We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Everything is good from the time of checked-in to the time of checked-out. Service was excellent with fast response to calls. Nice ambience and location is excellent with all necessary amenities nearby.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Wilson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald A, Social Media & Marketing Coordinator at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Hi Wilson T,

Thank you for your review. We strive to offer the fast and excellent service each of our guests need. We also take pride in our location, with tons of restaurants and great shopping all around us. We hope to see you again soon, next time you need a place to rest and relax in Southern California.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (910)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

640 - 646 of 910 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

The hotel looks impressive as you walk in with polished brass doors and a nice large foyer, but that's where the good experience ends. They give you a cookie at check in and based on the advertising this seems to be a really big deal that you should feel very grateful for! I've been to plenty of hotels that have warm cookies available in the foyer all day - it's not a reason to go to Double Tree! Personally I'd prefer a bottle of water anyway, particularly since there isn't any in the room, even for purchase! Room walls are paper thin. It's the noisiest hotel I've ever stayed in. I could actually hear the person on the other end of the phone line in the next door neighbors room. Considering that my neighbors call was made at 3am, it was disruptive to say the least. I could also hear neighbors TV's from all sides above and below, conversation, music and showers. The remote control for the TV didn't work. Breakfast was not included in the price and I'm not paying a crazy price for a bowl of cereal which is all I wanted. The coffee shop is a waste of time with very little food for sale, just a few pastries that I suspect had been in the display cabinet for a few days and some made up lunches. No yogurt parfait's, granola, oatmeal or anything that I would want to eat for breakfast. Overall it's one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in. I will not be back.

Room Tip: Tip for a good room - stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald A, Social Media & Marketing Coordinator at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Hi Richard C,

Thank you for you for taking your time to share your review of the DoubleTree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay. We are sorry to hear that your stay was less than you expect from the DoubleTree. We do strive to keep our facilities as quiet and orderly as possible and we apologize that you found the room to be too noisy to be acceptable. We also beg your pardon that the remote for the TV was not working.
If you are a Hilton Honors diamond member there should be a bottle of water in your room at check in. We apologize if that was not the case. For any of our other guests, water is available for purchase and can be with a quick call to our front desk, from our lobby gift shop, or at the Tea Tree Café.
The food in our Tea Tree Café is removed daily and replenished with pastries, fruits, salads, and sandwiches that are made fresh each morning. We do have packages available that include breakfast, however we are a full service hotel with a restaurant on property and we do not include breakfast in standard room rentals. We hope to see you back in the future and that we will have another opportunity to offer you the type of high quality service you expect from the DoubleTree.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

My friend got excellent price for his daughter quinceñera as well as the hotel room price was excellent; very convenient and friendly staff... The bed is very comfortable I needed an extra hour to check out and I was accommodated...

Great party and very comfortable rest.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nicayork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald A, Social Media & Marketing Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Hi Nicayork,

Thank you for taking the time to offer the great review. We are glad we could provide a memorable celebration for your friend’s daughter and that we were able to offer comfortable accommodation to you as an overnight guest. Our ballrooms are available for weddings, celebrations, and as meeting or event space, and you are always welcome. We hope we will have the opportunity to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

As a Hilton Honors members, I expected more during my stay and left disappointed. The towels and bedding are worn and in desperate need of replacement. Requested a double bed and was told there weren't any more double beds in non smoking available. Ended up with a smoking room...not good for an asthmatic. Front desk did not try to accommodate me in any way. The management staff should re-train the front desk staff on how to treat guests. Probably wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Bling Bling N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerald A, Social Media & Marketing Coordinator at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Hi Bling Bling N,

Thank you for the time you put into sharing this review with us. We are sorry we were not able to address your specific wishes on this occasion. Our front desk agents do their best to accommodate each guest’s requests and we are sorry that the double smoking room that you were placed in was not the best solution. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to offering you a far superior experience the next time you need a great hotel in Torrance or the Greater Los Angeles area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This hotel was 5 star all the way around from the personnel to the accommodations to the service. Everything was wonderful. The staff was always there to help make our stay a great one. It has numerous restaurants within walking distance and shopping. The breakfast was outstanding.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank suejsmith13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

location, welcoming, cleanliness, value, services, rooms, event center, Food, staff. especial guests requests for example as we got there i just make a little comment how long was our trip to get there from Las Vegas, and looking a place to by some water to my guests, Carlos got ahead by provide us with bottles to us was a very nice touch.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Victor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Quiet clean room, good sound sleep, satisfactory breakfast. It exceeds in all three categories hotels at the same price point. Misses the fifth star because at that price 'excellence' should mean a really outstanding experience.
Definitively would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gpcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torrance hotels
0.2 mi away
Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Avita Suites
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach
2.6 mi away
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
#3 of 20 in Torrance
450 reviews
1.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Torrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay

Address: 21333 Hawthorne Blvd, Torrance, CA 90503-5602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Torrance
#4 Business Hotel in Torrance
#4 Romantic Hotel in Torrance
Price Range: $154 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Los Angeles South Bay, the DoubleTree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay is a full-service hotel situated between the city's own Restaurant Row, featuring a fine assortment of multi-cultural cuisines, and limitless shopping at The Del Amo Fashion Center, which is currently the 5th largest US shopping mall at more than 2.5 Million sq. Ft.Guests are welcomed with a warm signature DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie during check-in in the beautiful European style lobby, lavishly accented by two 250 gallon tropical fish tanks.This fully equipped DoubleTree offers a business center, a fitness center, an outdoor pool & whirlpool, an onsite restaurant, cafe, bar & lounge, and gift shop. Andre's Restaurant, the hotel's onsite restaurant, offers an award-winning brunch that captures rave reviews from guests and regular local patrons.With more than 16,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space and ballrooms, the catering and banquet staff are on-hand and ready to put on any type of event. Each elegant guestroom is furnished with 1 or 2 double-beds, a work-friendly desk, a 32-inch flat-screen television, and prepared with fresh signature towels and bedding for the luxurious mattresses provided for a perfect night's rest. Guests who upgrade to a suite can enjoy a complimentary breakfast and beautiful views of Torrance and the South Bay.•Complimentary parking•Complimentary WiFi in all guest rooms•16,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space with 2 penthouse-level ballrooms•Award-winning Sunday Brunch at Andre's Restaurant•Happy Hour in the Vintage Lounge daily from 4pm to 7pmVisit the beautiful Redondo Beach & Pier or Palos Verdes. Spend the day in the 'magic' of Disneyland(R) or Universal Studios(R). Practice your game on the Trump National Golf Course, watch a performance at the Torrance Cultural Arts Center, or catch a game at the StubHub Center. Attentive staff will be on-hand to answer inquiries and arrange guided tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Torrance
Doubletree Torrance
Torrance Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing