We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful Service & Relaxing Rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miyako Hybrid Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
“Wonderful Service & Relaxing Rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times (work travel). Everyone who works here, that I have come in contact with, are polite, professional, and friendly. The rooms are always clean; the beds are always comfortable; and the bathtub is heaven on Earth.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nietzsche98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Nietzsche98,
Thank you very much for your feedback and your loyalty. We are honored that you continue to choose Miyako Hybrid for your lodging needs and it is our privilege to serve you.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    98
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
86
95
43
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ELLSWORTH
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

This property is phenomenal. The rooms are large, modern and very comfortable. The staff is friendly and the dining is some of the best Japanese cuisine I have ever had. The bathrooms make this property unique. Each one has a very large walk in shower with tub, and toilet with bidet. A very large (60 inch?) flat screen television and plenty of amenities. I would recommend this property to anyone visiting the area!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mkpacman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear mkpacman71,
Thank you so much for your feedback, and thank you for your recommendation! It is because of guests like you that we are able to keep an enthusiastic and energized team! We are delighted that you enjoyed our service and unique amenities and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I had a great stay at miyako hybrid hotel. Room was spacious, with a big, comfortable bed. I especially love the reading lights. The hospitality of the staff was also over the top.
Also, I enjoyed the bathroom very much. Super clean, spacious, giant soaker tub! And of course there is the bidet :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ADJOKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear ADJOKO,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are honored that you chose to stay with us for your stay in the LA area. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our service and amenities, it was a privilege to serve you! We are grateful for your comments and hope to see you return very soon.

Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Everything about it is great. There is free wifi, charger for iphone. Its next to a supermarket and near a taco truck stand. There is also transport to LAX. The only 2 minor issue - the small parking lot in front of the hotel is often full. Half the time of our stay, we had to park across a small street (a bigger parking lot that belongs to the hotel). The other minor issue is that the air conditioning does not seem to run very well, the room is quite stuffy, so, we opened up the balcony door to get some crisp california air - which was quite nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAL_SING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear CAL_SING ,
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Miyako Hybrid and were happy with our location and services.

I apologize for the 2 concerns that you had. Our complimentary parking lot across the street is approximately 200 feet from our entrance, and still very close and conveniant for our guests.
Due to our eco-friendly operations, we do not keep our AC units running on a permanant basis, therefore, upon checkin, the AC units are activated by your room key and take time to cool the room down. I am glad that a quick opening of the window was able to give you the cool down that you needed.

We hope to see you back very soon.

Sincerely,
Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastvale, California
Level Contributor
210 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is my 2nd review of this Hotel and its just as nice as the first. The whole Hotel is very clean . From the Lobby to the Gift Shop to the Rooms everything looks great. Rooms also have a nice newer look to them. Also what really sticks out is how friendly and helpful everyone is. Overall , just a really great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Countrydude4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Countrydude4444,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Miyako Hybrid. We have a great staff who are truely dedicated to creating memorable experiences to all our guests, from housekeeping and valet to bell and front desk. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

California was the 3rd city we visited in the U.S. (NYC, Las Vegas) before heading to Washington. I must say Miyako was a very good choice & I was pleasantly surprised by the detail in everything. Their lobby tastefully done, staff ever so polite & informative, rooms delightfully lit. Being a Japanese hotel, they had every detail done with a Japanese touch. Very chic indeed.

Miyako 'toilet' has been the topic at many of our gatherings ever since. The Japanese toilet seat came with a side panel at arm-level to control the bidet features (water pressure, water temperature) & seat temperature. This was a first for us. I even rushed around looking for a manual thinking there might be more features.

Location couldn't be any better. Miyako is located in the heart of Little Tokyo & the street is full of Japanese restaurants. My husband & I love Japanese food, we couldn't get enough of it. Each evening we'd rush back after sightseeing tours to indulge in at different restaurants.

Though some areas in California seemed a bit dodgy, the Miyako hotel area seemed quite safe to walk around in, even at late hours of the night.

The only downer was the fact that Miyako didn't offer much on the in-room dinning menu & no room service after 11pm. This was a minus for us as we traveled with our toddler.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Amali R,
Thank you for your feedback. We are are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Miyako Hybrid. Our bathroom amenities are truely one of the most talked about features here and we are very happy that you enjoyed them as well. I will be sure to pass your room service menu comments on to our restaurant management team, we certainly appreciate the feedback.
We are honored that you chose to stay at Miyako as part of your US tour and hope that you will return very soon.

Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#47 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miyako Hybrid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miyako Hybrid Hotel

Property: Miyako Hybrid Hotel
Address: 21381 S Western Ave, Torrance, CA 90501-2965
Location: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miyako Hybrid Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Miyako Hybrid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing