We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We frequent here...”
Review of Moonstone Grill

Moonstone Grill
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Eureka, Ca
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We frequent here...”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Moonstone is a staple of Humboldt County. It has fabulous views. We have mostly had good experiences here, but there have been occasions (yes, a handful of times) in which our food was not cooked to order and had to be sent back. So while the food was recooked and redelivered, everyone else in the party had finished eating. It was very disappointing on each occasion. I think they ride on their reputation/view, as no apology was ever offered or compensation. And as a local I felt embarrassed in front of my guests. The staff is not really down to earth.They don't strive to go above and beyond with customer service, it is decent. Yet, besides those times, we have had many good meals too where the food was great and we had no complaints. And we will continue to go back because it is the VIEW that really worth it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank finewine35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    59
    15
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A pleasant meal but...”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We dined at sunset but were seated next to the wall so that viewing was difficult. We waited quite a while before a server came to the table but once we ordered the drinks and starters came quickly. I ordered the local King salmon--the portion was small and a bit overcooked (dried out at the edges) with only a little sauce and way too much orzo. Two others in my group ordered the big-eye tuna and their dishes were much higher in quality, with an interesting seaweed salad as part of the side dish. The fourth person ordered the grill's special burger but the restaurant had run out. The sweet potato pound cake we shared for dessert was very good and the wine list was also very nice. The beer selection was small and did not feature as many local beers as we had hoped. The bathroom (there is only one) also was not as clean as it might have been.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KayCeeID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had dinner here last night with friends from out of town. We were very disappointed in the food. The halibut was dried out and stuck to the parchment, the rib eye was so tough that it was hard to cut and had little flavor. The special Hawaiian fish for the day was over cooked. The salads were good but nothing to write home about. I doubt if we will be back. Thank goodness we could rely on Fieldbrook Winery for a nice wine.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodEvaluator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
“Good Food Bad Attitude”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The food was very good and our waiter was also very good. However, the Maitre De had a bad attitude. We called for a reservation two days in advance and we were told that 7:30pm was not available but that 7:00pm was available. That was fine, so we booked a table for two at 7:00pm. We arrived precisely at 7:00pm and were brusquely told a table was not ready and we could have a seat at the bar. Which we did. Right after we were seated at the bar another couple came in and they were immediately seated at a very nice table with a view of the ocean. Right behind us at the bar was an unoccupied table. Clearly not very desirable. I assumed the Maitre De was waiting to offer a better table. That table by the bar remained open the entire 25 minutes we were at the bar. After 25 minutes at the bar the Maitre De sent over a waiter to tell us our table was ready. The waiter said it was the table right behind us at the bar which had been available the whole time.

I questioned the waiter about this and asked to speak to the Maitre De. The Maitre De made some inadequate excuses about trying to accommodate requests for window seats. He offered another table which he said was "way in the back." When I asked why we had to wait almost a half hour when tables were available the whole time, if he was only going to offer undesirable choices he suddenly had a window table for us. There was no sharp language on anyones part, but there was also no apology from the Maitre De. The waiter was very apologetic and provided professional service.

The next day at breakfast, at the Inn where we were staying, we talked to another couple who indicated they had been treated shabbily by the Maitre De.

If you are going to go to this restaurant go on a day that is not busy.

My wife and I enjoy fine dining. Having grown up in New York City and dined in many of the major cities in the world we are used to better treatment. The Moonstone Grill may be the hottest thing in Trinidad, California but the Maitre De needs to adjust his attitude. This isn't Paris.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Ocean View”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Lovely restaurant with a great view. The fish was fresh and steak was a generous cut of prime.
It is at the southern end of Trinidad. Best approached from the highway rather than the coastal road, as the road is in poor shape with one lane at spots.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oshawott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moonstone Grill also viewed

Trinidad, Humboldt County
 
Trinidad, Humboldt County
Trinidad, Humboldt County
 

Been to Moonstone Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing