We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My most current stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Torrance
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Antelope Acres
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My most current stay”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is about my 5th stay here in the last couple years! I always ask for 2 things, an early check in and a room nearer the front of the property ( tried to explain to the staff that while staying there by myself I would feel safer up front) there is NEVER a room available toward the front. Since I always arrive early seems there should be some allowance and I always make my reservation way in advance! I arrived around 1230pm and my room was not ready(supposedly no one had checked out yet even tho the parking lot was totally empty) so I came back at 300pm and explained what I would like, a room close to the front! She said they can't do that, but could give me a room with a balcony but its in the very rear of the hotel! What do I want with a balcony? So she came up with a room on the 2nd floor that was still toward the back! This was the manager and she spoke to me in a very condescending tone and was. trying hard not to roll her eyes! The room was nice and comfy as usual but I feel like a returning customer deserves to be treated with a little courtesy and respect! Even tho I like HOJO and I told the manager this, I doubt I will be back there! She really didn't care at all that she may lose a customer! (Due to a lack of good customer service)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brteyes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoTorrance, General Manager at Howard Johnson Torrance, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Brteyes1:

I was the manager you spoke during your check-in. I'm saddened to see you skewed the angle of the situation, but I appreciate the opportunity to respond.

You requested an early check-in, but like in many hotels, early check-ins are not guaranteed. Though we can never fully guarantee an early check-in, when we are able, we are more than happy to do so! I am glad we were eventually able to get you in and make the wait worth it!

As with the early check-ins, to guarantee a room at a certain location of the hotel is not always possible, even with the bookings made in advance. This is also like in many hotels. I was happy to offer you a complimentary upgrade to one of our biggest suites with a balcony, which you refused. Though I can certainly understand your overall unhappiness with the situation, our staff have always been trying to go above and beyond to accommodate our guest requests. When early check-ins are not possible to honor, we are happy to have our guests wait on the comfortable couches of our lobby and use the business center, while waiting for their room to get ready.

We hope you and your family have a safe and happy trip in all your future travels.

Inessa Udovchenko
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    167
    131
    35
    35
See reviews for
206
98
51
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

fine ok not great but fine for the money I would stay there again that is all I have to say good bye

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoTorrance, General Manager at Howard Johnson Torrance, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Barbara R:

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor! I'm glad you found your overall stay enjoyable. Here, at Howard Johnson, we strive to be your "home away from home," with our personalized service, clean rooms, free parking and breakfast. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again very soon.

Inessa Udovchenko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel for a weekend with my girlfriend.Very conveniently located close to the beach.Upon arrival the receptionist was very friendly and showed good customer service.The room was nice and clean.The shower and bath were excellent, good breakfast and really convenient parking.Great service and charming staff!
We obsolutely enjoyed our stay and will definitely come back here again .The best place to stay in Torrance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoTorrance, General Manager at Howard Johnson Torrance, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Bryan287:

Thank you so much for such a detailed and wonderful review about your stay! We know that you have many choices when it comes to hotels, and we are thrilled to know you chose Howard Johnson. Our location, clean rooms and great staff are the three biggest highlights of our hotel that make us so special. I'm delighted to know that our dedicated team were able to "wow" you on your first stay at Howard Johnson. Thank you for giving us the pleasure to serve you, and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Inessa Udovchenko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Stayed two nights on 21 July 2013. First night 10-20 youths, some booked in partied until 5.30 in the morning between rooms and in the corridors. This was despite two complaints to management.
Had to step around mess left in the corridor till late afternoon.
While the place was acceptable in relation to cleanleness and breakfast would not recommend on our experience
It is handy to mall and only few miles to the beach

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoTorrance, General Manager at Howard Johnson Torrance, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear rob l:

Thank you for taking time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I'm truly sorry to hear that you weren't able to enjoy your stay due to the noise from other guests. Please be assured that we read each and every review, as they give us opportunities to learn and improve our service. Please know your review is greatly appreciated.

Though we are not the newest hotel in the area, we can always rely on our wonderful service. It is extremely unusual for our guests to experience anything but restful and quiet stay, and it appears that we missed our opportunity to do that during your stay. We hope you will give us another chance to provide you with the service you deserve.

Thank you again for posting your review, and we hope your future travels are safe and enjoyable.

Inessa Udovchenko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torrance hotels

Sao Paulo, SP
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The staff was friendly as usual. The room was cleaned everyday. The only thing was the breakfast
room which was not as clean as it was the last time I had been there.The hotel is quiet and the parking lot is large.

Room Tip: the rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cilene303631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HojoTorrance, General Manager at Howard Johnson Torrance, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Cilene303631:

Thank you so much for not only writing a review on TripAdvisor but also for staying with us the second time! We always hope every guest has a unique and memorable experience, and I apologize for not meeting your expectations regarding the continental breakfast. Your comments have been discussed with the breakfast attendants. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Inessa Udovchenko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrance
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Avita Suites
0.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ramada Torrance
Ramada Torrance
#15 of 20 in Torrance
500 reviews
0.2 mi away
Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach
2.0 mi away
Redondo Inn and Suites
Redondo Inn and Suites
#10 of 19 in Redondo Beach
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Torrance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Torrance

Property: Howard Johnson Torrance
Address: 3673 Torrance Blvd, Torrance, CA 90503-4804 (Formerly Ramada Limited)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Torrance 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Torrance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Torrance Hotel Torrance
Torrance Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing