We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Must visit this unique restaurant with Hawaiian touch”

Kings Hawaiian Bakery & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 13 Dessert in Torrance
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
199 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Must visit this unique restaurant with Hawaiian touch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Without a doubt, you will enjoy Kings. The restaurant brings Hawaiian flare to add to your experience. The Orange Chicken Rice bowl is a must, but there are many other tasty
selections. Food portions are generous and one cannot leave without passing the bakery
counter. There are treats that are out of this world, all are excellent. The coconut cake is delicious. Cakes can be ordered and decorated uniquely.
The service and selections are wonderful
One of a kind restaurant and always good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mar w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    140
    46
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Paradise Delight cake!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Went to the location on Western for lunch - had bbq pork on King's Hawaiian bread. The sandwich was good but the slice of Paradise Delight cake made the trip awesome! Bought some KH bread before we left for french toast - equally yummy the next morning! I will be going back to buy the cake for an upcoming birthday luau party!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank califclasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Kings Hawaiian French Toast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I cannot provide a very detailed review since I am a vegetarian, and I tend to order the same item ever time I visit. That does not inhibit my recommendation of this restaurant. Indulging on French toast made from authentic Kings Hawaiian rolls is otherworldly. If you have the opportunity to do so, make sure you request it be served with the coconut syrup opposed to the ordinary maple syrup. Also, if you come for dinner, a basket of Kings Hawaiian rolls will precede your entrees!

The restaurant itself is unique and beautiful. The exterior includes lovely brickwork and tropical fauna. The interior consists of several seating areas. You might have the chance to sit near the large, cylindrical aquarium, the fireplace, or the counter if you choose. But before you enter the dining room, you will encounter a humongous pineapple, which I would say is around six feet tall (fiberglass). It was recently painted and adorned, so it now has spines like a real pineapple. It makes for a nice photo opp.

The bakery is another unavoidable pleasure. The selection is vast, so there is something for everyone. While pastries, cakes, and donuts feel the bakery cases, there are other racks of packaged Kings Hawaiian products, many of which I do not find at a typical market. My kids especially like the rainbow bread with its swirl of colors.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank humu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“They totally nail Aloha service here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

The macadamia garlic chicken bowl is the bomb! Everything to like about this: lightly fried lean marinated chicken, yummy garlic sautéed sauce, macadamia nuts, all over rice. And it has sautéed veges under the meat. Bok choy, broccoli, etc. The small was so big I I had leftovers!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nezubitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont
Level Contributor
102 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Everythings ono”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

We always make it a point to drop in for at least one meal whenever we're down Torrance area. Everything on the menu is good...except the pot sticker type won tons they use in their won ton soup??? Their pastries & cakes are da bomb.
A shout out to our server PJ on my visit last month.....enjoyed our conversation regarding our Warriors....too bad they didn't get past the Spurs.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gordyc48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Hawaiian Bakery & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kings Hawaiian Bakery & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing