We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed May 22, 2013

the best hotel in torrence. california.........................................................................the bathroom is 1970s small room. barely can close the door with one person in it. i like the bed. i can sleep on it all night. so good and so quiet. room is average but better than motel. soft bed like las vegas 4stars room. but no view. its good environment. its a good hotel. i can sleep in. full service hotel. there are no prostitude either. so nobody can bother you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (922)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

718 - 724 of 922 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

Very nice hotel with nice lounge and restaurant. We had drinks in the lounge and later came back for dinner. In the morning had breakfast in the restaurant, which we had our choice of ordering from the menu or doing the buffet. Only complaint was a very small bathroom with not enough counter space for personal items and if you like a firm mattress the bed may not be as comfortable as you would like. However, if doing the same trip again would definitely stay there. Good location and not very far from LAX.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank TheCorters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is lovely and convienently located but my overall experience was poor. I had worker's hammering above me at night for all the nights I stayed. It was explained that the hotel was redoing the carpet on the next floor. This is fine, but do it during the day. Why on earth would they do the labor at night?

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmyoung36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I spent the night at Doubletree to meet a friend who was arriving early next morning at LAX. The bed mattress and pillows were super comfortable. The bathroom needed some attention not to mention having no water!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Motaz_Shawly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed here for three nights before our return home. It's not far from the airport, and ideal if you don't have a car as there are many restaurants close by and the big Del Amo mall just across the road. There is a little supermarket which sells lunch items and drinks a few minutes walk away too. Our room was very clean, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was clean and had nice toiletries. Staff were friendly and helpful and the Manager was particularly helpful when we asked for a late checkout. Our room rate included breakfast, which was very good, a great variety of food and friendly service. We enjoyed our stay here, the hotel didn't seem too big and impersonal, but had a friendly and relaxing atmosphere. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlemingsJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Disorganized hotel, especially during breakfast time. There was already a manager standing at the front podium of the restaurant but she was unable to control the teenagers who "switch people" during the breakfast buffet. We were finally brought to a table to no server to greet us at all. Probably because everything is self-serve, even coffee and juice. As we were finally done eating, we saw someone took our breakfast vouchers and gave us a black booklet with zero dollar charged... what? no service at all and expecting a tip!?!?! NO WAY.

And OH, BTW, the coffee machine is also the same machine for hot water.. and if you press the hot water button, drips of coffee will be coming out with your hot water.. very disgusting if you want to make a tea (coffee-flavored tea).

I forgot to bring my toothbrush and toothpaste.. so we called front desk at around 9pm asking for toothbrush... I was expecting to be a "toothbush-set" with a one-time-use toothpaste.. after 15 minutes, front desk gave us follow up called. No one brought anything yet... then after another 10 minutes, housekeeping finally brought us toothbrush and REALLY JUST TOOTHBRUSH. So we had to call front desk again just for toothpaste and they gave us the the travel size toothpaste. I often see in Hilton properties that they say "if you forget toiletries, feel free to call us" and this was the first time that I called and learned this weird experience... don't think I will call again for toiletries whenever possible.

Location is good. Walking distance to restaurants and close to lots of local restaurants. However, would probably stay at another Hilton property.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whimsical_sd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

NIce hotel in a great area with lots of eateries and shopping. Room was nice somewhat dated however very clean. Beautiful lobby and courtyard area with pool and hot tub. Very relaxing.

Would return if in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaylyne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torrance hotels
0.2 mi away
Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Avita Suites
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
#3 of 20 in Torrance
454 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes
3 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/South Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay

Address: 21333 Hawthorne Blvd, Torrance, CA 90503-5602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Torrance
#4 Romantic Hotel in Torrance
#4 Business Hotel in Torrance
Price Range: $151 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Los Angeles South Bay, the DoubleTree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay is a full-service hotel situated between the city's own Restaurant Row, featuring a fine assortment of multi-cultural cuisines, and limitless shopping at The Del Amo Fashion Center, which is currently the 5th largest US shopping mall at more than 2.5 Million sq. Ft.Guests are welcomed with a warm signature DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie during check-in in the beautiful European style lobby, lavishly accented by two 250 gallon tropical fish tanks.This fully equipped DoubleTree offers a business center, a fitness center, an outdoor pool & whirlpool, an onsite restaurant, cafe, bar & lounge, and gift shop. Andre's Restaurant, the hotel's onsite restaurant, offers an award-winning brunch that captures rave reviews from guests and regular local patrons.With more than 16,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space and ballrooms, the catering and banquet staff are on-hand and ready to put on any type of event. Each elegant guestroom is furnished with 1 or 2 double-beds, a work-friendly desk, a 32-inch flat-screen television, and prepared with fresh signature towels and bedding for the luxurious mattresses provided for a perfect night's rest. Guests who upgrade to a suite can enjoy a complimentary breakfast and beautiful views of Torrance and the South Bay.•Complimentary parking•Complimentary WiFi in all guest rooms•16,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space with 2 penthouse-level ballrooms•Award-winning Sunday Brunch at Andre's Restaurant•Happy Hour in the Vintage Lounge daily from 4pm to 7pmVisit the beautiful Redondo Beach & Pier or Palos Verdes. Spend the day in the 'magic' of Disneyland(R) or Universal Studios(R). Practice your game on the Trump National Golf Course, watch a performance at the Torrance Cultural Arts Center, or catch a game at the StubHub Center. Attentive staff will be on-hand to answer inquiries and arrange guided tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Torrance
Doubletree Torrance
Torrance Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing