We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Avita Suites
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent choice!”
Reviewed May 11, 2009

I was pleasantly surprised by my stay at this Best Western. I remember BW (as a kid) as being a super cheap motel, that I stayed at with my parents and brother. This location was nothing like I remembered. Everything was brand new and my 4 year old commented 'This place smells great!' as we walked into the lobby.

I was greeted by a friendly hotel staffer who promptly checked me in and offered us some gourmet M & M's. We went up to our room and noticed our room did not have a tub (which I needed for my 4 year old), and she quickly and happily changed our room.

The room itself was a little on the small side, but adequate. Everything was brand new with a modern kitchenette, and bathrooms. The countertops were granite and the fixtures were sleek and modern. The TV was a nice HD flat screen.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xpistina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    159
    28
    11
    4
See reviews for
169
108
52
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2009

Indeed, this hotel is an example of what Best Western should do to upgrade their roster of facilities. The place is fabulous. Extremely clean with very comfortable beds. Though the two bed suite was a tad cramped with all of the furniture, the shower was was huge with ample room to move around and the appointments around the room were tasteful. Also has a good exercise room and business center. Most of all it is new!!!!!!!!!!!!!
I have always stayed at the Mariott or Holiday Inn in Torrance, but no more. I will stay here from now on.........

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGOpfell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2009

We stayed in a room with two queen beds on the third floor of this very new hotel. The hotel has some interesting architecture, a very chic lobby, and convenient covered parking.

The hotel is very quiet with no loud guests or traffic to be heard during our two nights there. The beds and pillows are extremely comfortable and induce very restful nights of sleep. The coconut lime soaps and shampoos are very nice. Instead of the normal 9 or 10 channels you find at most hotels, the rooms each have a huge selection of HD channels via DirectTV. The hotel is located a very short distance from Redondo Beach and about 15 minutes from Long Beach.

Not everything was perfect... the rooms are too narrow for two queen beds. There is very little room between the air conditioner and the bed. The louvers on the A/C are also not adjustable which means the cool air will blow directly on you. I am guessing this wouldn't be an issue in one of the single king bed rooms. The toilet and tub room were also cramped -- on the border of being claustraphobic.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEFF_AND_HAZEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2009

Coming to this property I figured it was going to be a normal, yet consistant, Best Western experience, but upon pulling in and checking in I was totally caught off guard. This hotel was fabulous and brand new. It felt very clean and modern. The staff was very very nice and helpful with many things like directions and local information I needed. The rooms were very cozy and had several amenities such as Bath and Body Works lotion! The beds were pillowtop and very comfortable, I slept like a baby. The modern showers with a bench inside felt just like home and the direct TV satalite allowed me to watch great television in high defenition. I recommend this hotel to anybody traveling to this area, you will be pleassed!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thedonjuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2009

This place is awsome ! Newly renovated and the rooms are spotless. The Have a Secured Internet Center on the third floor and Breakfast is Served free of charge on the
second floor. Breakfast is better than the normal continental breakfast. They
actually had eggs and bacon when I was there. Parking is Free and the location is
close to everything. Shopping, eating and sight seeing. Its also close to Redondo beach and Hermosa
Beach. A nice find and the price is right. In the Heart of Torrance.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawaiiKevMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2009

This is definitely the newest hotel in Southern California.
The lobby is modern and inviting. The staff is friendly and very professional. It is an efficient mini suite, with a mini fridge and microwave, a very modern couch, and a nice work table for the laptop, with free wifi.
The room felt impressive yet cozy. Being new, it was spotless.
And quiet. The bed was comfy. The nearby Marriott was asking $250 for the night I found myself in the area.
I'm sure their rates will go up, but their opening special is $107.
I will return to this hotel when business takes me to the Torrance area. They have a free breakfast, and a small 2 treadmill exercise room with a big screen TV. The strip mall across the street has great little restaurants, like Wahoo's Fish Tacos and Quizno's.
I recommend this place. In addition, Torrance is not that far from the beach.

  • Liked — The new room.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TripGypsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2009

The hotel was very magnificent with an over the top touch by the employees, i have been to many best westerns in my time and this has to be the best one i have been to. When i got to my room i was pretty surprised what the hotel offered in my room. My favorite things were the flat screen tv and the bed that i just melted into. would recommend for people who just want to get away for a bit. I would love to thank this hotel for their services and their location is very convenient.

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — everything went as planned
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank trplem19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrance
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
0.2 mi away
Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach
2.2 mi away
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
Miyako Hybrid Hotel
#2 of 20 in Torrance
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Redondo Beach Inn
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Torrance
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Avita Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Avita Suites

Property: Best Western Plus Avita Suites
Address: 3531 Torrance Boulevard, Torrance, CA 90503-4802 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Avita Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Torrance
#1 Family Hotel in Torrance
#2 Best Value Hotel in Torrance
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torrance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Avita Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New All Suites Hotel, Modern contemporary decor, Pillowtop beds,100% Non Smoking, Business Center with Printer/Fax/Copy, Fitness Center, Complimentary Full Hot Breakfast. Welcome Gift, Fresh Baked Cookies, and Bottled Water upon check in. Room Amenities include 32"Sharp LCD with DirecTV HDTV, In Room KEYPR Tablets, Wet Bar with Refrigerator & Microwave, Large Desk with Ergonomic Chair, Sofa, Dual Line Speaker Phones, Free Wireless and Wired highspeed internet, MP3 Clock radio player, Bath&Body Works toiletries, 250 count Linens, and DVD Player. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Avita Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Avita Hotel Torrance
Best Western Torrance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing