We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trinidad Bay Bed & Breakfast Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Trinidad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Park City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“A special place”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

The location and peacefulness of this precious little house is very special. You can't help but take a long deep breath. We only stayed one night and appreciate the policy to be able to do so or we would have not had the pleasure of experiencing this tiny town on the coast. Breakfast was well done and Jason tried to accommodate our dietary request. We stayed in the Crab Pot room which had a spectacular window seat that we watched the sunrise from. The bathroom was terribly small and shower was almost impossible so we would recommend another room if the bathrooms are different. Stop by the little wine tasting place right behind the property as well.

Room Tip: We had the Crab Pot room. A very small bathroom and shower. Really really small. If available I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidadian, Innkeeper at Trinidad Bay Bed & Breakfast Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
The bathroom in Crab Pot is small--next time we will get you in a larger bathroom.

We never have a two night minimum because we like to share Trinidad with as many people as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    29
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
190
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mendocino, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

The Trinidad Bed and Breakfast definitely lives up to the hype! An amazingly beautiful setting and top drawer service and accommodations. When we requested extra bedding for our daughter, Jason was able to put together a wonderful bed in the bay window of the charming Crab Pot room. Jason's recommendations and breakfasts were also spot on. Thanks Jason and Mike, we'll be back and tell our friends and family about what a treasure we have discovered.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesMendocino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidadian, Innkeeper at Trinidad Bay Bed & Breakfast Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Crab Pot is a very popular room because of that special bed in the dormer window--happy we could accomodate you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

The most charming and romantic B&B you'll ever find with amenities that live up to a 5-star hotel. Breathtaking views of the ocean, comfortable bed, delicious breakfast delivered to your room, the best-smelling shower gel in the world and the plushest towels. Our room (Trinity Alps) included a kitchenette so we could make coffee, tea, had a microwave and a fridge, too. Extra comfy reading chairs by the windows to read or admire the view. The B&B offers all sorts of reading materials about the area and tons of games to play with should you decide to stay in.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tkamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidadian, Innkeeper at Trinidad Bay Bed & Breakfast Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
We are very happy you liked all of the amenities. We work hard to find the best amenities at a good value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortuna,CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We have stayed here 3 times now, and each time it just gets better and better. This place is absolutely breathtaking and amazing. We are both Humboldt County Natives and believe this to be the best place to stay south of the Oregon border. What a beautiful little gem this Bed and Breakfast is.

The Location: You couldn't get closer to the Ocean if you tried. We would crack the window at night and let the fresh air and sounds of the Ocean lull us to sleep. This location is very centrally located to all of the great hiking and site seeing places for the out of town folk. You are literally minutes away from Patrick’s Point State Park, Wedding Rock, Luffenholtz, Camel Rock, and Moonstone. The list goes on and on, not to mention the less than 3 minute walk to Trinidad Head.

The Food: Jason prepares a wonderful, filling and presentable breakfast. Everything is made from scratch and you can see the effort that goes into the dishes. Jason is also very accommodating to any food allergies and such. He has fresh cookies when you check in, and they are absolutely to die for!!!!! Warm, moist and chewy. He also makes sure to have tea, water, and coffee available any time during the stay. I remember coming back from a hike after breakfast and wanting water, and when we walked in there it was iced and ready to go.

Rooms: The rooms are tastefully decorated and luxurious. The bed is so comfortable, plush and warm. Sleeping on high thread count sheets like the ones they have here is a real treat. I don't recall ever used towels as soft as the ones they have here, but something I will now be on the hunt for. The rooms have everything you could possibly need for an overnight visit. Jason has definitely thought of everything!

Inn Keeper: Jason runs an awesome B&B and is very knowledgeable about the area. Anything you need help with and he's there with an answer. He is very unassuming but you can tell thoroughly enjoys the job and local area. You couldn't have found a better fit for this lovely place.

Overall, this place is amazing, beautiful,peaceful,and romantic! Make the trip, you won't be disappointed. Can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: The Redwoods Room has the best view in my opinion!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidadian, Innkeeper at Trinidad Bay Bed & Breakfast Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for the your fantastic review--looking forward to your 4th visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos
Level 6 Contributor
514 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

When we arrived at the B&B our first reaction was you couldn't have a better location for a B&B. Our second reaction, looking at the house, was how could this place get so many great reviews. We reserved the Trinity Alps room with its own entry on the second level. When we first entered the room we still had our doubts. As we settled in and looked at the beautiful views of the coast line we began to see what a special place this was. We went exploring the town and bay and came back later in the afternoon. We settled into our comfortable chairs and more of our doubt melted away. Any doubt that was left, completely dissolved when we retired to bed that night. What "comfortable" bed and bedding. My wife felt that she got the best night's sleep, ever! We were sold! This is a very special place. The breakfast that Jason brought to our room in the morning brought another (!). Simple but delicious. We left feeling like this had been one our best B&b adventures.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidadian, Innkeeper at Trinidad Bay Bed & Breakfast Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Glad we could be a part of one of your best B & B adventures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed here two nights and despite it raining much of the time, we loved it. The Tidepool room was very bright so even when it was dreary outside, if felt bright inside. The sheets and towels were REALLY nice and the bed way comfortable. Very tastefully decorated (no floral patterns or mismatched antiques here!) Breakfast was delicious, unique and not too much. The innkeeper was friendly but not intrusive, realizing we were there to be with each other and not chitchat with others.

The Tidepool room has a private front patio, from which we bundled up and drank our coffee in the morning sun. Soooo relaxing. We walked across the street and right down to the beach, and left feeling relaxed! It is a bit pricey, but heck, you are as close to the water as you can be without camping on the beach and the accommodations feel luxurious. Would totally recommend!

Room Tip: Tidepool room has a private patio and lots of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2011

From an exceptionally comfortable bed to its convenient location and just a short walk away from fabulous wine tasting and a secluded beach, Trinidad Bay Bed and Breakfast exceeded our expectations at every step. The themed decor was subtly tasteful and location appropriate, afternoon snacks and breakfasts were delicious and not your usual fare. Breakfast was attractively presented and of the finest quality. Hospitality and service was personalized (but non-intrusive) with extra attention to the smallest of details, and continuously served straight from the heart (genuine).

We would recommend this place to anyone seeking a unique and affordable vacation next to the ocean. Trinidad offers a small town experience with huge views of the pacific and Trinidad Bay.

Any time of year you will find Trinidad Bay B&B a great value and home away from home.

Room Tip: Trinity Alps room has an incredible view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leisyka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
4.4 mi away
View Crest Lodge
View Crest Lodge
#1 of 4 in Trinidad
202 reviews
17.6 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
716 reviews
19.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
18.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Eureka
11.3 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinidad Bay Bed & Breakfast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinidad Bay Bed & Breakfast Hotel

Property: Trinidad Bay Bed & Breakfast Hotel
Address: 560 Edwards Street, Trinidad, CA 95570
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Trinidad
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Trinidad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trinidad Bay Bed & Breakfast Hotel is a beautiful Cape Cod style home overlooking Trinidad Bay and the Memorial Lighthouse in the heart of Trinidad, California. The B&B has four comforting guest rooms, each with a California king size bed, private bath and spectacular ocean, bay, and garden views. The rooms are named and designed to reflect local attractions - Tide Pool, Redwoods, Trinity Alps, and Crab Pot - adding to the charm of this delightful seaside home. Start your day with a hearty 3 course served breakfast and some fun conversation, before heading to the local beaches or nearby Redwood National and State parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Trinidad Bay Bed & Breakfast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinidad Bay Hotel Trinidad
Trinidad Bay Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing