We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    107
    23
    6
    7
See reviews for
94
107
46
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Everything about it is great. There is free wifi, charger for iphone. Its next to a supermarket and near a taco truck stand. There is also transport to LAX. The only 2 minor issue - the small parking lot in front of the hotel is often full. Half the time of our stay, we had to park across a small street (a bigger parking lot that belongs to the hotel). The other minor issue is that the air conditioning does not seem to run very well, the room is quite stuffy, so, we opened up the balcony door to get some crisp california air - which was quite nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAL_SING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear CAL_SING ,
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Miyako Hybrid and were happy with our location and services.

I apologize for the 2 concerns that you had. Our complimentary parking lot across the street is approximately 200 feet from our entrance, and still very close and conveniant for our guests.
Due to our eco-friendly operations, we do not keep our AC units running on a permanant basis, therefore, upon checkin, the AC units are activated by your room key and take time to cool the room down. I am glad that a quick opening of the window was able to give you the cool down that you needed.

We hope to see you back very soon.

Sincerely,
Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastvale, California
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is my 2nd review of this Hotel and its just as nice as the first. The whole Hotel is very clean . From the Lobby to the Gift Shop to the Rooms everything looks great. Rooms also have a nice newer look to them. Also what really sticks out is how friendly and helpful everyone is. Overall , just a really great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Countrydude4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Countrydude4444,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Miyako Hybrid. We have a great staff who are truely dedicated to creating memorable experiences to all our guests, from housekeeping and valet to bell and front desk. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

California was the 3rd city we visited in the U.S. (NYC, Las Vegas) before heading to Washington. I must say Miyako was a very good choice & I was pleasantly surprised by the detail in everything. Their lobby tastefully done, staff ever so polite & informative, rooms delightfully lit. Being a Japanese hotel, they had every detail done with a Japanese touch. Very chic indeed.

Miyako 'toilet' has been the topic at many of our gatherings ever since. The Japanese toilet seat came with a side panel at arm-level to control the bidet features (water pressure, water temperature) & seat temperature. This was a first for us. I even rushed around looking for a manual thinking there might be more features.

Location couldn't be any better. Miyako is located in the heart of Little Tokyo & the street is full of Japanese restaurants. My husband & I love Japanese food, we couldn't get enough of it. Each evening we'd rush back after sightseeing tours to indulge in at different restaurants.

Though some areas in California seemed a bit dodgy, the Miyako hotel area seemed quite safe to walk around in, even at late hours of the night.

The only downer was the fact that Miyako didn't offer much on the in-room dinning menu & no room service after 11pm. This was a minus for us as we traveled with our toddler.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Amali R,
Thank you for your feedback. We are are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Miyako Hybrid. Our bathroom amenities are truely one of the most talked about features here and we are very happy that you enjoyed them as well. I will be sure to pass your room service menu comments on to our restaurant management team, we certainly appreciate the feedback.
We are honored that you chose to stay at Miyako as part of your US tour and hope that you will return very soon.

Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Excellent staff!!
Bellhop was polite, helpful, efficient and very knowledgeable
The rooms, the bath room...oh joy!
Very clean as if brand new.
Got to experience the bathroom facilities.
So much thought and care
This chain should spread all over major cities in the USA.
I will spread the good news!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jide A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Jide A,
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Miyako Hybrid. We truely have a fantastic team who are dedicated to creating memorable experiences for all of our guests. I am happy that you enjoyed our bathroom amenities, they are one of our most talked about features amongst our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My daughter and I had a quick spa trip and stay at Miyako on November 1st. It was her first stay and she loved the room, spa, and Gonpachi. The service was outstanding as always and the staff was extremely nice. My daughter flew in from Florida and we were able to check in around noon. The room was spotless and the beds were comfy. It is always a treat when we visit Miyako! We will be back again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iTinKso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear iTinKso,
Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Miyako. Our spa is the perfect place for a relaxing weekend and we are so happy that you and your daughter chose Miyako and Relaken. The staff looks forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnham
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Pre-arrival communications were execellent. Our stay here was a joy from start to finish. The staff were exemplary - polite, efficient and courteous. The room was spacious and wonderfully appointed. It was only a one nighter, but it was a great start to the holiday and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redbeer560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherie D, General Manager at Miyako Hybrid Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear redbeer560,
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are very happy that you had an enjoyable stay at Miyako, even though it was only for one night.
Our staff truely are dedicated to creating memorable experiences for all our guests. We hope that you will return very soon and perhaps next time stay a little longer.

Cherie Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
Miyako Hotel Los Angeles
#48 of 351 in Los Angeles
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miyako Hybrid Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miyako Hybrid Hotel

Property: Miyako Hybrid Hotel
Address: 21381 S Western Ave, Torrance, CA 90501-2965
Location: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Miyako Hybrid Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miyako Hybrid Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing