We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Not-so-good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Avita Suites
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Torrance
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I occupied a standard studio room for one week.
The hotel is located within walking distance (10 minutes) of the Del Amo Fashion Mall.
The room door opened into a kitchenette area with microwave, stainless steel sink, coffee maker and refrigerator. Next was a good sized work desk and office chair and a comfortable seating area. The furniture was dark wood and the furnishings (bedspread, seating) in grey material. This gave a rather gloomy appearance to the room. An individual air conditioning unit was located at floor level beside the window.
The hand basin was located outside of the bathroom in a wooden storage cabinet. The bathroom featured tub/shower combination and toilet.
Serve yourself breakfast is available on the 2nd Floor. There was a reasonable choice of items on offer: cereals, juices (poor quaility & watery), tea, coffee, fruit, yoghurts etc as well as two waffle machines, which made excellent waffles. There was also bacon, hash browns etc, which were stone cold on the two occasions I tried them.

There were some good things about the hotel and other things less good.

First, the good:
• Excellent, very pleasant staff.
• High standard of housekeeping. The rooms were maintained in spotless condition.
• Modern, touch-with-card room key.
• Very comfortable queen size bed.
• Reasonable rates.
• Entirely non-smoking establishment.
• Complimentary wi-fi.
• High quality flat screen TV.
• Hotel is located in a safe area.

And the not-so-good:
• Thin walls. One night I was woken (and kept awake for several hours) by the occupant of the next room snoring.
• The toilet was not firmly attached to the floor and rocked when you sat on it.
• There was no stopper in the hand basin, consequently wasting a lot of water.
• The room overlooked two parking lots, which were lit at night. The windows of the room had wooden shutters, which were inadequate for darkening the room. Opposite the window and to the left of the bed, a mirrored closet resulted in the room not being dark whichever way you turned in bed.
• Despite there being a kitchenette in the room there was no provision of cups, plates, cutlery etc. Guest Services was unable to provide any explanation for this omission.

If I were to stay in Torrance again I would be happy to stay at the Best Western Plus Avita Suites. The good things listed above were very good. I would, however, equip myself with some ear plugs and an eye mask.

Room Tip: The even numbered rooms overlook the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

315 - 321 of 509 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here recently after reading the great reviews and seeing how close it was to lax. The location was perfect. 5 minutes from the beach. 5 minutes from several stores and restaurants. 15 minutes from lax. The rooms itself were amazing. I've never felt so comfortable so far from home. The rooms were perfectly decorated. The beds and linens were super comfortable. Breakfast was great with plenty of hot and cold options. Plenty of healthy options which I appreciated. I couldn't have asked for anything better. Plenty of parking. Only one entrance to the hotel which I appreciated from a security standpoint. The staff was super helpful and even helped me get a stamp to mail a postcard back home. My only complaint is they need more than one washer and dryer for that size of hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teara1592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Had the two room Queen suite, really liked it. Comfortable bed and couch, two flat 32" screens. Nice bath. Thought room lighting was a little harsh with all the CFLs. Need some color corrected or warmer lamps.

Breakfast was very good, but coffee machine (one of those brew-on-demand units) consistently made weak coffee. Breakfast area is always attended, constantly refreshed.

Location was perfect for us on a three day visit in and around the entire L.A. area, and it was nice to be out of L.A. at night. Very quiet here, and plenty of parking. (Three handicap are under the building, like a garage)

Elevator has a LOUD BUZZER that buzzes on each floor it passes. For that reason, I would avoid staying near it. Management should look into quieting that down.

Would stay here again without hesitation. Keep in mind, this location is still practically new, so double check things in a few years to see if this is all still true.

Room Tip: I would avoid staying near the 2nd floor breakfast room, of near the elevator on any floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadside_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel was a great value. The room was nicer than expected; with a fridge, microwave, sofa, and two beds, there was more than enough space for us to spread out. Everything was clean and appeared new (or at least well kept) and the staff we encountered were all friendly. The free parking was a great plus and the location gave us easy access to all the beach destinations we were headed to. I had surfing lessons one morning at Redondo Beach and I don't think it even took 10 minutes to get there. The morning breakfast was nice, but be sure to get there early. We had no problems on day one, but day two we arrived later and they were out of most items. The free water and cookies upon arrival were a nice treat as well. Would definitely stay again. The only drawback - the air conditioner was aimed directly at one of the beds, so unless you like being really chilly while you sleep, one of the beds posed a bit of a problem! Not a big enough issue to keep us from returning though.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We visited Avita suites in august 2010 just after some renovations before leaving Australia I had purchased a lot of classic car parts and musical instruments over the web and had given the Avita at Torrance as my address and to my delight when we arrived the concierge said all my boxes had arrived and they were in storage. the items were then sent straight to our room,, great start ,the overall room was quite nice and clean ,and these are the first things one looks for ,as for no syrup on the waffles, jeeze! does it really matter! Ask someone!! I and my wife thought the breakfast was quite good and the service there was also very good ! and I might add most motels in Australia for those rates you dont get breakfast!!!!anyway we were both very happy with the closeness to Redondo beach ,the Airport and the attractions . we reccomend the motel and would visit them again if we return to LA

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpundyVacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My Room was SOOOO clean and cozy! I looked forward to coming in for the night each night I stayed. I cannot say that I enjoyed the breakfast though as it definitely leaves something to be desired of, but the rest of my stay was quiet, peaceful, and consistent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michaelbush6417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I liked the hotel, but I was annoyed by 1) a poorly draining shower and 2) no syrup for waffles.

The hotel is nice. It's in a pretty nice area. It was very easy to get to from LAX, and very quick when there's no traffic (about 20 minutes). It's off a major road, there are several big malls in the area as well as Target, Walmart, supermarkets. It's very close to the Redondo Beach Pier, literally right down the street. There are a few chain restaurants across the street (Chicken Dijon, Quizno, Wahoo Fish Tacos, Subway).

The hotel itself is nice. The rooms look new and beautiful. Everything was comfortable and pretty. The bed was great. The room is quiet. The fridge was nice, there was a microwave. The breakfast was very good. The staff was very good in stocking the goodies during rush hour (except for the aforementioned syrup, how hard is it to get syrup?). There's a good variety, but the eggs are sort of fake-scrambled.

The wifi worked well from my room way at the end of the hall. I didn't really deal much with the staff, but they were very nice at check-in and check-out. I think the value of the hotel is great. It's good deal for a nice, big room in a good area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nysingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torrance
0.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Torrance - South Bay
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Torrance
0.2 mi away
Torrance Marriott Redondo Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Torrance/Redondo Beach
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Redondo Beach Inn
2.7 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Avita Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Avita Suites

Address: 3531 Torrance Boulevard, Torrance, CA 90503-4802 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Avita Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Torrance
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Torrance
#1 Family Hotel in Torrance
#3 Romantic Hotel in Torrance
Price Range: $154 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Avita Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand New All Suites Hotel, Modern contemporary decor, Pillowtop beds,100% Non Smoking, Business Center with Printer/Fax/Copy, Fitness Center, Complimentary Full Hot Breakfast. Welcome Gift, Fresh Baked Cookies, and Bottled Water upon check in. Room Amenities include 32"Sharp LCD with DirecTV HDTV, In Room KEYPR Tablets, Wet Bar with Refrigerator & Microwave, Large Desk with Ergonomic Chair, Sofa, Dual Line Speaker Phones, Free Wireless and Wired highspeed internet, MP3 Clock radio player, Bath&Body Works toiletries, 250 count Linens, and DVD Player. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Avita Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Avita Hotel Torrance
Best Western Torrance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing