We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Memorable Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Vandees Boutique B & B
Ranked #1 of 1 Aghalee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed with Jean-Paul on our journey through Ireland. We were sad that we missed meeting Noreen as they are obviously a special couple who have created a beautiful and unique home.
Every possible need has been thought of, with a super comfortable bed with feather duvet and pillows, a well appointed bathroom with fluffy towels and every extra one might wish for.
Jean-Paul made a recommendation and a booking for dinner for us and even offered to run us there.
Breakfast was served to a background of Irish music which we took away as a CD.
This is a gorgeous place to stay, and we were sorry that we could not stay a little longer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 71 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

Noreen and JP welcomed me into their home and I immediately became part of their family. Their warmth and hospitality made my stay into one of the most unforgettable experiences I have ever had. Nothing was too much trouble and their friendliness and love of people was apparent. I long to go back there sometime and would rate this as highly as I can.

Room Tip: Alll rooms are amazing and have their own unique charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeslt55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for the night, after going to a wedding in Rivervale Barn. Our stay was fantastic, we wished we could have stayed another few nights. Everything about the B&B was totally unique, amazing art work and lovely decor. The bedrooms were total luxury, with great attention to detail. The beds were really comfy, and the power shower in the morning was just the ticket! Breakfast was delicious, with fresh fruit, a perfect fry, and homemade banana bread to finish. The owners made us feel so welcome, they were totally accommodating in every way. We can't wait to visit again and we will be telling all our friends to check it out for a luxurious and relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fussy_starvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed with Noreen and JP at their wonderful B&B for a weekend treat... And what a treat it was! The welcome was warm and the house a fantastic boutique experience. Our room was beautifully appointed, with amazing attention to detail, and with the bathroom putting some of the best hotels I have stayed in to shame. We went out for dinner on Saturday night, and our hosts were kind enough to drop us off, and pick us up from the restaurant - Now that's what I call customer service! We arose late to, what I can only describe as, the best breakfast I have ever had. We were waved off sometime after the great 'full Irish' start to our Sunday by our hosts, but we will be back! I cannot recommend the Vandees enough. Thank you Noreen and JP - see you again soon!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tigers729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We were looking for a quiet, relaxing place to stay and chose the Vandees B&B. We were not disappointed. The location is tranquil and the room was lovely and furnished in a very individual way.
There were lots of special touches including homemade biscuits in the room and a welcome drink was offered. We received a very warm welcome from JP and Noreen and they gave us an excellent recommendation for dinner. The breakfast next day was of excellent quality including a beautiful fruit salad and quality sausage. The presentation was excellent. We wished we could have stayed longer and had time to explore the local area.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank siebeivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2011

My wife and I found this hidden gem by chance. Recently arrived in Larne from Scotland on a touring holiday of Ireland, we found the Vandees just 30 minutes down the road. We were delighted by the decor and ambience. Noreen and Jean-Paul were charming and we felt instantly relaxed and at home - nothing was too much trouble. Our short tour of ireland will include a return stop-over at The Vandees - we thoroughly recommend this accommodation to fellow travellers.

Room Tip: Art lovers and quirky collectors will be enthrall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jrusk3865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank laurafaccini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Vandees Boutique B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vandees Boutique B & B

Address: 2C Lime Kiln Lane, Aghalee BT67 0EZ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Armagh > Aghalee
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Aghalee
Price Range: $117 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vandees Bed and Breakfast is an idyllic rural retreat owned by Jean Paul and Noreen Van der Velde. Described as going "beyond the bizarre" their unique and individually styled home was chosen to feature in the BBC House of the Year program. Just recently opened and bordering on the edge of Co Armagh/Antrim and Down, The Vandees is ideally located to explore and visit most major attractions in Northern Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Vandees Boutique B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing