We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sub par performance for a Courtyard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/South Bay
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Indiana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sub par performance for a Courtyard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

The staff were excellent and the lobby is very nicely updated.
The rooms however need some attention. Rusty tub bottom, somewhat confusing light switch arrangement, Bathroom door interferes with closet doors.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the courtyard side for pool view, if you are on ground floor in outside room you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotdogSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    100
    40
    15
    7
See reviews for
57
32
22
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Ok hotel but be careful when you use your bank card they held two different charges on my debit card on two different days for a one nights stay and no one could tell me why and didn't even offer compensation for the inconviences.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, CT
Level Contributor
81 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I will start with the bad part:
fire alarm was pulled by some idiot around 11pm and although the fire dept came and gave them the ok, the alarm would not shut off. We had to sit outside on our balcony for over an hour until it was fixed.
DO NOt stay during OctoberFest. Several drunk fools were fighting when we arrived....
The Great Part:
Very nice, contemporary hotel. Great lobby and cafe. Staff was pleasant. No noise issues but we had a room that faced the courtyard and not the pool. Room was very nice, clean. Towels were only ok. Bed was great. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed here for a few days in September . The hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. The neighborhood seemed good, and the location was close enough to a supermarket and various places to eat, so that was very convenient. It's also right off of the 405, which was excellent. I didn't have any noise issues at all. The restaurant in the lobby was adequate, although somewhat over-priced so I only ate there once. Check in was quick and pleasant. At checkout I received an extra charge however. I was able to speak to someone who was able to get rid of the charge, but that would be my only gripe. Other than that, the stay was pleasant, and it was a decent value for the money. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicoleW726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed here in September of 2012 for 2 nights. In the past, I've generally thought of Courtyards by Marriott as kind of a tired concept with mediocre reputation for cleanliness, features, service, etc.

This Courtyard entirely changed my perception. Whoever manages this hotel has clearly prioritized cleanliness, neatness, service, and amenities. The location itself is situated smack in the middle of corporate office parks and major highways, so while it is not exactly scenic, it is quite convenient. Once you are in the hotel, however, the simple, clean, modern, and warm interior is entirely built around ease and convenience. Features that caught my attention:

1) Good quality pillows and beds - really impressive for a moderately priced hotel. I hope for future travelers' sake the firmness of the bed and pillows is not simply because they are relatively new (i.e. I hope management maintains them well going forward).
2) Clean everywhere - not just in the rooms and hallways, whoever runs this hotel seems to be obsessive about keeping everything clean and trimmed - the corners on the grass, the plant beds, even the employee areas near where the laundry gets delivered. You don't find a lot of trash, mess, and disorganization anywhere, surprisingly.
3) Free Wi-fi - while other hotels are busy making a straight killing on $10+ per day wi-fi charges per guest per device, this hotel makes standard broadband free. It is kind of amazing that this still exists given the reasonable room rates here.
4) Pool + Hot Tub - again, everything is clean, cleaner than one might expect for this kind of hotel. I only saw a few leaves at the bottom of the pool which is pretty rare.
5) Food and coffee bar - again, a very thoughtful touch catering to busy business travelers and families. Prices are not great (a little high), but to have this kind of amenity in-house (particularly in the middle of a desolate office park) is very nice.
6) Free printing from in-lobby public computers - the public computers and printers are well maintained, which is really surprising when you see most hotels (even the extremely high end 5 star ones) still have a circa-2002 Pentium computer hooked up to a non-LCD monitor. There's ample paper in the printers and they let you print your boarding passes for free.

For the rate I paid to stay over a weekend, I'm still somewhat floored by what this hotel had to offer. It's almost as if Marriott corporate executives were staying the same weekend and the hotel became the "model Courtyard" to show off. I hope that's not the case, as this hotel greatly impressed me and I would definitely stay here again. Again, scenery around the hotel is not great, but it almost doesn't matter considering the reasonable rate I paid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrewInThrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Average courtyard..Very nice restaurant serving breakfast and dinner,great front desk staff..I stayed here a total of 5 days during a 2 week trip in 2 different rooms.The first stay my room was on the 3rd floor and everything was great.On the 2nd stay my room was on the 2nd floor.The people on the 3rd floor made so much noise my bed was shaking. i had to complain to the front desk but neither one of my phone's in the room worked.So i had to get up,get dressed and walk all the way to the front desk.Then it seemed like they were noisy on purpose for at least another half hour..Bad night sleep and no phone service for $175 a night.If you stay here ask for the 3rd floor.I also did my laundry there.The soap is incl. in the price but when i didn't see any suds i checked the canister and it was empty.So i had to do it twice..

Room Tip: Top floor is the best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njlocal510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Overall, our stay was very good, however, my sleep was not. We found the bed to be a lot more firm than we like. Let me clarify by stating that my bed is memory foam and very comfortable. After our first night of tossing and turning, my wife asked the front desk if they had pillow tops, which they do not, but they offered to do what they could, which they did. The problem was not completely resolved, but they did the best they could.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicmera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthBayCY, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/South Bay, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
The staff of the Courtyard South Bay would like to thank you for staying with us.
I am sorry to hear that our mattresses were to firm but happy to read that our staff did everything they could to rectify your concern.

Thank you for the great review and we look forward to welcome you back soon.

Thank you

Christian Paulsen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Torrance hotels
2.7 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/Palos Verdes
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Avita Suites
3.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach
2.7 mi away
Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach
2.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Torrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/South Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/South Bay

Property: Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/South Bay
Address: 1925 W 190th St, Torrance, CA 90504-6202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/South Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/South Bay and experience stylish and convenient accommodations in South Bay near downtown Los Angeles and LAX airport. Our Torrance hotel has an ideal location, putting guests in the middle of a variety of Southern California attractions including Hermosa Beach, StubHub Center, Queen Mary and the U.S. headquarters of Honda and Toyota. Enjoy our South Bay hotel's high-tech lobby featuring flexible space to work and relax, free Wi-Fi and easy access to up-to-date news, weather and local information via our GoBoard. The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect. allows guests to enjoy a variety of healthy breakfast and dinner options without having to leave the hotel. Smartly redesigned rooms at this hotel provide the optimal mix of relaxation and flexible functionality with free Wi-Fi. When downtime arises, take a dip in our pool or stay in stride at our on-site fitness center. Whether for work or play, come experience the convenience of our South Bay hotel with free parking! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance/South Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Torrance/South Bay Hotel Torrance
Courtyard Los Angeles Torrance
Courtyard Torrance
Torrance Marriott
Torrance Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing