We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty!”
Review of Clenaghans - CLOSED

Clenaghans
Price range: $37 - $61
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tasty!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had a meal here at the weekend and the food was fantastic! As for the menu, there wasn’t as big a variety as some diners would like - there were no chicken dishes but there was lots of seafood on offer. We both opted for a steak which was cooked beautifully. Our deserts were very tasty too! The restaurant itself is lovely...very quaint! It was a dark, cold evening when we arrived so it was lovely to have a candle-lit dinner in a warm, cosy restaurant. Some people had parked on the road but there is a car park round the back. The building is beautiful and the pathway from the car park to the door was well lit. The staff were very friendly and helpful which always makes a difference. A lovely place to relax for an evening - we'll definitely be back here for another steak!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    19
    9
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fantastic Retreat!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

A group of four of us went for the deal that Clenaghans promote which is £120 per couple to include a two course meal in the restaurant, an overnight stay in one of their apartments and breakfast the next morning. I cannot express how much good value this deal is!!! £60 per person!! The hospitality shown by owner Claire was so friendly and welcoming from our arrival and this carried right through until we left. The food was excellent and of a very high standard. This is definitely not just "good pub food"! Presentation and flavour was just superb. Our apartment was spacious and homely. We even had an old fashioned dentist chair in the lounge and the roll top bath was amazing. Every nook and cranny is just so quirkly and highly enjoyable. I couldn't recommend Clenaghans highly enough for a romantic get away (just 15 mins drive from Belfast) or for a group of friends catching up over old times. I can't wait to visit Clenaghans again! There are only a few apartments available and these are booked well in advance so be sure to make a reservation early to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank McAuley2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food & great”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is such a great place to eat, especially for a special occasion as it is a bit expensive. The food is amazing and the atmosphere lovely. Staff are very nice too.

Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“out of the ordinary”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Even as one approaches the building there is a sense that this will be something out of the ordinary, and it is. Entering the building (the door is at the side) one gets a sense of a bye-gone era, and impressed by the authenticity. The service is efficient, professional and helpful. We decided to go for goat’s cheese to start, and it was excellent. For main course we selected steak and sometimes we have been disappointed when it is not what we expected. Not this time! This was one of the best steaks we ever had, it was that good. Simply put, the food was wonderful and beautifully presented. There was no rush through courses. We were there mid-week and the restaurant was busy which speaks for itself. A very pleasant evening and one that we hope to repeat sometime.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ballindrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong (UK exPAT)
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

What a lovely place, beautiful bar area and lovely staff.

Food was beautiful.

Wish the wine list was a bit more extensive, but definitely will return

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ginnser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing