We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sorn Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$84
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Kilmarnock(Kilmarnock)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Foxbar Hotel(Kilmarnock)
$78
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Park Hotel(Kilmarnock)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Railway Hotel(Auchinleck)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Hotel(Cumnock)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveler rating
160
29
7
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
160
29
7
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteakcooked to perfectionmain restaurantfor sunday lunchmouth wateringbeautifully presented and deliciouspuddingwee gemtop qualityworth a visitthanks guysbrilliant foodmichelin startwo nightssmall barhidden gemtop marks
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 200 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Have been to the Sorn Inn on a number of occasions. The service is excellent. The food is comparable with any of the top restuarants in Glasgow or Edinburgh and fantastic value for your money.

Have stayed a few times for birthdays etc and found the rooms to be very comfortable. The breakfasts are great and the porrige is the best I've ever had. Don't tell the wife!

AP

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FenwickAlberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2010

Ate TDH dinner in mid September and while I admit I was unhappy at being unable to take a drink that night because I was driving, I found the place and food rather disappointing after so many rave reviews.
Dinner for two cost £47.90,and has been forgotten, drink prices were very acceptable.
Service is friendly and this may be the best place around but I am unlikely to return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank f2s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

I live close to this inn and have not stayed overnight so can't comment on rooms however I can comment on the restraunt and if you are looking for truly fantastic food then look no further the chef is hugely talented in my humble opinion my wife and i have dined here many times and i can honestly say i have never had a less than fabulous meal you get warm , friendly staff , nice cosy atmosphere say no more about the food oh and sorn itself is a little friendly very picturesque little village . I just can't praise the sorn inn enough . Visit and you will definately enjoy

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex911Ayrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Live locally so have been a regular visitor to the Sorn Inn since the Grant family took over. Keith (the son and chef) has vast experience and this comes across in the food. He can cook dishes from across the world with expertise and the Tuesday curry night is exceptionally good value and quality. The head waiter is from Madeira and is always laughing and joking with the clientele. But the food is just awesome and tremendous value for money. You can eat three superb courses plus a couple of drinks for less than £30 a head - bargain. Keith specialises in local produce and the Buccleuch Beef fillet just melts. But my absolute favourite is always when he has game birds such as pheasant on the menu - awesome!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aleximo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Sorn village is very quiet and has an attractive church and a river running by it. The Sorn Inn is the focal point of the village being the one and only place offering food and drink (apart from a small village shop/P.O.); having said which you need look no further. The bar, restaurant and rooms are well appointed and there is much attention to detail here. We met with George (Craig's father) and were very taken with his relaxed but attentive business manner. The small bar is popular and friendly as is the restaurant with it's more upmarket feel (great sourced matured steak & homemade onion rings and chips). Breakfast was excellent (recommend the haddock and poached egg, followed by homemade marmalade and toast). Nothing is too much trouble here and we wouldn't hesitate to return to this well deserving family business.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucindawolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews