We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT so great stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Milano Italy
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“NOT so great stay!!!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I have waited until returning to Europe (a month later) before writing this in the hope that the GM of this hotel "Ms Amato" would have had the common courtesy to contact us shortly after our departure 21/7/13 as was indicated by the DM Cesars on the morning and afternoon of our departure. Our 3 nights stay goes like so... HH member, booked and prepaid for an Executive room 7 MONTHS prior to arrival, made a request for a QUIET room as I knew after flying 18 hr's with a 9 hr time difference, we would be tired and want to rest. Arrival at front desk 3.30pm and not one quiet room available on any executive floors. (thanks for honoring our request) Was offered a quiet room on another floor with of course the same executive perks. Ok. The room indeed was quiet even if small and the bathroom...well there wasn't room to swing a cat!! Slippers and robes were brought to the room but the robes were ripped and had holes in them!! Asked next morning at reception for them to be preplaced. 1 was, the others not. Caught Rita of housekeeping on our floor and even she was shocked and brought us lovely new robes. Thank you Rita. We went to the executive lounge the same evening at 7.15pm (no one else there) there were NO hot snacks. Told the attendant who was surprised and of course replenished them at once. Is it not her job to be checking such things? Next morning we went to breakfast and should have been given vouchers by front desk, were we? of course not!! On check out we were asked how our stay was? so we said what our issues were and of course sorry madam etc, etc and this is unacceptable. Cesars DM said the GM would be informed and she would want to contact us directly. As a good will gesture 50,000 points would be made to our HH account...Result, something to help get over our first "not so great" stay of 5 stays in Hilton's thought out CA, AZ and UT. This result was short lived as by the afternoon I had a voice mail from Cesars saying that he was not authorized to allocate that number of points and the GM would indeed be contacting us within days to discuss our issues. Have I heard from her NO!! were we impressed with the service given? A big fat NO. Attention to detail is very much lacking in this hotel and really it should NOT be connected with the Hilton name. On a positive note, this hotel is 15 mins from LAX and has lots of free parking. We fortunately went on to have great stays in the other Hilton's and thankfully "The Torrance/South Bay" was not the norm, but very bad luck!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunshineForever1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    273
    149
    62
    36
See reviews for
208
147
70
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Overall very nice, I would say an 8/10. Clean, nice, safe, plenty of amenities. An older site, but they do well with what they have. I was placed on the third floor, immediately above a rootfop HVAC unit that I found annoying, the staff immediately found me a quieter room with no fuss. (Avoid the third-5th floor, and rooms near the elevator.) Pluses: good cable, large flat screen TV, free internet (all that I really needed for a business trip.) There was a pool and fitness center that I should have used but didn't.) Good security, very clean, responsive staff. Negatives (not really under the control of the hotel staff): older hotel, loud HVAC

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Bradley V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree_Team, Guest Relations Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. Our location makes every point of interest accessible and appealing to many of our guest. We have been serving the Torrance Southbay area for many years and continue service with passionate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona CA, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The lobby was lovely, but the rooms are ordinary. The bed was comfortable but the furniture old. Had problems with the AC, but the engineer came daily to adjust it. It was a problem that should have been fixed previously. The hotelis very close to many restaurants. The hotel restaurant has limited hours and slow service, but the food is good. The staff was courteous and responsive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed here for a week while visiting my brother in the hospital. I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the staff was and how comfortable the room was. Everything was clean and well maintained. I stayed on the executive floor that has free breakfast for Hilton Honors guests on weekdays. The breakfast was mostly a continental breakfast with some scrambled eggs. It was nice but not amazing. Overall I thought the hotel was perfect. A little expensive, perhaps, but very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san pedro, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Hotel had a regal look from the outside. Upon entering the hotel, the decor was amazing! I was quickly checked-in and received by very friendly and helpful staff. The hallways were very clean and well lighted. The room was spacious and had great looking furniture. The bed was super comfy and relaxing. It made our getaway so much better. Will be back there soon!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kristine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel is in a great location with ample, free parking and very close to shopping, restaurants and a quick drive to Redondo Beach and about 15 minutes from LAX.


The lobby and common areas are very nicely appointed and provide a good first impression. The corridors outside the guestrooms looked a bit dated. The rooms were clean, but the bathroom was small. There wasn't a vanity area, just a small sink with no room to keep any toiletries on top of and no type of cabinet or shelf underneath the sink for storage either.

We had booked a room with two queen sized beds for 3 people, but there were only 2 bath towels. I left a note for housekeeping the next morning to let them know that we had 3 people in the room and to please leave 3 bath towels. Curiously, instead of getting more bath towels, we got less. They left us with only one bath towel but a lot of hand towels. Maybe it was lost in translation. But most places I have ever stayed at leave at least 3 bath towels when it's a room with two beds.

As Hilton Honor members, we would probably return to this property again because of the good rate. Overall, our stay was nice, but nothing out of the ordinary. Pretty average.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanROrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Near to Del Amo, relatively huge mall. Lotsa standalone eateries and shops, very accessible from hotel. A typical good hilton. Old, its ok, most impt is clean and gd location.

Dun mind going back again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank snowei1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doubletree_Team, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your kind words fill us with joy and pride . Our location makes every point of interest accessible and appealing to many of our guest. We have been serving the Torrance-Southbay area for many years and continue service with passionate focus on cleanliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrance
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Avita Suites
0.2 mi away
Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach
2.6 mi away
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
#2 of 20 in Torrance
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach
2.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
Address: 21333 Hawthorne Blvd, Torrance, CA 90503-5602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Torrance
#4 Business Hotel in Torrance
#4 Romantic Hotel in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Los Angeles South Bay, the DoubleTree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay is a full-service hotel situated between the city's own Restaurant Row, featuring a fine assortment of multi-cultural cuisines, and limitless shopping at The Del Amo Fashion Center, which is currently the 5th largest US shopping mall at more than 2.5 Million sq. Ft.Guests are welcomed with a warm signature DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie during check-in in the beautiful European style lobby, lavishly accented by two 250 gallon tropical fish tanks.This fully equipped DoubleTree offers a business center, a fitness center, an outdoor pool & whirlpool, an onsite restaurant, cafe, bar & lounge, and gift shop. Andre's Restaurant, the hotel's onsite restaurant, offers an award-winning brunch that captures rave reviews from guests and regular local patrons.With more than 16,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space and ballrooms, the catering and banquet staff are on-hand and ready to put on any type of event. Each elegant guestroom is furnished with 1 or 2 double-beds, a work-friendly desk, a 32-inch flat-screen television, and prepared with fresh signature towels and bedding for the luxurious mattresses provided for a perfect night's rest. Guests who upgrade to a suite can enjoy a complimentary breakfast and beautiful views of Torrance and the South Bay.•Complimentary parking•Complimentary WiFi in all guest rooms•16,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space with 2 penthouse-level ballrooms•Award-winning Sunday Brunch at Andre's Restaurant•Happy Hour in the Vintage Lounge daily from 4pm to 7pmVisit the beautiful Redondo Beach & Pier or Palos Verdes. Spend the day in the 'magic' of Disneyland(R) or Universal Studios(R). Practice your game on the Trump National Golf Course, watch a performance at the Torrance Cultural Arts Center, or catch a game at the StubHub Center. Attentive staff will be on-hand to answer inquiries and arrange guided tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Torrance
Doubletree Torrance
Torrance Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing