We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over-priced and disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Certificate of Excellence
Torrance, United States
1 review
“Over-priced and disappointing”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The rooms were VERY small and crowded. Two people could not pass between the bed and dresser. The rooms smelled bad and had stains on furniture. Staff was friendly and helpful when I wanted to check several rooms to try to find one that didn't smell like wet carpet and chemicals. I tried 3 different rooms on three floors with no success. Had to call housekeeping for coffee because it was not replenished prior to my arrival. Walls very thin. The lobby and common areas were nice, but rooms were worn.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jacque B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald A, Social Media & Marketing Coordinator at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hello Jacque B,

Thank you for the time you took to provide a review. We are sorry that the rooms were not up to your standards. We are glad that our staff was attentive and able to accommodate your request for another room. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope that we can provide for you the next time you need a room in the area and a that we will have another chance to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    269
    147
    61
    34
See reviews for
205
143
70
317
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Nice location, very clean rooms and comfortable beds. The included breakfast is all you need to get you day started right. We'll be back for another stay here as it's close enough to many of the LA area locations that we like to visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald A, Social Media & Marketing Coordinator at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hi Thomas S,

Thank you for taking the time out to share a review. We are glad that our location, convenient to Los Angeles, Long Beach, and Orange County, worked out well for you. We see a lot of families who want to stay in a safer environment while exploring all that LA County has to offer. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed the breakfast and we look forward to seeing you next time you come to the LA area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2014

The staff was excellent, less the housekeeping supervisor on the 5th floor. The facilities seemed to be lacking attention from a maintenance and cleanliness perspective. The door stopper was broken in our room causing the door to crash into the mirror, the facet leaked constantly, the chairs were stained.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald A, Social Media & Marketing Coordinator at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Hi Douglas A,

Thank you for taking the time to share a little about your experience with us. Thank you for the input regarding the door stopper and the facet. We will certainly pass this information on to our supervisors so that we can be more attentive to these details. Thank you for visiting the DoubleTree by Hilton Torrance – South Bay! We hope to see you back next time you need a room nearby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruther Glen, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

After the Hilton Universal City, this Hotel was a real let down. Nothing overly wrong, just very dated. Staff was great, service was great. Has a bar. The place seems to do a lot of weddings and has that wedding hall type of feel. This is not really a complaint, just a feel. The room truly felt like Grandma or Mother-in-Laws guest room last decorated in 1979. The bathroom was tiny, I could not place my items on the counter. A turn in any direction and you would bump something. But it was clean, quite and a good value.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald A, Social Media & Marketing Coordinator at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Hi Brian A,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review. Thank you for your compliments on our staff and service, as well as our Vintage Lounge. We are indeed the setting for a fair number of weddings. Our Penthouse ballrooms, where many of our wedding ceremonies are held, offer some of the greatest views of the South Bay, Los Angeles and even San Pedro and Long Beach. We appreciate your input on our counter space. We would love to see you back at the DoubleTree in Torrance next time you are visiting the South Bay and are looking for the best service and helpful staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Hills Estates, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Overall the hotel is okay that's why I always put my business and family guests there. The check-in staff needs to be better trained. One odd thing is, the hotel system could not credit back the over charge or duplicated charge back (according to one of the check-in staff), or simply refund to customers. That is never-herd in this globe.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Summer X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald A, Social Media & Marketing Coordinator at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hello Summer X,

Thank you for the time you put into providing a review of our hotel. We are thankful to have you as one of our regular guests and we are sorry for the confusion during payment.

When we serve a ‘pending authorization notice,’ we are able to cancel a transaction any time before the actual charge is made - within 2-3 business days. Many financial institutions will keep the ‘pending authorization notice’ in the account history for the patron’s protection.

We will be happy to assist you in any way if a discrepancy remains. We look forward to seeing you again soon, and we are sorry for any misunderstanding associated with transferring the charge from one card to another.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Nice hotel, great restaurants within walking distance, close to shopping. Lobby is beautiful, nice lounge and meeting rooms. Fitness center was very busy but had adequate machines and free weights. Pool looked nice but weather was cool so no one was using it. Chocolate chip cookie given at check in is a nice touch and the cookie was delicous. Had a fruit tray from the small coffee service in the lobby and it was fresh and also delicous. I would definitely stay again, good experience for the money.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Debra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald A, Social Media & Marketing Coordinator at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hello Debra N,

Thank you for taking the time to share you review of our hotel. We are glad that we were able to provide a stay that made you feel taken care of. Our guests love how close everything is. We can walk to any of 10 or more restaurants in under 5 minutes from our front entrance. And of course the Dal Amo Fashion center, the one of the largest malls in the nation is just across Hawthorne Boulevard. We hope we will have a chance to host you again on your next visit to the Los Angeles area. There will be a fresh and warm DoubleTree Chocolate Chip Cookie waiting for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrance
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Avita Suites
0.2 mi away
Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach
2.6 mi away
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
#2 of 20 in Torrance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach
2.4 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
Address: 21333 Hawthorne Blvd, Torrance, CA 90503-5602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Torrance
#4 Business Hotel in Torrance
#4 Romantic Hotel in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Los Angeles South Bay, the DoubleTree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay is a full-service hotel situated between the city's own Restaurant Row, featuring a fine assortment of multi-cultural cuisines, and limitless shopping at The Del Amo Fashion Center, which is currently the 5th largest US shopping mall at more than 2.5 Million sq. Ft.Guests are welcomed with a warm signature DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie during check-in in the beautiful European style lobby, lavishly accented by two 250 gallon tropical fish tanks.This fully equipped DoubleTree offers a business center, a fitness center, an outdoor pool & whirlpool, an onsite restaurant, cafe, bar & lounge, and gift shop. Andre's Restaurant, the hotel's onsite restaurant, offers an award-winning brunch that captures rave reviews from guests and regular local patrons.With more than 16,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space and ballrooms, the catering and banquet staff are on-hand and ready to put on any type of event. Each elegant guestroom is furnished with 1 or 2 double-beds, a work-friendly desk, a 32-inch flat-screen television, and prepared with fresh signature towels and bedding for the luxurious mattresses provided for a perfect night's rest. Guests who upgrade to a suite can enjoy a complimentary breakfast and beautiful views of Torrance and the South Bay.•Complimentary parking•Complimentary WiFi in all guest rooms•16,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space with 2 penthouse-level ballrooms•Award-winning Sunday Brunch at Andre's Restaurant•Happy Hour in the Vintage Lounge daily from 4pm to 7pmVisit the beautiful Redondo Beach & Pier or Palos Verdes. Spend the day in the 'magic' of Disneyland(R) or Universal Studios(R). Practice your game on the Trump National Golf Course, watch a performance at the Torrance Cultural Arts Center, or catch a game at the StubHub Center. Attentive staff will be on-hand to answer inquiries and arrange guided tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Torrance
Doubletree Torrance
Torrance Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing