We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing yet has potential”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Torrance
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Grover Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing yet has potential”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

After an amazing stay at Staybridge Reno, I choose the Torrance location during a weekend trip to L.A. The location is in a business area and a bit dark not easy to find unless you know the area or have directions. Upon arrival the customer service was excellent, the front desk staff was friendly and check in was a breeze. The hotel has a condo like set up it is multi level and I did not notice an elevator, we had a ground room so that was not an issue. The lights controlled by the switch by the door are very dim and you have to walk in a dark room searching for additional lights. The first thing I noticed was a strong sweaty gym locker room smell. I called the front desk and my room was changed immediately. The next room we were moved to had a slight order but it was late and we were tired. You can hear everything that happens outside all night I heard people going up and down the stairs. There were people walking by talking loudly at 2,3,4 in the morning. Sleep was not possible (I am not a light sleeper). The following morning my son complained of the noise (he sleeps thru most things). The noise was not the only issue, the pillows smelled like sweat and the bathroom had questionable stains. We were originally scheduled for 2 nights but I requested my reservation be canceled for the 2nd night. The front desk clerk did not charge me for early departure and apologized for the incident. He discounted the previous night ($12.00) after a sleepless night a bit more seemed appropriate but at least he was polite therefore I was fine with the resolution. If the property invests in better windows the property has potential. The layout of the room is family friendly. The location is near restaurants and a park. As of now, I can not recommend you to stay here unless you take your own pillows and can sleep thru loud noise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationlover310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites Torrance, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear vacationlover310,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    105
    37
    18
    17
See reviews for
177
40
13
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Having 2 bedrooms was certainly more convenient for our family than 2 hotel rooms. Service was great and the best part is they did not nickel and dime us for everything. Free local calls and laundry facilities was nice but the offer to borrow free DVD movies and free food/beverages during the week nights was an unexpected surprise. There were lots of activities for kids including 2 nearby parks and great access to malls, restaurants and major highways. I certainly recommend it for families.

Any previous complaints about renovations and noise is now a non-issue.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank skurveedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I recently stayed here for a week long business trip. The hotel recently underwent a 4 million dollar renovation. The room I had was very clean, spacious and quiet. Upon checking in, we were greeted by the lobby attendant who was great at explaining what renovations were done and the ammenities the hotel provides. The hotel offers a hot breakfast each morning, ususally consiting of eggs and a meat. (Breads, fruits, juices, and coffees were also available.) In the evening, the hotel offers themed social hours with draft beer, wine, and food such as hot wings, burgers, or bbq, depending on the night. The staff of the hotel were very friendly and accomodating to questions and requests. Should I have to travel here again, I will definitely request to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reid140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I like the hotel before the only negative review I would give it was that it was a bit dated. However we were pleasantly suprised to see the new and improved room and lobby upon checking in. This hotel is by far the most comfortable, friendly, and inviting place I have ever stayed. I love the size of the rooms, style, the free laundry (awesome), pool area, great breakfast, and how you can check out free movies to watch in your room!!!

The only thing this place is missing if an oven in the kitchens, I want to cook more meals in the room but its hard since theres only a 2 burner and no oven.

Room Tip: Dont plan to cook full meals. This hotel is only a 5-10 min drive to redondo peir, go check it out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We reserved a two room suite that had two queen beds, two bathrooms, a sofa bed in the living room and a full kitchen. We could not hear anyone above us or outside. The hotel has DVDs you can borrow to watch movies and the TV is HD. The only downer was the breakfast not great if you are not there at the beginning. While Torrance is not near any tourist spots it was perfect for us since we were touring deli's and quilt shops.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at either end oft he building, we were in 1513 and it was in the back and great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ltiggertaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here in april 2012. it was under renovations at the time but didnt affect the service or quality of the hotel. Has beautiful landscaping, full kitchen minus oven in rooms, nice pool with tub and cant really complain about the free bbq and beer dinners duing the week. Had awesome brekfast everyday and was about 10 min drive to redondo beach. Had a mall close by, and highway. Hope this review helps you get a better idea of this awesome place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoJoecanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Staybridge has went through a remodel and the suites are more beautiful with their new kitchen, furniture, drapes. The breakfast room is filled with new tables, a new serving counter and the same excellent food. The staff continues to be amazingly helpful, including opening a meeting room to handle the overflow of guests who needed a place to sit for breakfast. A lovely location, you forget you are off a main street when you look out at the swimming pool and palm trees.

Room Tip: There are three floors, steps to the upper floors. If you cannot take steps please let the staff kno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkribbonus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrance
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Avita Suites
1.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
#2 of 20 in Torrance
432 reviews
1.0 mi away
Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach
2.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Torrance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Torrance

Property: Staybridge Suites Torrance
Address: 19901 Prairie Ave, Torrance, CA 90503-1692
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torrance
#3 Business Hotel in Torrance
#4 Family Hotel in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Torrance 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home to the Staybridge Suites Torrance, an all-suite property offering a resort style atmosphere located in the heart of the South Bay. Our central location near the 405, 90, and 110 freeways, as well as both the Long Beach and Los Angeles International Airports, make us the perfect accommodation for your corporate, leisure or extended stay needs. Our guest suites have a villa-type feel and offer fully equipped kitchens, separate bedrooms, DVD players, and free high-speed Internet. You will also enjoy our daily buffet breakfast, our mid-week manager receptions, the heated outdoor pool and Jacuzzi, BBQ grills, fitness and business centers. These complimentary amenities are our way of saying Thank You for your business. At the Staybridge Suites, you are just minutes from the Redondo, Hermosa and Manhattan Beach communities. Take a quick jaunt up the Pacific Coast Highway and enjoy Venice, Marina Del Rey and the Santa Monica Pier. We are also convenient to the Home Depot Center in Carson, CA, the nations most complete training facility for Olympic, amateur and professional athletes. The Long Beach Aquarium, the LA Harbor World Cruise Center as well as the popular Del Amo Fashion Center and South Bay Galleria are nearby. Here for business? Experience why we are the preferred hotel for Honda, Toyota, Exxon, Northrup Grumman, Boeing and Lockheed Martin. Staybridge Suites is a proud member of the elite and award winning Priority Club Rewards loyalty program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Torrance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Torrance Hotel Torrance
Torrance Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing