We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Courtyard, High Cost lowers the overall Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/South Bay
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is an expensive Courtyard. I did like it and will probably stay again as it is near the work location I was visiting. The extra cost for me was worth the short drive to work.
Check-in was quick, welcoming, and easy. It is a little tricky to get into/out of the location at rush hour due to traffic. No problem parking in front. But that is also what makes it a convenient location.
Rooms are on the small side, but still standard Courtyard (you just notice it more when pushing the desk chair back and bumping the table). But it was a King so the bed does take a little more room.
I really liked the balcony (4th floor) overlooking an actual Courtyard (pool). The Gym was standard with 2 treadmills, bench, Ellipitical?, and dumbells. Did not use the pool. It is the design with the gym in the back.
Breakfast was good/usual. Roomy lobby/eating area. Hotel was quiet and slept well.
Another plus is it is about 10-15 minutes from the beach (Hermosa and Redondo), although it was overcast/cold.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bstrvl55711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthBayCY, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/South Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

The staff of the Courtyard South Bay would like to thank you for staying with us.

We are thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic stay at our hotel and that you truly got to enjoy the many amenities and upgrades we offer.

Thank you for the great review and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Thank you

Christian Paulsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 228 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

I have stayed a few times at this place. This has become way too expensive for no incremental addition of amenities or facilities, except the lobby. It is a fairly clean place and located at a very accessible location for business travellers to Toyota, ANA and Torrace area. The restaurant has some new food options for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Rooms are a tard smaller but still clean and good. However, there is no value for money.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank premwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthBayCY, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/South Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

The staff of the Courtyard South Bay would like to thank you for staying with us.

I am very concerned with the lack of value that you feel our property offers.
We are constantly ensuring that we are priced accordingly within our market.
I appreciate your comments and will certainly make sure we are offering an expected value.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Christian Paulsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Not a good value. Staff good. Fairly clean. Way overpriced food and beverage. No longer offer free coffee. We used to stay here often on business. Looking elsewhere. Good location sometimes noisy due to 405

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blimp69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthBayCY, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/South Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

The staff of the Courtyard South Bay would like to thank you for staying with us.

I am happy to read that you found our hotel clean and friendly.

I am concerned about the pricing concerns you bring up in our Bistro.
We are constantly ensuring that we are priced accordingly to other hotel’s food outlets in our area.

I appreciate your comments and will certainly look further into your concerns.

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Christian Paulsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The location for this Courtyard is next to the 405 freeway and is convenient to corporations such as Mobil/Exxon, Honda, Toyota, Scion. Retail businesses are not within walking distance. We stay at this hotel because of it's proximity to Gardena and the beach towns.

Despite its location, this is a wonderful hotel. The lobby has been remodeled within the last couple years and hosts computers and a dedicated computer for flight check-in. There is a small restaurant and bar. Comfy chairs and a huge couch in front of a large flat-screen add to the welcoming decor.

I usually reserve a pool front one-room suite, but this time I reserved a two-room suite with two queens in a separate bedroom. Flat screens in both rooms, enough space for some to sleep, other to sit and visit. The patio is narrow, but nice enough to step out for fresh air. We had room 438 that looked down onto the pool/property and high enough for a sunset view.

The hotel is quiet, some extra pool noise in the summer. The staff is very friendly, the rooms, clean and comfortable, and all-in-all what I've come to expect from the Marriott chain.

Room Tip: Pool front. First floor has sliding glass door that opens to walkway to the pool, upper floors get m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeftCoaster3400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthBayCY, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/South Bay, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

The staff of the Courtyard South Bay would like to thank you for staying with us.

We are thrilled to hear that you had a fantastic stay at our hotel and that you truly got to enjoy the many amenities and upgrades we offer.

Thank you for the great review and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Thank you

Christian Paulsen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed at many Courtyard by Marriott and they all seem to need work. This one was no different. Rugs needed a good cleaning, bathroom needed re-corking and painting. Desk was right next to the AC/Heat unit so you could not use and sit at the desk. Bed was okay I did get a good nights rest.

Breakfast is way over priced.

Positive ares were a very friendly staff and offered good dinning choices

As I was there on business I did not pay but if was paying I would not return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VoyageursNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This place has the same standards you would expect from any other Courtyard. Room was clean, bed uses clean linens so there is no bedspread, furniture was modern, and staff was attentive. Good on/off access to the 405 Freeway. Hotel is fire sprinkler protected.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRecurrentTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our family of 4 (kids ages 8 and 2) stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. I love the reliability of this hotel chain. The rooms were immaculate, large and overall perfect. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is close to LAX which made getting to an early morning flight very easy. Very happy, thank you to everyone who made our stay enjoyable, especially the ladies serving breakfast (sorry, I didn't get the names).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jelena2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torrance hotels
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes
2.7 mi away
Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach
2.7 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Torrance
2.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Avita Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/South Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/South Bay

Address: 1925 West 190th Street, Torrance, CA 90504-6202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Torrance
Price Range: $120 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/South Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/South Bay and experience stylish and convenient accommodations in South Bay near downtown LA and LAX airport. Our Torrance hotel has an ideal location, putting guests in the middle of a variety of SoCal attractions including Hermosa Beach, StubHub Center, Queen Mary and the U.S. headquarters of Honda and Toyota. Enjoy our South Bay hotel's high-tech lobby featuring flexible space to work and relax, free Wi-Fi and easy access to up-to-date news, weather and local information via our GoBoard®. The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.® allows guests to enjoy a variety of healthy breakfast and dinner options without having to leave the hotel. Smartly redesigned rooms at this hotel provide the optimal mix of relaxation and flexible functionality with free Wi-Fi. When downtime arises, take a dip in our pool or stay in stride at our on-site fitness center. Whether for work or play, come experience the convenience of our South Bay hotel with free parking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/South Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Torrance/South Bay Hotel Torrance
Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance
Courtyard Torrance
Torrance Marriott
Torrance Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing