We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont stay here they dont provide drinking water”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bounty Island Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bounty Island
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dont stay here they dont provide drinking water”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

During our 6 night stay at bounty island we felt cheated as we were paying alot of money for the accommodation in the private bure and also 78 fijian dollars per person per day for "buffet food and drinks". However, bounty island doesnt provide drinking water. Their tap water that they attempted to serve us at meal time is filtered sea water so tasted like plain salt water and had small bits of seaweed in it. Not only does it taste horrible it upsets your stomach. We approached staff about this problem and you get told to go and buy bottled water from the bar. We then find out that the staff all have a tank of fresh water in their rooms so how are we supposed to drink this water if the staff obviously cant?! Apart from this, the food is okay just very repetitive and left overs from the meals before, rooms are right on the water and are clean and majority of the staff are lovely people as fijian people are. But the resort is run by an American man who is very shady and hangs around smoking and drinking non stop who pretended the water was only salty because of a storm the night before we arrived but it never got better and as it turns out the water has always been filted sea water at bounty island. Would have been a great experience if it wasnt for this water problem. Honestly goes along way! How hard can it be to give everyone free bottled water or have tank water for every one not just give it under the table to people who complain that is not fair for all of your other visitors. Fix this problem bounty and I can assure you, you would do alot better and be a very popular place.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jessrob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreasureIslandAdmin, General Manager at Bounty Island Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Bula jessrob123

My apologies for not responding earlier. Please accept our apologies for not attending to the salt water problem we encountered during your stay. I'm not sure how but as soon as the problem was identified bottled water was issued to all, I am not sure how you were missed in the distribution.

The islands water source is desalinated water and one of our membranes collapsed, this unfortunately was not detected immediately resulting in the water turning salty.

I have discussed your observations with our "American man". Please let us know if you should ever come back to Fiji as i am sure you will find Bounty to meet all of your expectations and more!

The team at Bounty have work diligently really making the place look fantastic and really increased the quality of the Resort as a whole.

Take care and vinaka,

Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    124
    73
    34
    28
See reviews for
64
199
45
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Came to Bounty as heard so many good things and saw so many amazing photo's. We booked a 3 days 2 night deal. when we turned up on the ferry the hosts where not friendly. once we checked in our air conditioning unit was leaking - the man how showed us to our room said he will get some on - 2 hours later no one came and i went to the office - they moved use rooms - no shower curtains or towels - again we got moved. The lady in reception was really helpful. We paid for the buffet style meals - Lunch that day was really nice but dinner was left overs from lunch with vegatables. Breakfast was toast and cereals - not worth $300 FJD. There was not other food deal to have - burgers and chips where alot plus we were in Fiji and wanted to try differnent food. The first night it rained - the water came in under our door - the whole floor was wet. in the morning again went to the reception and we where told oh well this does happen and gave us towels - one of the cleaners came to clean the floor after we told them we were not happy with this. the whole trip was an experiance - weather was nice but not much to do as you had to pay for everything extra - day trips you get it all included. Would i go back to Bounty island - NO - Sand had loads of big stones - the pictures we were shown had clear beaches. was dissapointed with this.

Room Tip: All the bungalows are a bit of a walk away from the reception and bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TreasureIslandAdmin, General Manager at Bounty Island Resort, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Bula Lee H,

Thanks for your comments.

We are really sorry that we did not meet your expectations. We are revamping the menus and hope to have more variety and options for our guests in the future.

Bounty will always remain competitive and in doing so we try and price ourselves in a manner to attract travelers who are looking for paradise on a shoe string. Our new menu offering will have options that you can purchase on top of your meal plan. Day trip guests pay a premium to have all of their activities included.

Thanks so much,

Vinaka,

Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundsvall
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

This little island is around 45 minutes from Viti Levu (mainisland) and is really good. It's small, but not too small. We were really tired and were actually thinking of staying at nadi the whole time, but we're glad that we headed out to the islands and this place.

The food is meh, but the bungalows are really nice and I think that the price is good.

You can snorkel from the beach and 70 m out there is some wonderful reefs and fishes and the sand is just amazing. You can also dive and do other wateractivites at this island.
Here you can find some pics http://beammedown.blogg.se/2013/november/dag-70-bounty-island.html

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anthonia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We came to bounty island at the beginning of February. I am a vegetarian and the food was much nicer than I had at other resorts and there was much more selection. The staff were amazing, our whole stay we felt so welcome and the staff really got to know every one of us. We were all on a name to name basis and everything was so relaxing. Wifi cheap compared to another resort we had been to. Island is beautiful. Everywhere you look is like a post card, it was stunning. The staff sung to the guests most nights which was lovely and provided us with lots of entertainment. I couldn't recommend this resort enough. No complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

If you looking for luxury, restaurants etc, that's definitely not that place. It's more like go to the nature place. Bungalows are located right on the beach, food is basic but good. Stuff is very friendly. Island has very little beach, and needs a bit of cleaning. It's perfect for short stay, longer may be a little boring.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Olenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2014

So i did a islandhopping and i was on four different islands. The best is bounty <3
i was traveling by my own and i felt really welcome... i was the only young person, because it was actually raining time, but was still sunny everyday :)
lucky me! All te stuff Very friendly and happy to everybody. Usually i booked two days, but i came back for other two nights :) i was sad to leave this amazing island. Thanks for all and im pretty sure i come back the next time!
Hello to the bountystuff :) cheers lisa

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gud D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Bounty island resort is a hidden treasure in Fiji! From the moment I arrived on the island I felt very welcome! I travelled there in January so I knew it would be quiet but that didn't stop all the guests having a great time. The staff are the ASSET to this island along side the amazing location, snorkelling and peaceful atmosphere! Nothing is too small or too big for the staff to help you with - particularly Sam and Suka made my trip! The other guest were all chilled and very friendly and it gave you a very family kind of feel. This island is perfect if you want to lay back and chill but there is also a very well priced bar , pool table and ping pong table to keep you occupied. The walk around the island takes about 40 mins but I preferred swimming around which took about an hour. Every night the staff entertain you with some songs and if your lucky some kava! Always go for tide in!!! I stayed for 7 nights as a storm came in and boat couldn't run due to rough seas and then I travelled further north and stayed at two other islands but Bounty was my favourite :-)

Room Tip: I stayed in the dorm and pretty much had it to myself - the beach front bungees looked nice but depe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleLeClercq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bounty Island
3.6 mi away
Beachcomber Island Resort
Beachcomber Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Beachcomber Island
561 reviews
13.4 mi away
Mana Island Resort
Mana Island Resort
#1 of 2 in Mana Island
1,587 reviews
12.6 mi away
Castaway Island Fiji
Castaway Island Fiji
#1 of 1 in Castaway Island (Qalito)
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
Likuliku Lagoon Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Island
876 reviews
8.0 mi away
Sheraton Fiji Resort
Sheraton Fiji Resort
#7 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,130 reviews
10.2 mi away
Musket Cove Island Resort
Musket Cove Island Resort
#1 of 3 in Malolo Lailai Island
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bounty Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bounty Island Resort

Property: Bounty Island Resort
Address: Mamanuca Islands, Bounty Island, Fiji
Location: Fiji > Bounty Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bounty Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bounty Island Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bounty Island Resort 'Jewel of the Mamanucas' One of Fiji's most laid back islands and closest island resorts to the mainland, we are conveniently located 8nm from Denarau or Vuda Marina's in the Mamanuca Group of islands. A short road journey to either marina and a 25 minute boat ride is all that' required before reaching our tropical paradise. Alternatively helicopter transfers are available. The island offers 48 acres of untouched tropical gardens surrounded by golden sandy beaches, clear pristine waters and a marine reserve that provides spectacular snorkelling. We are also home to the largest semi submersible in the world, the 18m long Seaview, which resides off our shores year round providing a fantastic tour around the reef. Tropical WaterSports, our in house water sports provider, are also the only operators in Fiji with the new water sport 'Fly boarding'. Bounty Island Resort offers fantastic, affordable accommodation. Our resort is ideal for every traveller, setting the standard for the Fiji Islands in low cost accommodation guests can choose from a variety of room types from basic dormitories to private bures to suit any budget, all of these set in lush, tropical, landscaped gardens. Lay back, kick your shoes off and chill out at this truly relaxing natural island paradise. The magnificent views across the pristine South Pacific make this the ideal place to relax. The pool area is the popular meeting spot for guests and home to the 'Village Cruiser' bar where our talented bar staff can mix you up an Island cocktail or maybe just a cappuccino. Your stay comes with an island atmosphere, camaraderie, and friendships that last a lifetime. At Bounty Island Resort there is so much to do. Snorkelling equipment is complimentary to our in-house guests and Tropical WaterSports also operate a PADI certified Dive Shop and as well as Scuba diving also offer Fishing, Kayaking, SUPing (Stand Up Paddleboards), Flyboarding, Guided Snorkelling and Water-skiing/Wake-Boarding. Bounty Island is also ideal for conference and other group tours. Our Chiefly 'Bure Kalou' can hold 200 guests theatre style and group/team building activities are our speciality. Of course catering is available and we have 6 covered, open sided bures on the beach where you can admire the views whilst being served your food. Enjoy a warm, friendly, personalized and affordable tropical island experience at Bounty Island Resort!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bounty Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bounty Island Hotel Mamanuca Islands
Bounty Island Mamanuca Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing