We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, very friendly and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good location, very friendly and helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

This property is about 20 minutes' drive from the rental car faciities at LAX. It is directly across the street from the Del Amo mall, one of the largest malls in SoCal. There are several restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, including Benihana, Soup Plantation aka Sweet Tomatoes, Marie Callanders, the Elephant Bar, El Torito, Red Lobster, and Curry House that serves excellent Japanese curry.

The front desk and other hotel staff that I encountered were very friendly, always wearing a smile on their faces.

This property is about equidistant from Santa Monica and Costa Mesa, an easy 45-50 minute drive on the 405 freeway.

A very good location for a weekend stay at a decent rate for the LA area.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiGuy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    267
    144
    60
    33
See reviews for
201
140
69
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clifton Park, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed here for a long weekend, was put in the tower in a smoking room. Very nice and great to have a door that opens keeps the room from turning into a cloud and your clothes from smelling. Was greeted and given the cookie and then setup in my King bed room on the 4th floor of the tower. Thank you for having the smoking rooms and the door to the little balcony makes it super great. Coming back in end of March and staying for a week will def. book this hotel and ask for my nice room. Breakfast buffet was really great and lots of variety and very fresh.

Room Tip: Gold or Diamond and smoker ask for the the tower rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zeke0323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

PROS:

LOCATION -- The hotel is conveniently located right across the street from the Del Amo Fashion Center, which is the 5th largest mall in the US. It's also just a short drive to several other malls and to Redondo Beach.

STAFF -- When I arrived, I was welcomed with a smile and a warm chocolate chip cookie. During my stay, every staff member I interacted with - from the front desk staff to the housekeeping crew - was courteous and completely professional. They were always willing to look for creative solutions to accommodate my requests.

CONS:

ROOMS -- The screen door leading to the balcony wasn't completely sealed, so the room got drafty at night. Fortunately, the heating/cooling system worked very well and there were extra blankets in the closet, so it wasn't a problem overall. Also, there were toenail clippings on the ground near the television.

AMENITIES -- Doubletree hotels tend to be a bit light on amenities. The room came with a coffee maker, a mini-fridge, and internet access.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amai-kaminari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great location! Close to malls, movie theaters, restaurants -- within walking distance no less! Nice, friendly staff. Good food/brunch onsite. Safe/secure. Good price!

Was a very pleasant stay and is now on my list of favorite hotels in South Bay area of SoCal!
~ES

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms on 1st floor are closest to the Fitness Room and the Pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

When I visit Torrance, I always stay at this property. It's close to the shopping mall but most important is the proximity to the ocean. Redondo Beach is great. If you're a Hilton Honors member, be sure to let them know. Tower rooms are generally better than Courtyard (and quieter. Staff is helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvhawaii707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

If you're staying in the area, this is a solid choice. Helpful staff, clean and comfortable room and pleasantly surprised at the quality of room service. I am a big fan of a Cobb salad and they serve a good one.

Room Tip: The higher the better. I suggest a room facing the pool (as opposed to the busy Hawthorne Blvd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BVinSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is the second time I've stayed here, and the first time I was able to use the pool facilities. With the pool going to 8 feet deep and the hot tub with room for at least 12-15 people this is a nice place to relax. Not to mention the multiple waterfalls and running water they have surrounding it. It's a great place to grab a book and relax or your laptop and get some work done.

Also, I had to transfer from another hotel to this one and had booked the night before moving over. With that I needed to check in early if possible. I called before heading over and was told that early check-in was not possible because no rooms were ready. But this was kind of an emergency. Being an HHonors Diamond member I called the Diamond Desk and they contacted the hotel, spoke to the manager and had a crew rush to clean and prep a room within the hour. They saved the day, and I am impressed!

My only complaint is that they've "permanently closed" the executive lounge. (I asked.) I've used it before, and don't understand why this would be. It's a great place to sit around and get some work done when traveling. Please bring it back!

Thanks Doubletree, love the cookies!

Room Tip: Tower rooms are generally nicer and a little less worn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrance
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Avita Suites
0.2 mi away
Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach
2.6 mi away
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
#2 of 20 in Torrance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach
2.4 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
Address: 21333 Hawthorne Blvd, Torrance, CA 90503
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Torrance
#4 Business Hotel in Torrance
#4 Romantic Hotel in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Los Angeles South Bay, the DoubleTree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay is a full-service hotel situated between the city's own Restaurant Row, featuring a fine assortment of multi-cultural cuisines, and limitless shopping at The Del Amo Fashion Center, which is currently the 5th largest US shopping mall at more than 2.5 Million sq. Ft.Guests are welcomed with a warm signature DoubleTree chocolate chip cookie during check-in in the beautiful European style lobby, lavishly accented by two 250 gallon tropical fish tanks.This fully equipped DoubleTree offers a business center, a fitness center, an outdoor pool & whirlpool, an onsite restaurant, cafe, bar & lounge, and gift shop. Andre's Restaurant, the hotel's onsite restaurant, offers an award-winning brunch that captures rave reviews from guests and regular local patrons.With more than 16,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space and ballrooms, the catering and banquet staff are on-hand and ready to put on any type of event. Each elegant guestroom is furnished with 1 or 2 double-beds, a work-friendly desk, a 32-inch flat-screen television, and prepared with fresh signature towels and bedding for the luxurious mattresses provided for a perfect night's rest. Guests who upgrade to a suite can enjoy a complimentary breakfast and beautiful views of Torrance and the South Bay.•Complimentary parking•Complimentary WiFi in all guest rooms•16,000 sq. Ft. Of flexible meeting space with 2 penthouse-level ballrooms•Award-winning Sunday Brunch at Andre's Restaurant•Happy Hour in the Vintage Lounge daily from 4pm to 7pmVisit the beautiful Redondo Beach & Pier or Palos Verdes. Spend the day in the 'magic' of Disneyland(R) or Universal Studios(R). Practice your game on the Trump National Golf Course, watch a performance at the Torrance Cultural Arts Center, or catch a game at the StubHub Center. Attentive staff will be on-hand to answer inquiries and arrange guided tours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Torrance
Doubletree Torrance
Torrance Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing