We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent for the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Torrance
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I stayed here with friends in June for a week and we were quite happy with the hotel. We stayed in a Howard Johnson in New York last year and were very happy so we decided that we would give them a go again. This hotel however wasn't as new and up to date as the one we stayed at in New York and from the outside it looks a little 'rough'. Once checked in you have to walk outside, through the car park, to use a lift to take you to your floor where you again have to go outside to then get to your room. The room was more than adequate and although very dated it was fine to get your rest at the end of a busy day in LA. There was a mall just across the road which we had read good things about before we went but we were less than impressed when we actually got there. A car is a must if you stay here because LA is very spread out and the public transport isn't that great. Its about 30mins drive to Hollywood blvd. To sum up the hotel was decent for the money and I wouldn't hesitate going back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexse46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

409 - 415 of 516 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2012

It was a nice stay during familly vacations last summer (august 2011). Good value for money, good access to everywhere, close to a nice beach (Redondo Beach), friendly staff and (a light) breakfast included in the price. Easy car parking. I recommend this hotel for a budget hollydays.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CristinaE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed for 2 days and was happy it was not longer. The room was in poor condition and needed a lot of repairs. Each part of the room needed attention, the walls needed painting, the tile in the entrance and shower were broken and cracked and the grout very dirty, the chair upholstery was torn, the carpet turned the bottom of my feet black, the lamp shades were ragged, thick dust was on top of the exposed pipe under the sink that had unraveling tape on it. The staff was nice and helpful. But over all a poor hotel.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights while visiting family in LA. The location is excellent as it's close to the beach and other attractions, and the room was very affordable. The staff and management were helpful and friendly, and the rooms were nice and clean. Plus, the continental breakfast every morning was good, especially the waffles. My family had a great experience, and we will definitely look to stay again on our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Great place to stay. Customer service is 10+ Location can't be better. The room is clean and has everything what you might need. We like it a lot. Safe, Clean, Cheap. Can't be better :)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richrotv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights on a business trip to the area.

The beds were hard and uncomfortable.
The walls were thin and you can hear the entire conversation of the room next door.
All in all, a pretty poor hotel. Not many redeeming qualities.
I did not try the continental breakfast during my stay.

Pros:
Free internet access.
Got is for a good price through a third party web site.
Close to lots of restaurants.

Cons:
Room was noisy and uncomfortable.
Carpet really needs to be replaced

All in all, I would only stay here again if I had to be down here and were unable to get a reservation anywhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave_the_Oracle_DBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

The room was very good and the staff was extra friendly , good location for shopping

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NagyWissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrance
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Torrance Blvd.
3.9 mi away
Eldorado Inn & Suites
Eldorado Inn & Suites
#17 of 20 in Torrance
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Avita Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Torrance Harbor Gateway
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Torrance - Del Amo Circle
2 mi away
Redondo Inn and Suites
Redondo Inn and Suites
#10 of 19 in Redondo Beach
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Torrance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Torrance

Address: 3673 Torrance Blvd, Torrance, CA 90503-4804 (Formerly Ramada Limited)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Torrance
Price Range: $100 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Torrance 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Torrance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Torrance Hotel Torrance
Torrance Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing