We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Torrance
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Reviewed May 9, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Emery V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (521)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

234 - 240 of 521 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

First time staying at this Howard Johnson's. I would've given it a higher rating if they had better Wi-FI. It was very weak, at best. They had very basic analog cable (no ESPN or any sports channels) for the NBA basketball and hockey playoffs. I was told that new cable boxes were be installed the very next day......which was a fabrication. It didn't happen and questioned them again......and was told by another employee that there was no such work order for cable boxes.
I guess lying was better than a confrontation with a patron since it was a long weekend stay.
If this is indicative of all Howard Johnson's......you've lost my future business.

I will say that the rooms were clean (though the furnishings were a bit dated and that it was centrally located to several venues.

2 stars that nobody likes being lied to. If you're going to tell untruths......be consistent so you don't get caught.

I moved next door to Residence Inn for the remainder of my one week stay.....sorry!

Room Tip: Wifi is not good....even if you're close to the office. It's very weak, at best. You defin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gordyc48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Ulrike B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The front desk service was very good. The room was clean. The AC/heater worked great. The breakfast was barely okay. The only thing to prevent us from returning was the terrible water pressure. It took way too long to saturate our hair and really reduced the value of the stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Excellent location to everywhere we wanted to go...Universal studios, Catalina Island, Venice, Redondo and Santa Monica Beach. Breakfast was better than expected. Waffles, danishes,bagels,cereal, oatmeal, juices and Coffee!! Room was clean. Had a microwave, mini fridge and coffee maker! Front desk staff were all very friendly and helpful. The price was excellent. The wifi worked perfectly. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Okay...free wifi (if your room happens to be near the office)
Breakfast - very minimal, not stocked
Torn lamp shades
Building needs maintenance
Air conditioning was tepid at best
Bathroom paint was sloppy with rust on the fixtures

If you're looking for a great place to stay...this is not it. It is in a decent area, and the bed was okay, but should have sprung for the few extra bucks to stay at the Marriott next door. Looked off of the dirty balcony and was more than a little jealous

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoTorrance, General Manager at Howard Johnson Torrance, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Douglas M:

Thank you very much for taking time to post a review about your stay. We strive to provide every guest with above average experience. Needless to say, I'm less than thrilled to hear that your stay was not superb. I would like to take the opportunity and kindly apologize forthe maintenance issues as indicated in your review. I have forwarded your comments to Housekeeping and Engineering departments for preventative maintenance, and once again my sincere apologies for the issues. If you find yourself in the area again, we hope to have the honor of serving you.

Inessa Udovchenko
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torrance hotels
3.9 mi away
Eldorado Inn & Suites
Eldorado Inn & Suites
#17 of 20 in Torrance
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Torrance Blvd.
2.4 mi away
Redac Gateway Hotel
Redac Gateway Hotel
#11 of 20 in Torrance
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Torrance Harbor Gateway
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Avita Suites
2 mi away
Super 8 Torrance LAX Airport Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Torrance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Torrance

Address: 3673 Torrance Blvd, Torrance, CA 90503-4804 (Formerly Ramada Limited)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Torrance
Price Range: $84 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Torrance 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Torrance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Torrance Hotel Torrance
Torrance Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing