We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Underestimated” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Underestimated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

This was a very interesting experiment for us. My daughter wanted to live any Japanese experience so we gave this hotel try. Cons: It is not a 5 star hotel so it lacks the fancy services and amenities. It is also very far from LA activities. Pros: the hospitality is wonderful and the level of service for a 4-starts hotel exceeds expectations. Rooms are really spacious, staff are really helpful, and the food is decent. The Japanese supermarket next door holds an interesting fair on weekends. I would not say I would go there again when I am next in LA, but it is definitely recommended for those who want to take a tiny glimpse on Japanese service and hospitality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FahadDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear FahadDM,
Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled that you chose to stay with us and we exceeded your expectations! We truly value your business and appreciate your recommendation. We hope that you will have the opportunity to return again soon.

Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    103
    23
    6
    7
See reviews for
92
103
45
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed here for an interview while at Harbor UCLA. Loved the Japanese influence and proximity to many different restaurants and Mitsuwa grocery store. I used Priceline to book this hotel and got a great price. There is plenty of parking and felt very safe. The beds were comfortable and there is free WIFI.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmgpnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Mmgpnp,
Thank you for your feedback. We are thrilled that you chose to stay with us for your interview and happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the amenities.
We are so happy that we surpassed your expectations and truly appreciate the time that you took to write about your experience.
We hope that you will have the opportunity to return again soon.

Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We booked a king room with soakers tub as advertised and paid for on Feb. 26, 2014 to Feb. 27, 2014, through Orbitz, Room description: Executive Room - 1 king bed Special requests: Non-smoking. We booked well in advance on Feb, 9, 2014. The reason we went with this hotel was because of the soaker tubs that is advertised in each room, especially the king room that we reserved. It was Very important to us because my wife has a Chronic Health Condition that she suffers with a lot of pain and is under doctors care each month for. Under stress her condition gets worst, and we booked this room at that time because her sister just passed away and she needed the tub after our flight and before going to the memorial. When we entered the room, it was very nice, but NO Tub! I went down to talk to them about it and explained everything and all I was told was" I'm sorry, we are all booked up and we have no more rooms." We had already paid, so there was nothing we could do. My wife was so stressed and in pain and disappointed that they advertised a soakers tub in the room and we reserved it well in advance and paid for just what they advertised. It shouldn't be that you don't get what you expect and was advertised and that you paid for. Its false advertising and misleading. We would have picked another hotel if we had the time and money, which we didn't and also my wife was already dealing with so much stress and pain.

Room Tip: Make sure you're getting what you paid for before paying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rusgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We have stayed in the San Pedro and Long Beach areas before cruising with Princess. This time we had a rental car and three days to enjoy some LA highlights while avoiding rush hour.

We found this interesting hotel on TA and booked directly about 2 months before our trip for about $200 (AAA rate) including taxes. The hotel has lots of free parking without security issues. The front desk staff was very accommodating.

The subtle Japanese decor with large rooms and a memorable bathroom(large shower area and Japanese style toilets) put us in the mood to relax. The majority of guests were Japanese including flight crews. We assumed the business clients came for the nearby offices of Toyota and Honda.

** We had an Enterprise rental car and their San Pedro location is near the cruise port and offers a free shuttle service.

Room Tip: Ask for higher room - avoid 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr__LS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Mr__LS99,
Thank you for your feedback. It was such a pleasure to read your review! We are happy to hear that you had some extra time before your cruise and honored that you chose to spend it with us.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again before your next cruise.

Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnwood, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Whenever I am in the South Bay Area, I always stay at the Miyako Hybrid Hotel in Torrance. A Japanese style hotel which caters to Japanese business persons, the hotel is clean, service accomodating and all rooms offer free wifi, clean large bathroom with separate shower and a nice balcony. The Japanese restaurant in the hotel is good, but with so many asian dining options within a 5 min. drive, and Mitsuwa next door, I usually go out. Only 15 minutes from LAX (if no traffic), close to the ocean, and rooms are around $160 per night - a bargain.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Bryan F,
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and honored that we are your hotel of choice when in the Torrance area! We truly value your business and loyalty and look forward to seeing you back soon.

Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Miyako torrance is our fav hotel. We travels once a year to LA and never bother look for other accommodation. We hires car and drive every time, Miyako have plenty parking spaces, high security (24hrs bellman = safe), friendly receptions & last not least, comfy rooms. My only concern, once we were assigned to room on level 2, air conditioning nt really cooling the room and when we opened the window, the smoking air from smoking area on ground level went to room. Learn the lesson there and now we always request for room high as possible.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lifeinsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear lifeinsydney,
Thank you so much for your review and your loyalty, we love hearing from our regulars!
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay, however we apologize for the AC issue that you experienced and will certainly be following up.
We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

While the name is unusual, the service and accommodations are excellent. It appears to cater to Japanese auto companies which have (or had) their US headquarters in the Torrance area. The architecture and furnishings are very stylish and modern. The staff is courteous and helpful. Parking is either valet or at a lot across the street. The restaurant specializes in Japanese fare but has Americanized dishes as well. Unfortunately, my first choices for wine and main course were not available but the alternates were fine. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CptCrunch51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear CptCrunch51,
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with the service!
We are thrilled that you discovered us in Torrance and hope that you will have the opportunity to stay with us again.

Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#51 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miyako Hybrid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miyako Hybrid Hotel

Property: Miyako Hybrid Hotel
Address: 21381 S Western Ave, Torrance, CA 90501-2965
Location: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miyako Hybrid Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Miyako Hybrid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing