We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but spacious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Staybridge Suites Torrance
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Folsom, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Old but spacious”
Reviewed August 16, 2011

This is a hotel that looks like an older apartment complex remodeled to be a "suites" hotel facility. The rooms are all set up quite spaciously and there are some good amenities.
First the good:
Great breakfast buffett. I figure my family and I saved $40 each morning (easy) being able to eat at the expansive breakfast buffett.
Quiet - considering the amount of people staying at this hotel the room was quiet at night.
Nice pool & spa.
The bad:
I have a 10 month old baby who is crawling. I placed him on the floor of our suite and 10 minutes later when I picked him up his knees and feet were completely BLACK! The floor appeared clean but obviously was far from it. My husband took my son down to the front desk to show the staff and they offered us another room. The second room was much cleaner. I can see how it would be easy to miss the actual surface dirt on the carpet but ew. I did appreciate how quickly they assigned us a new room & tried to make up for the problem.

Room Tip: Check the floors with your hands before unpacking - vacuumed does not mean clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    105
    37
    18
    17
See reviews for
177
40
13
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Stayed here while relocating to LA with the family. We were here for a while and in general really liked the hotel.

Here's the good: The staff was very friendly and helpful. Location was convenient to Del Amo mall, restaurants, and getting around the South Bay. Apartment style helped keep the noise down and the grounds were very well kept. The rooms were large and spacious, and the kitchen was excellent for us. Nice big closet for all the bags. Pool area and picnic/BBQ were very nice and well kept. We really liked the breakfast, but never did the evening reception. Very convenient to have a laundry on site free to use for guests.

The not so good: as others have mentioned, the rooms are somewhat dated and worn. The bed wasn't as comfy as newer hotels we've stayed at recently and we really noticed it coming cross country staying a different place each night. The bathroom needed to be fixed up and given a deep cleaning also. The breakfast gets really crowded, so go early. The pool was really, really crowded in the afternoon. But, it was summer so I guess lots of families traveling on vacation.

Overall, we still really liked this place and were happy with our stay. We tend to look for Staybridge when traveling so its more in comparison to others that we noticed some areas for improvement.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jumesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Lovely suite, which has full amenities inclusive of a kitchenette and in a quiet surrounding .
Good complimentary breakfast and sundowner included. Since our flight was around midnight, the hotel extended our checkout to 7pm without billing us. We took 2 complimentary rides to the nearby mall for our meals and shopping and called them when we were ready to be picked up. It's a find and we will come back in future when we have an LA international flight departure.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassandara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We first stayed at the Staybridge Suites way back in 2003 and we immediately thought of it for our trip to So Cal last week and booked a room for a five day stay.
The location is excellent as a base of operations and while Prairie Avenue is busy as hell there are large bushes that muffle the traffic noise. The hotel is surrounded by a business park and a massive refinery directly across the hotel, but it's also well covered by greenery and I never smelled petroleum by-products the whole time we were there. So it's a non issue unless the refinery blows up then it's crispy critters for everyone in the area I'm afraid.
The check in staff are very helpful, they even give you a follow up call after check in, there's free coffee in the lobby and free newspapers, albeit it's usually just USA Today, but free is free. There's also a little store where you can buy snacks, detergent, lotion etc.
Near the lobby is the laundry facilities and computer workstations and a fitness room directly across the check in desk, which is a must for a multi-day stay.
The room we booked, which faced the courtyard, is a suite so there is an extra bedroom along with a separate living area with a sofa bed and (old style CRT's) TV's in each room, however the bathroom is in the suite bedroom only. This set up is nice for those who stay up a little longer and allows the others to sleep.
The Courtyard is nice and inviting with a pool and hot tub and plenty of furniture for lounging about, the best times to swim was in the morning as it was quite crowded at night.
The breakfast is very good with the usual hot and cold items and do it yourself waffles. Word to the wise, get there before 9:30 as they're ruthlessly efficient in clearing the food out right at that time.
One very pleasant surprise was the get togethers they had mid week near the lobby for the guests, such as a BBQ night on Wednesday or Mexican night or what have you, and there's beer and wine on tap, all for free. A really cool idea.
Finally Wi-Fi strength is great, no matter where you are on the property.
But nothing is without its faults, and for the Staybridge there are a few.
First off the rooms, we liked ours but the sofa bed was torture and had a few stains as well. Sofa beds will never be as good as a regular bed but this one was not very good to say the least.
We also found the main bed to be a little firm but that's a matter of personal taste.
They say full kitchen but you get a two burner stove and no oven, which is fine but try and boil water and it was not up to the task.
The bathroom door was the sliding type but it would not close and it would not lock. Again not a big deal but to the teenager travelling with us it was a big deal.
The breakfast area is fairly small and quite crowded and the garbage cans fill up fast, but the staff is polite and efficient so it's a minor quibble.
I don't know to what extent they practice recycling in So Cal but the Staybridge recycling facilities consisted of very little IMHO.
The Staybridge Suites is ideal for the business traveller and families on a multi-day stay and we will stay there again.

Room Tip: Pull the sofa bed out and put it on the floor, that way the sofa frame doesn't dig into your bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParisNeophite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed July 13, 2011

Our visit at this extended stay hotel was cut short. The hotel is very old and wasn't the cleanest or well kept. The front desk was very helpful and the breakfast offered waffles, which were the best item. The cabinets were chipped in the rooms, the carpet wasn't clean, the room smelled; We had to say the first night because we arrived very late that night. There are other areas in Torrance that are much nicer and the hotels are too. We ended up moving to LA and stayed in another hotel, much nicer. PS This extended stay doesn't offer an oven, just stove top, refrigerator.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SecretSquirrel44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in late June 2011. We were shocked to find the stained sheets on the sofabed for our kids. We also found popcorn seeds on the floor when we rolled out the sofabed. We requested new sheets and the hotel brought them to us relatively quickly. The hotel is in a good location, convenient to visit many attractions in LA and free breakfast was nice. Not so much choice but it's free! Another thing was that we had difficulty to open the door - we had to try several times to successfully open.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megabunchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

This is our first time staying at the Staybridge Suites (we usually stay at the Residence Inn), and we were very pleased with the accommodations. We booked a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom suite, which was clean, comfortable, and spacious. With a big kitchen and living room, it's like a home away from home. We enjoyed the daily breakfast buffet, free WiFi, and complimentary coffee and newspaper. The location is convenient for us when we are in town visiting family - close to the Del Amo mall, restaurants, and easy access to major streets and the freeway. And it's also surprisingly quiet, next to businesses with very little traffic noise. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, especially the gentleman who checked us in, who went the extra mile to make sure we were happy and comfortable with our room. One note, there are no elevators, so we struggled a bit to carry our heavy bags upstairs and then back downstairs. I recommend a ground floor location, if possible. There is a small outdoor pool, jacuzzi, and fitness center on site. Overall, we had a very comfortable stay at the Staybridge Suites.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KikoSadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrance
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Avita Suites
1.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
#2 of 20 in Torrance
432 reviews
1.0 mi away
Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach
2.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites Torrance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites Torrance

Property: Staybridge Suites Torrance
Address: 19901 Prairie Ave, Torrance, CA 90503-1692
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Torrance
#3 Business Hotel in Torrance
#4 Family Hotel in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites Torrance 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home to the Staybridge Suites Torrance, an all-suite property offering a resort style atmosphere located in the heart of the South Bay. Our central location near the 405, 90, and 110 freeways, as well as both the Long Beach and Los Angeles International Airports, make us the perfect accommodation for your corporate, leisure or extended stay needs. Our guest suites have a villa-type feel and offer fully equipped kitchens, separate bedrooms, DVD players, and free high-speed Internet. You will also enjoy our daily buffet breakfast, our mid-week manager receptions, the heated outdoor pool and Jacuzzi, BBQ grills, fitness and business centers. These complimentary amenities are our way of saying Thank You for your business. At the Staybridge Suites, you are just minutes from the Redondo, Hermosa and Manhattan Beach communities. Take a quick jaunt up the Pacific Coast Highway and enjoy Venice, Marina Del Rey and the Santa Monica Pier. We are also convenient to the Home Depot Center in Carson, CA, the nations most complete training facility for Olympic, amateur and professional athletes. The Long Beach Aquarium, the LA Harbor World Cruise Center as well as the popular Del Amo Fashion Center and South Bay Galleria are nearby. Here for business? Experience why we are the preferred hotel for Honda, Toyota, Exxon, Northrup Grumman, Boeing and Lockheed Martin. Staybridge Suites is a proud member of the elite and award winning Priority Club Rewards loyalty program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Staybridge Suites Torrance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Torrance Hotel Torrance
Torrance Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing