We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best ramen - in a food court!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Santouka

Santouka
Ranked #17 of 535 Restaurants in Torrance
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Anaheim, CA
Level Contributor
573 reviews
370 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Best ramen - in a food court!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Cash ONLY!

There's a handful of ramen places that I'd visit over again, and Santouka is one of them. Who would guess you can get a great bowl of ramen inside a supermarket food court? I usually go to the Costa Mesa location (also inside the Mitsuwa market), but since my boyfriend is from the South Bay, this is becoming our new Mitsuwa home.

We arrived late at 7:00 pm, and they ran out of the famous fatty pork ramen. So we opted for the Cha Siu Miso ramen, regular for me, spicy for Stephen. The spicy one only LOOKED spicy but really only had a slight kick, so if you're into food with more flavor, give it a try.

The broth was saltier than I remembered, but still very good. A medium bowl was just the right amount, and since there's no take home containers, I'd rather be just right, than trying to stuff my face full.

2 medium bowls, no drink came to $20 and change.

Thumbs up! Not bad for food at a little food court.
After dinner we went to Mitsuwa and picked up green tea kit kat and other goodies for dessert.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank callmemochelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    28
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fremont
Level Contributor
102 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“excellent noodles!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

definitely one of the better noodles that i've had. i ordered the miso cha-siu noodles and they were excellent and tasty though a bit on the salty side.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank gordyc48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Ramen in the South Bay (a Ramen hot-spot)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

There is little I need to say about this Ramen joint that has not already been said. Part of the fun of eating here is simply the experience. Stepping into Mitsuwa market place is like taking a trip to Japan. It is a fun place to pick-up some Japanese groceries, matcha, gourmet desserts and don't forget the bustling food-court (including Santouka.) There are a lot of good ramen places in the south bay; Torrance even hosts an annual ramen festival (the biggest of it's kind in the U.S.) I have to say, of all the ramen I've had in Japan and the U.S., Santouka is my favorite.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Devin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
465 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Best Ramen in Torrance!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This Ramen shop is inside the MITSUWA MARKET PLACE (Japanese grocery store) in Torrance. It shares the seating place with other food stands/shops (about 10). The “food court” is almost always packed, particularly on weekends, the majority of customers is in for Santouka. Ramen is delicious and surprisingly not expensive at all: $8 per bowel, if not adding any other stuff or in combos. Miso Ramen (broth) is a little salty but tasty. Shoyu Ramen is lighter. Noodle is just right: thick and chewy. We’ve been this place many times, enjoy every bit of it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuang004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good ramen!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We waited until 11AM on a Sunday morning when it opened and there were about 10 people in line right away. Know what you want to order right away. Cashier is fast at taking orders. Ramen was really good!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fungster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Santouka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing