We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but a few drawbacks”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clovelly
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Clovelly Lodge Guest Apartments
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very good but a few drawbacks”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here in high season and found the value for money to be reasonable. The location is hit-and-miss. If you want to get down to Cape Point and Cape of Good Hope, it is ideal. You can leave in the morning and arrive before all the tourists come in from Cape Town city. If you want to feel the night life of the city it is a bit far out to drive back and forth all the time.

As others have said, the apartment was very spacious and clean with an open floor plan. Beds were comfortable. Equipment provided was adequate and met our needs. We never met the lady owner, but Barry was quite friendly and offered lots of "locals" tips and explained the history of the area. Cleaning supplies provided for the kitchen were a nice extra, as many self-catering units do not include them. They also provided a mini shampoo and bar of soap with the towels. ...BUT...

Now to the drawbacks - If you need a dark room to sleep, you will not find it here. The curtains are sheer/see through and it's still rather bright even in the middle of the night. Plus you have no privacy at night when the lights are on. The curtains are lovely, but they really should have liners you can pull to darken the room and for privacy. The towels smelled of mildew and one of the bath mats had what looked like black mold on the bottom side. There are not enough towel bars to properly hang each towel to get completely dry. Recommend providing a small standing towel rack in addition to the few built-in ones.

We might return again. The lack of curtain liners was a drawback for us, but maybe for others it would not be a big deal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trav-Bug222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Partner at Clovelly Lodge Guest Apartments, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and thanks for your review. We knew the curtains in that room were quite light, but we didn’t realise they were a privacy issue. Apologies, have since sorted them out. Offending bathmat also gone. Thanks again for your feedback. Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    21
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
24
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paphos
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We enjoyed our luxury accommodation in a beautiful and relaxed environment, with wonderful mountain, sea and valley wetlands views from balconies and wide windows. Easy access to nearby shopping facilities and interesting places to visit; fabulous birdlife and a window height aerial battle between a crow and an eagle on our first morning! Good driving alternatives via Noordhoek while road works temporarily restrict traffic through Kalk Bay, and evening drives into Cape Town for world class ballet, opera and theatre taking less than half an hour. Very hospitable welcome from our hosts and a comfortably secure feeling throughout our stay were big pluses and we intend to return regularly. William Berdy

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda P, Partner at Clovelly Lodge Guest Apartments, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thanks so much for your review William :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

we really enjoyed the apartment and the spacious accommodation. our hosts were very welcoming and full of interesting tips and local information. Great views over the reserve, lovely and quiet and very relaxing and well equiped. Would definately return. Top marks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Clovelly. The unit was huge with a formal dining room and a huge living room. We even had laundry facilities. Our unit had 2 decks. One off the dining room and the other off of the living room. We spent a lot of time out on these decks. The beds were comfortable. The owners were generous and gave us the winter rate even though we were staying during the spring. It was a great value and well worth it.
I did read other reviews that mentioned that there apartment was cold. There is not central heating in these units (at least none that I could find). and you just have space heaters to keep warm. Sometimes our space heater had a hard time keeping our space warm. I can't imagine staying here in the winter time. Maybe they have other units that are not so large and you might be able to stay warm. I also have read a couple of reviews about the owners not being very friendly. We had a very positive experience with the owners. They gave us some great recomendations and were very helpful. We did tell them what time we would be arriving and when we arrived our unit was not ready and the owners said that we were early. We just went and had lunch and everything worked out.
I truly did love this place. My tastes are very simple and I do not need a lot to make me comfortable. Certainly, if you need matching curtains and bedspreads-this is not the place for you. If you want lots of room in a great location and having the ocean a short 5 minute walk away-then this is your place.
If you do go to Clovelly ask Barry about what vineyards to visit. We visited a great winery as per his suggestion. Also, go to The Olympia cafe and have dinner, this was also a suggestion from Barry.
I really would love to go back to Clovelly but don't think I can spend 17 hours on a plane again.

Room Tip: I really liked the center 2 bedroom unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012

What a beautiful place to stay. We have just returned from our honeymoon at Clovelly & intend on going back soon. The lodge is situated between Kalk Bay & Fishoek & is a friendly neighbourhood to be in. We were even lucky enough to see whales in the bay between Fishoek and Simons Town. You have everything you need there & the owners (Linda & Barry) are so friendly and helpful!!! There are so many things to do, from Boulders Beach where you can swim with the Penguins, to The Polana (Kalk Bay Harbour) a very layed back resturant on the beach front with panaromic views of the sea, stunning & great food!!! Imoff Farm another attraction that we found nearby about a 10 min drive from the lodge where you can experience horse back riding on the beach. Even Cape Point isn't to far from the lodge around 40min drive. The other tourist desitinations (tours) are in Cpt central however not a far drive around, 25 min to get there. But the great part is you are able to come "home" to the peace and tranquilty of Clovelly at night, away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre. Really a beautiful place to stay!! As for the apartements they are spacious and well equiped, a very comfortable stay. We will definately be going back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We stayed at the self-catering part of this lodge. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. One bedroom was huge and had a wonderul view of the nearby Silvermine reserve. The bathroom for this room is across the hall and next to the well equipped kitchen. The other bathroom in our flat was en-suite and the downside this time was that the bedroom was small and had no outlook.
There is a spacious patio and a big deck with panoramic views of the distant sea. There is a free laundry room and a diswasher...but no tablets, salt or rinse aid. Crockery and cutlery are a little sparse but adequate as long as you are prepared to wash up after each meal. The lounge area is exceptionally comfortable and relaxing. Fish Hoek and Kalk Bay are easy to reach. You need a car to make the most of this location and it is not suitable for anyone with any mobility problem. The handbook is very helpful as is Barry, the owner.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room facing the Silvermine area and with a patio rather than a deck alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arnorab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We stayed at Clovelly Lodge in November 2010 (8 nights) and again in March 2011 (6 nights) in the self-catering accommodation.
We love the location - you are a short walk away from the beach and Kalk Bay with its great restaurants and easy harbour atmosphere. It is easy drive to the down town Cape Town as well as to the wine lands.
The apartment is basic, but sufficiently equipped. It was bit humid in the ground level apartment we stayed in – it took us few days to get rid of the mildew smell (same for the towels and it was not better when the new ones arrived). Probably the apartment was not used for some time before our departure. When the weather was nice, we enjoyed the secluded patio.
Unfortunately this time we have to agree with previous reviews in regard to the owners that they do NOT make you feel welcome and in certain way make you feel like they are doing you a favour to have you stay with them – we were told that we were lucky to book the apartment as somebody just canceled the booking, but when we arrived the rest of the apartments stayed empty for most of the time. There were few strange interactions regarding our wrongly parked car and maid service. We were charged more per night this time compare to the price 4 months ago despite the same season (pricewise) and it did not make good value/price performance sense anymore.
This is typical example of place that could be pleasant should the owners change their attitude realizing they work in hospitality industry.
We will stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CZE-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clovelly Lodge Guest Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clovelly Lodge Guest Apartments

Property: Clovelly Lodge Guest Apartments
Address: 3 Montrose Avenue, Clovelly 7975, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Clovelly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Clovelly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Clovelly Lodge Guest Apartments Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing