We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treasure in Ayrshire”
Review of The Sorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sorn Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Sorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
derbyshire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A treasure in Ayrshire”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Inn whilst walking the River Ayr Way, what a treat was in store for us after a 19 mile slog from Glenbuck. The rooms are large , comfortable and quiet and great value. The pub was very friendly full of locals and welcoming us even though we were English! The real delight was food that would not have disgraced a Michelin starred restaurant, again great value.
The breakfast started with traditional porridge topped with Drambuie, the full Scottish breakfast provided plenty of fuel for our walk that day.
We will be back this time arriving by car!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank strawberrypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    25
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
83
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great service in this lovely dog friendly inn. Daisy, our dog, was well looked after while we had a brilliant bar lunch. A hamburger and a pulled pork sandwich were our choice and both were excellent. Lovely cosy atmosphere and Ill be back again soon.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank thedude82glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Lovely place to have to a special meal. Have previously had lunches here and chose Sorn especially as there is always such a variety of lovely food. All variety of appetites catered for. Food was lovely and fresh and so well presented it was a pity to spoil it by eating!! Special mention to the lamb (melt in the mouth) and medalion of beef and black pudding as well as both the fish dishes. Everyone in our party enjoyed their chosen meal and the staff kindly brought out our birthday cake and helped in the serving of same. The staff were all very attentive and extremely helpful from taking the booking, choosing menu through to the evening itself. The pub area is nice and cosy to have a meal or a drink but the restaurant area is lovely and very well presented, just right for special occassions. The Inn is well decorated by pictures painted by local artist. The Inn suited the wide age group of our party and was easily accessable for someone with limited mobility. Well worth visiting either during the day or the evening. Would (and have) recommend for a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaW W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Vic
Level Contributor
97 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Nice gastropub handy for exploring Ayrshire. Food at both dinner and breakfast was excellent for the two nights we stayed. The rooms were large, comfortable and very clean and there was excellent free wifi available. The 'chophouse' was cosier and more comfortable than the larger restaurant, which was fairly empty mid-week, but the menu is the same in both, providing both traditional pub-style meals and more interesting and skillfully prepared other dishes. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyandHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stopped here for just one night on our way further north. The quality of the food was excellent, both at dinner and at breakfast ( I have never eaten such delicious porridge)!
The room was very clean and comfortable and we appreciated the warm welcome from the owners and staff.
We were travelling with our dog and appreciated that she could join us in the bar and the staff were kind enough to offer to lay up our breakfast in the bar too so that she didn't need to wait in the room.
We hope we will be back soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAB24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
309 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We travelled to Sorn in order to eat at the Inn, because it had been recommended to us, and we were not disappointed.

The restaurant was quiet on the Thursday evening we visited, with about ten diners, but the atmosphere was comfortable and the waiting staff very friendly and happy to chat as much - or as little - as you like.

The restaurant is nicely laid out, with a choice of "booths" or tables (there is also an option to eat in the bar, particularly is you have a dog). There are a choice of menus, with an "early bird" meal option available before 7pm, but we chose from the a la carte menu.

The food was excellent: my starter of Confited Beef with Stornoway Black Pudding was meltingly tender, and delicious. My main course of Spiced Hake Fillet was flakey and moist, and the accompaniments were very tasty, particularly the crab beignet; presentation of all of the food was first-class. Even our basket of home-made bread (charged for) was a selection of types, very tasty, and accompanied by a lovely flavoured olive oil. Dessert options were good, beautifully presented, and delicious.

There is a reasonable wine-list, with bottles at good prices.

The cost of the meal was very reasonable, and probably less than half of what one would pay for a similar meal in Edinburgh. We will be returning, and next time we will try to arrange to stay over!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M1DXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyhead, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My mum and dad had stayed here a few times visiting my dad's family, he had planned to take us all, his 3 children, partners and 2 grandchildren plus my dog for a short break last easter, he had nothing but praise for here, sadly he passed away march 2012, so we never made it as the whole family, in the last 12 months both my mother , myself and dog have been back 3 times, each stay has been as fantastic and welcoming as the last, my dog and now my new dog are made so welcome, Tracy was so good with my dogs and George happily fed them sausages at breakfast, the rooms are comfortable, clean with lovely decor, and the best til last...the food is amazing!!!! The braised shoulder of lamb is to die for, I'm sure I could have eaten seconds!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorn
3.6 mi away
The Fairburn Hotel
The Fairburn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mauchline
73 reviews
4.2 mi away
Dumfries Arms Hotel
Dumfries Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cumnock
473 reviews
7.9 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Enterkine House Hotel
4.0 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cumnock
122 reviews
14.0 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sorn Inn

Property: The Sorn Inn
Address: 35 Main Street | Village of Sorn, Sorn KA5 6HU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > Sorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Sorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sorn Hotel Sorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing