We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expectations Were Too High I Guess?”

Kings Hawaiian Bakery & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 13 Dessert in Torrance
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
301 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Expectations Were Too High I Guess?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

After looking at the menu and seeing how pricey it was and how mobbed the restaurant was, my wife and I decided to just stick to the bakery whose prices seemed more reasonable. While the selection was large, it didn't fill up their counter space inside the glass refrigerators they have displaying their food so it have the impression there wasn't as much to choose from. The glazed donut was definitely more buttery than a typical one and had a distinct pineapple taste to it. The apple fritter was good, but I think they are using canned apples which surprised me a bit. Nice interior to the restaurant at least but seems like a bit of a tourist trap.

Helpful?
Thank Danma11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    140
    46
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mineral Ridge, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kings Hawaiian Bakery & Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Good food, reasonable prices, generous portions. Great Kalua Pork. Almost as good as being in Hawaii.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 994Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“always delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

We had a large group come into Kings for a Sunday brunch. Service and quality of food was delicious as always!!! Whenever I visit So Cal, I always make a point to stop in for their delicious food, whether it's breakfast, brunch, lunch and dinner. A true American and Hawaiian food gem. I just wish they'd open up a bakery and restaurant in Northern California ---- please????!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AirSeaTravelGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hawaii memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Great little restaurant with an AMAZING bakery and amazing Hawaiian specialties that remind anyone of the islands. Plate lunches that are expanded and saimen that is amazing and HUGE! Musubi to die for...I could eat it every day. They mix thei macaroni salad with potato salad here which is something I had never seen or tasted before and is pretty good. They have the typical Loco Moco, Chicken Katsu, poki, Lomi Lomi, Kahlua pig & Huli Chicken. Their bakery is a huge draw with the "actual" King's Hawaiian rolls here and some amazing cakes with guava and crazy fruit flavors that make your mouth water and you'd ONLY get from the islands and they are just BEAUTIFUL! Service is always amazing and they are open later than most restaurants. LOVE, love this place!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bowlbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Hawaiian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Not many places where you can get Hawaiian food around here. Kings is great. Breakfast is the best. The breakfast burrito is great, as is the French toast, eggs and Portuguese sausage. Kahlua pig and lau lau are also good. Dessert is especially good. Try the Dobash cake!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Onefastdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Hawaiian Bakery & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kings Hawaiian Bakery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing