We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Continental Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tomales
Alexandria VA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cosy Inn”
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed at the Continental Inn with a Groupon special, so our room cost was half price which was a bargain. It's a nice place, with 9 rooms and 1 suite, with small but cozy lobby. Although Tomales is a tiny town it is a good central location if you're exploring the area which seems remote but beautiful. We enjoyed exploring the local area but note that most of where you drive is on twisting roads. Their complimentary breakfast is on weekends only, although they do offer self-serve coffee, tea, and juice. Recommend Nick’s Cove for dinner.

Room Tip: Rooms away from street are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjkingiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    37
    15
    0
    3
See reviews for
10
43
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I simply loved the town of Tomales. It struck me quite literally as some place I could live and instill myself quite seemlessly. The town is perfectly centralized to visit any number of places north of SF. Point Reyes, Bodega Bay and Sonoma wine country are all within relatively short drives. Longer day drives include Fort Bragg and the Lost Coast.
The Continental Inn was our "home" for two nights and it felt like home. Perfectly situated right on the main drag through town, it quite literally looks like a big house. The rooms were nicely aquainted and not overdone. The bed was comfy and internet free (always a bonus even if it is becoming more common). On the weekends a light continental breakfast is provided upstairs in the common area which is easy enough to pack up and bring back to your room. The lobby area has plenty of literature on the surrounding area to pick up and help you in your exploration.
Next door to the inn is the William Tell house which hosts both a restaurant and saloon. We did not eat at the restaurant, but we did patronize the bar on the evening we arrived. In fact we closed it, but how could you pass up microbrewed beers at $5 a pint when you are used to paying nearly twice that down in SoCal. Everyone in the bar was amazingly friendly and welcome, from the bartender down to the residents of Tomales. We both felt quite at home here and wanted to go back the next night, but the long day had tuckered us out.
As this is supposed to be about the inn I will return from my tangent. I would gladly stay here again as there is plenty to do in the region that would bring me back up here. The inn was a perfect jumping off point for much of the north coast and much of the hinterland as well. Thank you Continental Inn for a great experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank freekarma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We called into tomales one evening and were welcomed at the William tell pub who kindly called the owner of the continental . We sorted our selves out with a key as the owner was away for the evening and had a great stay left my details on the front desk and had a great stay at a good price

Great area you must try the drakes bay oyster company and get a beer at nicks cove nearby

The pub next door gave a great welcome and we had a great steak

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaffsTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed at the Continental Inn with a Groupon special, so our room cost considerably less than it would have. I'm not sure if we would stay here at full price. It's a nice little place, with 9 attractively decorated rooms and 1 suite, each one different. Rooms aren't overly spacious, but sufficient, and ours had a full tub/shower in the bathroom. (Some rooms have only shower.) We were in Tiger Lily (Room 8) which was upstairs and near the back of the hotel, so relatively quiet. Although Tomales is a tiny town, it is a good central location if you're exploring the Point Reyes-Bodega Bay-Occidental area, but keep in mind that each of these locations is about 1/2 hour drive away. Their complimentary breakfast is weekends only, although they do offer self-serve coffee, tea, and juice every day throughout the day, and the Tomales Bakery is right across the street. There are no major amenities (no pool, fitness room, etc.) but they do have free wifi, and there is a second floor veranda that wraps around the entire building, offering a place to sit outside and read or watch the local traffic go by. Not a good place if you're looking for nightlife or lots of local action, but good for beaches, hiking, kayaking, etc. in the nearby vicinity.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackieSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, CA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Penny at the Continental Inn presented the most delightful start to our fabulous New Years. This quaint boutique hotel, is located in the heart of Tomales, CA just steps away from our New Years Venue, the William Tell bar and restaurant. Tomales is fifteen minutes away from the California Northern Coastline and we were thrilled to be there for New Years 2011!

With complementary champagne and appetizers, Penny hosted all her guests for a pre-party then we were all off together to the William Tell for an absolutely unbelievable dinner and unlimited champagne. Tyler Silva, our host at the William Tell, had quite a showing for the event and I just can't say enough on how perfect the entire night ended up!

Though we did not get to bed until the wee hours, our room at the Continental was more than I could want - comfortable bed and cozy decor! And plenty of hot coffee and danish in the morning to soak up the night's debauchery!

Here's to Penny and Tyler for making our New Years just FAB!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cicit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, California
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2011

My friend and I had the pleasure of staying at this charming inn on New Year's. From the moment we entered, we felt right at home. Being the holiday season, the lobby was beautifully decorated, and Penny the ever-gracious hostess treated all her guests to champagne and snacks before we departed for festivities next door at the William Tell Restaurant. Our room was so comfortable though, we found ourselves anxious to return to snuggle into the cozy beds (with great sheets and pillows) after a hot shower in the roomy, well-appointed bathroom. The antique décor throughout the hotel is lovely and tasteful and a little reminiscent of grandma’s house…but much nicer.

Unlike some B & B’s that leave you feeling trapped in your room or relegated to whispers, Penny’s relaxed and welcoming demeanor made us feel like the entire inn was our home away from home. We gathered with friends during breakfast in the common area where we enjoyed complimentary coffee, tea, muffins, scones, cereal, and a lot of laughter. When it was time to go, we were able to pull our car right up to the front door and easily depart.

As a native Californian who has spent half a century touring the coast, I found the tiny town of Tomales to be uniquely charming and really, really fun. It fells like a throwback to another era, yet it’s a quick drive from major cities like San Francisco and Sacramento. Tomales is more nostalgic and less uptight than other coastal towns, and we had a blast attending the New Year’s Party at the William Tell next door. Leave the heels and ties and home – you’re welcome everywhere in your most comfortable jeans, and every local you encounter will make you feel like a long-lost friend. It’s more affordable than other coastal towns too, yet some of the most beautiful coastline in the world is a mere four miles away.

Since visiting Tomales, I’ve recommended a stay at the Continental Inn along with dinner and drinks at the William Tell to all my coast-loving friends. It’s a different kind of experience and one a true travel lover will long remember. When I think about the memories of my trip there, I can’t help but smile.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank girlovestogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Even having read the on-line reviews, this comfortable inn exceeded my expectations. Our room was nicely decorated, very clean, and comfortable. The matress was GREAT. Even the pillows were comfortable (which is usually my pet peeve!) I appreciated the fresh coffee and treats in the morning, and enjoyed the bench out front, just peering up and down the main street which was so quiet in the early morning.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gal4fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tomales
8.5 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,380 reviews
5.1 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
114 reviews
9.5 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
9.0 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Bodega Bay
206 reviews
9.9 mi away
Bodega Harbor Inn
Bodega Harbor Inn
#2 of 5 in Bodega Bay
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Continental Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Continental Inn

Property: The Continental Inn
Address: 26985 Highway One, Tomales, CA 94971
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Tomales
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tomales
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Continental Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free continental breakfast is only on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Continental Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing