchen where we could prepare food as needed, a clean, working gas grill, picnic tables, flowers and lovely gardens and hospitable staff people smiling and eager to help at every turn. Yes, it could use some updating, totally reminded me of motels we would stay in 40 years ago, but the beds were new, linens were fresh and good quality, so no complaints. It is just far enough from the coast that you get a few wisps of fog, but mostly blue sky. Host provided us with excellent dining tips for Carmela's Mexican food in McKinleyville, Murphy's Market just down the road and the cafe in their parking lot...The Lighthouse? had great food. We enjoyed exploring Patricks Pt Park, Prairie Creek Redwoods and Trinidad beach, loved it all. For the price this place is a gem, can't imagine paying 3x the rate for the BandBs up the road.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AZFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Easy access off 101, clean rooms, efficient staff, wonderfully quiet...certainly nicer than a room in the city of Eureka. Grounds are well laid out, in the redwoods, wonderful for kids. Will definitely stay there again, best value in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fannie222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was a good place to stay, it had a couple details that made it more interesting than other places, but not that much. We had stayed at Crescent City on our trip down to SF from Portland and we wanted to stay somewhere to visit more redwoods. The place was pretty, but not that impressive. There was a little place for bonfire, but if you are exploring around the whole day that might be the last thing you will think about. The breakfast was unimpressive, literally muffins, fruit and coffee. It is very close to a grocery store and to a restaurant (which turned out to be very fine dinning), so I might still recommend this place, but don't get your expectations too high from their website (I know me and my wife did).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matias L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed a night at the Trinidad Inn on the journey from Portland to San Francisco. We were out of season, so the place was very quiet - the town looked liked everyone had gone away for the winter. Our room also seemed a little bit like we might have been the first guests of the season and could have done with airing. The room itself was comfortable, and the kitchen equipped with everything we needed, although with no kitchen door some blinds on the window could be useful to keep the early morning light out.

Breakfast muffins were a very nice treat!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWelshRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Good value clean and comfortable:
stayed one night on route from SF to Seattle. Well located a little off the 101, but a little out of Trinidad. Quiet and comfortable rooms. Breakfast a little disappointing, restuarants a close drive. Good value.
But they won't take bookings by email, you have to phone - a pain when the time difference is 8 hours...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ral32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
2.8 mi away
View Crest Lodge
View Crest Lodge
#1 of 4 in Trinidad
196 reviews
21.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
19.1 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
20.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
12.9 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinidad Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinidad Inn

Property: Trinidad Inn
Address: 1170 Patricks Point Dr, Trinidad, CA 95570-8751
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Trinidad
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Trinidad Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinidad Hotel Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing