We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Torrance Marriott is a very well kept older property. It is a business hotel that appears to cater mostly to expense account customers. We expected to pay extra for parking, but were shocked to have a $12.95 fee quoted for in-room wi fi. There is, however, free wi fi in the lobby, but still such a fee seems archaic. The lobby and the lobby bar was very nice but sometimes cold. The restaurant is open only for breakfast and lunch. Our only complaint besides the wi fi was that housekeeping just draped (not actually folded) our rather thin used towels back on the rack.

We found the service to be excellent and the prices fair for this kind of hotel. We would give the property a half star more but for the above.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pobremio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revpar120, General Manager at Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

I appreciate the comments and have shared them with the team, specifically in housekeeping
so we can better manage the services. I apologize for the inconvenience.

We are constantly upgrading and enhancing the property and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    213
    80
    25
    14
See reviews for
87
63
33
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bingen am Rhein, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Due to business I´ve been there many times. In the meanwhile it´s like coming home, staff make me feel welcomed all the time. The rooms are comfortable big, sleeping in those bed´s make you feel like never standing up again! The breakfast is great and if you want to enjoy the place at the fire outside, you although can enjoy tasty food or some drinks, you just can relax!
The staff is always friendly and attentive! I really love this place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revpar120, General Manager at Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for the terrific comments. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in 1208. Let me get this out of the way, first of all parking is $15. You can drive in and out all day, and it is still 15 for the whole day. Parking is costly, considering there were so many parking stalls in the garage... Your room key is used as your garage parking key. Secondly, we ended up using our points to say here for a night. So expectations might be different from what you might get. Check-in was 4pm, a little late for check-in. The bathroom's air circulator was quite dirty, it might have been broken.

Here's all the pleasant stuff: hip hotel, nice lobby with fast check-in service, there are people from all over here (Dutch and Japan), business and soccer clubs. Such a nice hotel, I kind of expected a spa to be located on the property too! But alas. No spa. The room was nice. Good quiet A/C. Clean rooms. Comfortable beds. Lots of pillows. Candy giving for the night. On the 12th floor we got to use the concierge lounge, which provided free hot breakfast: boiled eggs, egg burrito, yogurt, milk, cereals, fruits, toasts, bagels, coffee, tea, juices, bacon, sausage, etc. Appetizers starting ~5:30pm cheese, crackers, salads, finger foods, etc. And desserts at 7:30pm. Missed that one, so I can't tell you what was served. Nice service in the lounge, friendly staff, excellent. We said in a room with 2 doubles.

Overall: I'd come back again, when have points to use again :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelP2P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revpar120, General Manager at Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for the terrific comments. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice hotel; they are working on the elevators so it usually takes extra long to get to the lobby from your room. Also, if you have a car, it will cost you $15 to park....wha....???? come on, throw in the parking. $15, really?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThatOtherGuy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

It's not a train wreck but she's tired. Nice to have a Starbucks in the lobby but.......the hotel gets an award for the slowest elevators. Rooms are Marriott circa 1990. Not bad but so dated. Shower pressure mimicked a drinking fountain. Not like there is a lot of choice in the area. The doubletree across the street is a total dump. But this property needs a makeover. Wouldn't surprise me to see a new name on the marquis in the future. Just a hunch.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MONYLINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Last weekend we celebrated my daughter's 10th birthday with a 24 hour sleepover at the Marriott. We swam in the pool, did a scavenger hunt, played bingo, etc. The girls had a great time. The hotel made it easy for us to check in early and all the staff was accommodating and extremely friendly and nice. We really enjoyed our time there!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reallypickylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revpar120, General Manager at Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Congratulations on the party and thanks for your great comments. We look forward to seeing you in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I'd say as good as a Marriott gets. Not a great location for tourists seeking a beach vacation ---- there are several places much closer to Redondo, Hermosa or Manhattan Beach areas. But the hotel itself was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTinPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revpar120, General Manager at Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for the terrific comments. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrance
0.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Avita Suites
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
#2 of 20 in Torrance
431 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach

Property: Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach
Address: 3635 Fashion Way, Torrance, CA 90503-4809 (Formerly Torrance Marriott South Bay)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach Hotel is only minutes from Pacific Coast Highway where guests will enjoy miles of pristine California Beaches. Redondo Beach Pier, StubHub Center, Craft Breweries and Del Amo Fashion Center are located nearby. Relax in our hotel's spacious guest rooms with luxury bedding, 49" Televisions and wireless internet. 21 Square bar+kitchen bridges the gap between the city and the beach with a locally inspired style that celebrates the sea. The restaurant is an instant refuge inspired by the feeling of belonging and community. This hotel features over 30,000 square feet of flexible event space including a circular Elements Ballroom and outdoor venues ideal for conferences, weddings or other social activities. Elevate your spirit in our Village Square, a lush green outdoor venue with a gazebo to host a dream wedding. Convenient to Los Angeles International (LAX) and Long Beach (LGB) airports, our Torrance hotel is where style meets coastal comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torrance Marriott Hotel Torrance
Marriott Torrance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing