We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Between Average & Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
1 review
“Between Average & Very Good”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Overpriced but acceptable, unlikely good value for money. Hilton is always priced higher than other brands - but is the higher price commensurate with higher quality? No Perhaps this might change but when the economy tanks, quality goes out the window.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank verod786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hi Verod786,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your feedback on the Hilton Brand. We hope that your stay at the DoubleTree Torrance was enjoyable. We are proud to offer a location, convenient to Los Angeles, Long Beach, and Orange County as well as great local shopping and dining options. We see a lot of families who want to stay in a safer environment while exploring all that LA County has to offer. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you next time you visit the LA area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    286
    155
    64
    37
See reviews for
218
150
72
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

I went for an "executive" room, and asked for early check in, alas no room was available so I had ot drag my bags back to the car after a 12hrs + flight and drive around LA for a few hours. The room as nice and large and value for money, the fridge did not work so I had to call someone to come and have a look. He managed to get it going in the end. Water was turned off one night for maintenace, but a note was left which was good. I parked outside the room and it is good to have free parking, The washer and dryer are great, I could take my new clothes purchases and wash them before coming to the room, tip washing machine small load takes 27mins, large load 31 mins and the dryer takes 1 hour. The breakfast in the executive lounge is OK nothing flash. There are lots of resturants surrounding and a great mall, I had my hair cut and it was so cheap also went ot the movies one day as well.
On my last day I had a late flight so thought I would check out at required time 12pm, I put the do not disturb on the door, and had banging on my door at 9.40am which I was in my PJ's packing my bags. It turned out to be housekeeping demanding to know when I was leaving! What the hell, I advised that I would be leaving at 12 then she left - I was so annoyed, how rude! I told them when I checked out, and they said they would speak to management but nothing happened - I was never contacted which is disappointing as I am a HH member and went on to stay at 2 more Hilton properties after that. Would come back but would tell them at check in if do not disturb is on - dont knock at the door!

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and get an executive room, can be a bit noisy with airline crew drinking around the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lsimpsondusty49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hello Isimsondusty49,

Thank you so much for the thorough review. We will certainly remind our staff of the importance of respecting our guests’ Do Not Disturb signs and we would like to extend a apology for the oversight. We know that creating the perfect stay is all about the details. We hope to see you again next time you are in Los Angeles. We are always happy to welcome regular guests when they visit and we look forward to another chance to wow you and exceed your expectations.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Hotel is in need of a decor refresh, but it is clean & quiet - as wel as convenient to the airport, to the highway, to dining, and to enertainment. Very good for aone or two night stay if you are visitng the immediate area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Denis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hi Denis G,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your experience. Our location draws in guests year after year to experience the best of the South Bay and Los Angeles. We are always happy to hear that our guests have found the way to the great local shopping, dining, and entertainment.
We hope to see you back again in the future and we thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2014

This hotel is horrible. No water the entire morning, breaksfat RS order misplaced. Had to head to meeting w/o having brushed my teeth or showered. At least weater bottles shouldf have been delivered to rooms so guests could brush their teeth. At check out their was no apology, no comment at all. The desk person just slid my bill toward me and then shuffled away. PATHETIC.......

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hello Benjamin,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. We apologize for the inconvenience. It seems that our message notifying guests of the situation perhaps did not reach you.
Water bottles are always available with a quick call to room service or the front desk and are offered complementary to guests in such situations. We hope for another chance to serve you in the future and we assure you that we will go the extra mile to ensure your stay is a pleasant one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Stream, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The Doubletree stay was an absolute pleasure from check in to check out! This hotel makes a true effort for a comfortable stay. The onsite restaurant/lounge has great food especially the breakfast buffet. The scenery is nice and the location is great as it is surrounded by a lot of stores, etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hello Cindy M,

Thank you so much for the 5-Star Review!
We are so glad we were able to provide the great service and beautiful location for a comfortable stay. We are so glad you enjoyed the food in Andre’s Restaurant and the Vintage Lounge. We hope to serve you again next time you are in the South Bay.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The hotel was clean and comfortable and beautiful. But the staff were exceptionally nice, helpful and friendly. One staff member even gave me a one dollar bill when a vending machine failed to return one of my quarters. He didn't want to be paid back. He just wanted to help. Everyone was amazing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank dianef120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hello Dianef120,

We truly appreciate the Five-star review. We are happy that you found our hotel clean and comfortable, but we are most happy to hear that the service exceeded your expectations and that our staff was there to make your stay perfect. We hope to see you back again next time you are in the greater Los Angeles area.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Room was very clean; location of the hotel is close to many restaurants and shopping. Bathroom counter and closets a little small. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful. Fitness center very well-kept and had clean and functioning equipment.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda A, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hello Mark D,

Thank you for taking a moment to share a great review of our hotel and service. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and that we could help make you feel that much more at home. We look forward to serving you the next time you stay in the South Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrance
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Avita Suites
0.2 mi away
Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach
2.6 mi away
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
#2 of 20 in Torrance
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
Address: 21333 Hawthorne Blvd, Torrance, CA 90503-5602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Torrance
#4 Business Hotel in Torrance
#4 Romantic Hotel in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Los Angeles South Bay, the DoubleTree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay is a full-service hotel situated between the city's own Restaurant Row, featuring a fine assortment of multi-cultural cuisines, and limitless shopping at The Del Amo Fashion Center, which is currently the 5th largest US shopping mall at more than 2.5 Million sq. Ft.Guests are welcomed with a warm signature DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie during check-in in the beautiful European style lobby, lavishly accented by two 250 gallon tropical fish tanks.This fully equipped DoubleTree offers a business center, a fitness center, an outdoor pool & whirlpool, an onsite restaurant, cafe, bar & lounge, and gift shop. Andre's Restaurant, the hotel's onsite restaurant, offers an award-winning brunch that captures rave reviews from guests and regular local patrons.With more than 16,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space and ballrooms, the catering and banquet staff are on-hand and ready to put on any type of event. Each elegant guestroom is furnished with 1 or 2 double-beds, a work-friendly desk, a 32-inch flat-screen television, and prepared with fresh signature towels and bedding for the luxurious mattresses provided for a perfect night's rest. Guests who upgrade to a suite can enjoy a complimentary breakfast and beautiful views of Torrance and the South Bay.•Complimentary parking•Complimentary WiFi in all guest rooms•16,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space with 2 penthouse-level ballrooms•Award-winning Sunday Brunch at Andre's Restaurant•Happy Hour in the Vintage Lounge daily from 4pm to 7pmVisit the beautiful Redondo Beach & Pier or Palos Verdes. Spend the day in the 'magic' of Disneyland(R) or Universal Studios(R). Practice your game on the Trump National Golf Course, watch a performance at the Torrance Cultural Arts Center, or catch a game at the StubHub Center. Attentive staff will be on-hand to answer inquiries and arrange guided tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Torrance
Doubletree Torrance
Torrance Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing