We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfection”
Review of Sea Cliff Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trinidad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea Cliff Motel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Trinidad
Certificate of Excellence
Elephant Butte, New Mexico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Almost perfection”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

OK, I know there have been many reviews of this motel.....we found it to be to our liking...rustic...informal....inviting. Our hosts, Bob and Tobi were delightful and saw to our every need. They have been hosts here for ten years. I would give a full five points, except for the need to call to book....and for the spotty internet. No big deal.....we dealt with it and had a lovely time. Build a fire in the fire pit. Roast some marshmallows or frankfurters....relax, relax, relax. We highly recommend this place as a getaway unparalleled among the others on the redwood trail.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dpbarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    34
    16
    7
    11
See reviews for
41
61
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We made our way from Sacramento CA to Victoria Canada on a 10 day vacation. Out of all the hotels in our 3000 mile drive, this hotel gave me the BEST nights sleep. I even emailed them to ask what pillows they had so I can get that kind of comfort at home! Such a great deal for the price.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vandenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We have stayed here several times and were always happy. The owners are back in charge and we had a great stay. We booked last minute and had to squeeze our twin 2-yr olds, 2 dogs and ourselves into their smallest room. Not ideal but we made it work. Owners were great to us and Mr. Kody was fun to play with.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Forester265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We just stayed for the second time here and enjoyed it as much as the first. Almost feels like you are visiting Grandma Hazel...cozy rooms, friendly staff, beautiful gardens and close to everything! We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clevermabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Valley, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Very cozy comfortable place to stay the owner are absolutely amazing nice people
Our room had full kitchen/fridge had all the comforts of home and all the little touches to make it special every night a fire was ready for us in the fire pit plus fresh flowers and candles outside our doors was awesome great place for a family to stay, also so much to do around! Definitely will come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallon, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here 1 night on our way up the coast. The owners, Bob & Toby were very nice, down to earth people who were a joy to visit with. Our room was small, clean & cozy, just what we needed for the evening. We drove about a mile or two down the road & had a nice dinner at the Lighthouse Inn, which was very good and affordable as well. We would recommend Sea Cliff Motel and would stay there again if ever in the area.

Room Tip: Only 5-6 rooms total, very small motel. Some rooms such as ours was just for 2 people, but they hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of their cottages and it was a great, simple room! The staff was wonderful while we were there and even after when we discovered we had left a beloved teddy bear! Thanks again for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieWednesday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trinidad
1.9 mi away
View Crest Lodge
View Crest Lodge
#1 of 4 in Trinidad
194 reviews
22.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Bayshore Inn
20.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt Bay Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
Carter House Inns
Carter House Inns
#4 of 21 in Eureka
697 reviews
13.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Arcata, CA
1.6 mi away
Emerald Forest Cabins & RV
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Cliff Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cliff Motel

Property: Sea Cliff Motel
Address: 1895 Patricks Point Dr, Trinidad, CA 95570-9706
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Humboldt County > Trinidad
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Trinidad
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Sea Cliff Hotel Trinidad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing