We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOJO in Torrance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Torrance
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
TORRANCE
1 review
“HOJO in Torrance”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very nice:
- Room, staff, breakfast, comfort...

Point to be improved:
- Internet with low speed and low signal in the room

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank CRISTIANOLEAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    167
    131
    35
    35
See reviews for
206
98
51
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2012

It was very nice Hotel when i was in a trip with my family there , Room is cleaned and freshed but the internet is so slow , i think they should upgrade it a little faster for their customers who might really need the internet while staying there .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank JIMMY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The 1st stay we were given 1 king size bed for a family of 4. The room was stink it smelled like a care home. The 2 nd stay a week later was ok-we were able to get 2 beds for the 4 of us. Was quite upset when I we placed the do not disturb sign went to eat breakfast went to the room and kids went to get ice and headed to the car, we left the room for the day and the sign was missing. The maid was cleaning the room next to ours so.....obviously she must of took it off and hid it so she didnt have to clean our room. Wen we got back to the hotel at midnight there was the sign ON The door with a note from the maid she didn't clean the room cause we left the sign hanging. Total BS. Front desk are super cool. Breakfast was simple and filling. Kinda weird when u used the waffle maker the lights went out. Parking was good, elevator was old and ice machine is straight up ghetto and moldy. No chair to sit on in room, sheets and blankets had hair and cigarette holes.

Room Tip: Pay a ill extra and stay next door @ the residence inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherie808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Torrance hotels

TORRANCE
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Area was nice to stay to go around LA !
Easy access to freeway and town is nice and calm and safe.

People were nice at hotel and friendly. I really enjoyed my stay here !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank LindaLAJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antelope Acres
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel before and did not have a problem. this time a couple of us had arrived at 12:30 and had already requested an early check in.. we were told the rooms weren't ready because the staff had gone to lunch, and were told it would be at least an hour. so, we waited and came back after an hour (the front desk person had said she would call us but had not at this point) so, we got to check in, and the 2 of us that checked in, were sent to rooms near the back of the hotel, I noticed the room was pretty clean and did some unpacking, when I went to the bathroom area there was a strong urine smell and also a strong cigarette smell.. since we were so late checking in, we had limited time to get ready and head out to our destination for the day, I went ahead and took a shower to get ready, and the smells did not go away, so, I called the front desk and told them about this issue, their response was, well, it is next to a smoking room, since I had requested a non smoking room, I thought it was odd that they would place me next to a smoking room. the girl asked if I wanted to change rooms or check out (without a penalty??) and, I said, I didn't care for the check out response, and thought that was out of line, since, at that late time, where else would I go! it didn't seem to matter! so, i changed rooms and it was much nicer, NO SMELLS.. the bed was comfy and it had a small regridgerator, good air conditioner, and was clean...... another person in our party had to change rooms because there were dead flies in the room. they explained that someone probably had the window open and the flies got in..
too many problems this time, we may have to look elsewhere next time we come for an event.. I also feel that possibly our placement of rooms may have been because we had a discount for the room...

Room Tip: make sure you if you want a NON SMOKING room to ask for one away from a SMOKING room.. the ventilati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brteyes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I have stayed at Howard Johnson in Torrance for 3 nights on past weekend. A friend of mine has booked a room for me because its so close to his house that's why I have stayed there.The location is great if you are looking for a hotel next to malls,outlet shops etc at Hawthorne Blvd. The room is enough for two persons and the hotel have provided free breakfast that the 3 star Park Inn in Vancouver and 4 star Radisson Airport in Los angeles have not offered. The air condition is old-fashioned and was not working even if it was working I am sure that it could work very noisy.I do not have many things to write about the hotel and I do not know do they charge for car park.There is no business center and it's a huge deficiency. I think to buy two or three p.c and a printer and set them on a place must not be a huge expense for the hotel management. The staff was kind. Anyway if you do not want to spend too much money for the hotels you can stay that budget hotel that's all I can say..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tolga23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Again writing from my hotel room. This is second time staying here in past 6 months. Place is worn out and not taken care of. inside elevators are torn apart and not fixed for a long time. Ice machine is broken and not working for a long time! ( Few months back was the same when I was here) I had to go to another floor to get some ice. No microwave in the room. Blanket has torn spots and bed is not comfortable at all. There is a desk in this room however there are only two outlets under it and both are taken by a lamp and TV! Therefore you can not work on your computer at the desk! Called front desk to ask for an electric splitter and they had none. Front desk clerk was amazed how come all outlets are used in the room by appliances and none left for customer use by the desk! I have stayed at other Howard Johnson hotels before but this one is one of a kind I guess!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farzin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrance
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Avita Suites
0.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
3.1 mi away
Ramada Torrance
Ramada Torrance
#15 of 20 in Torrance
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach
0.2 mi away
Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach
2.0 mi away
Redondo Inn and Suites
Redondo Inn and Suites
#9 of 19 in Redondo Beach
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Torrance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Torrance

Property: Howard Johnson Torrance
Address: 3673 Torrance Blvd, Torrance, CA 90503-4804 (Formerly Ramada Limited)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Torrance 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Torrance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Torrance Hotel Torrance
Torrance Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing